Suis La Lune
Quiet, Pull the Strings!


4.5
superb

Review

by Klekticist USER (2 Reviews)
August 4th, 2010 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


As specified in the other review for this band, Suis La Lune is undeniably different from their peers in the euro-screamo scene. The album is characterized by their unique "feel-good" aesthetic, an atmosphere relatively unheard of in a genre that celebrates in downtrodden, self-aware anger and pity. Suis La Lune seem to be right at home among their peers, yet they simultaneously transcend the genre to which they belong.

Smooth, interlaced guitar work seems to act a strange counterpoint to the rest of the group. Abrasive vocals and frantic drum work, two traits that seem to define the genre, seem to take the back seat to the guitar work here. Therein lies Suis La Lune's defining characteristic. Major key arpeggios, gleaming, shimmering octave chords, a peaceful, reflective aesthetic. Suis La Lune is no one-trick pony however. The music varies greatly, from smooth guitar interludes backed only by delicate drums to a full, aggressive sound, complimented by an impeccable selection of cymbals on the drum set and the ethereal vocal work.

"The Light Matters Always Matters" proves to be a great example of the smooth transition from one sonic texture to another, while still remaining under the aesthetic banner that Suis La Lune seems to so comfortably occupy. It seems foolish to try an point to specific examples from the album to characterize the work however. The album's simply extremely consistent, and picking any one example of brilliance would do the rest of the album an injustice.

Being a full-length album, Quiet, Pull The Strings! seems to allow for the group to explore a great deal more musical elements. The album is distinguished from their earlier work in it's spastic nature, not only in individual moments of the album, but the incredible diversity and smooth transition from one musical idea to the next. The album's a fast-paced journey through a variety of musical concepts, struggling to be heard in such a brief album. As a result, Quiet, Pull The Strings! feels almost like a teaser for what is to come, an invitation into Suis La Lune's collective imagination. Yet each idea is full-realized, and this lends great diversity in such a short release.

It's a quick listen, and one that will draw your attention time and time again. It's brief and varied, and without a shadow of a doubt, worth your attention if you take even the smallest of the pleasure in the genre.


user ratings (219)
Chart.
4
excellent
related reviews

Heir

Riala
recommended by reviewer
Gospel The Moon Is A Dead World

Comments:Add a Comment 
Klekticist
August 4th 2010


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album, saw that it needed a review.

sniper
August 4th 2010


19050 Comments


Nice. I've actually never heard this despite loving Heir. pos'd

Klekticist
August 4th 2010


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you love Heir, you'll love this. Great stuff.

DoubtGin
August 4th 2010


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not as good as Heir but this is an awesome record nevertheless

HighandDriving
August 4th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hate these fucks so much.

SeaAnemone
August 4th 2010


20322 Comments


As specified in the other review for this band, Suis La Lune is undeniably different from their peers in the euro-screamo scene.

reference to my review in the first sentence = Sea-ego-boost = automatic pos ; )

but seriously, great review, I enjoyed it, and it desperately needed one. can't say I enjoy this nearly as much as Heir but it's pretty great from time to time.

and i don't like you HighAndDriving

Digging: Holy Sons - Lost Decade II

Romulus
August 4th 2010


8437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album

SeaAnemone
August 4th 2010


20322 Comments


holy shit I can't wait for their new stuff this fall... their split with Osceola had an amazing song on it that I think is gonna be on the new one

Blindsided
August 4th 2010


1871 Comments


I didn't love Heir so will I love this?

SeaAnemone
August 4th 2010


20322 Comments


no, that means you can't possibly like music

Blindsided
August 4th 2010


1871 Comments


I think we both know that isn't true.
If I didn't like music I wouldn't be here.

Klekticist
August 4th 2010


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, thanks Sea. I read your review just prior to writing this, and i was struggling to not rip you off almost word-for-word.

And yeah, if you didn't like Heir, you won't like this. Just put it on repeat all day, you'll probably like it by the end.

HighandDriving
August 6th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Heir is so much better than this it isn't even funny.


SlightlyEpic
August 6th 2010


5780 Comments


h&d why would you possibly hate these d00ds

Motiv3
September 9th 2010


8932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YES YES YES! finally a review for this, can't believe i didnt see this. Anyway can't wait for their next album.

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

testpilot00
October 4th 2010


20 Comments


"My mind is a birdcage" is one of my favourate screamo tracks right now, awesome album.

Romulus
October 4th 2010


8437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes definitely

get Heir first though if you haven't already I don't really feel like checking

Romulus
October 4th 2010


8437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

then yes definitely

Foxhound
October 29th 2010


4570 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

into this

Xplisit
December 6th 2010


1646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great stuff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy