Cyanotic
The Medication Generation


4.5
superb

Review

by Smevin Bravis USER (10 Reviews)
August 2nd, 2010 | 55 replies | 13,273 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cyanotic's latest offers the best things about industrial metal - pounding beats, crushing guitars, cleverly placed samples, and a seething rage that actually has something to say.

10 of 10 thought this review was well written

In this day and age, there are a great deal of things more rewarding than being a fan of industrial - like picking your nose, for instance. The last decade (some would argue longer) has seen the genre revert to little more than bad techno with more creativity lent to its obnoxious image than the watered down loops of the music. The exception, however, is when a band like Cyanotic comes along. Their debut, 2005's Transhuman, was a proverbial breath of fresh air, utilizing basic industrial conventions but giving them a new, interesting take. Their long awaited sophomore effort, The Medication Generation, is every bit as good as its predecessor, not only capitalizing on what made it great but adopting a stronger sense of adventure as well. Ultimately, it offers the best things about industrial metal - pounding beats, crushing guitars, cleverly placed samples, and a seething rage that actually has something to say.

While the album's themes of overstimulation, drug use, and societal ills are hardly revelatory, their presentation feels highly genuine. For example, drugs are never glorified or lectured over so much as discussed (well, as much as a roaring, distorted voice can discuss). The feelings of alienation and frustration are also expressed quite well; in lesser hands the lyrical template "We are the _____ of the _____" would sound extremely hackneyed, but here it's very easy to get behind. Nothing feels as if handled with a single dimension; even "fA510n v1k+um5," which details a clear irritation with the current music scene, does so with a surprising sense of humor - a few measures after frontman Sean Payne sardonically growls "This beat is merciless" is a sample of Chuck D.'s enthusiastic "Bring that beat back!"

What really sells it is how many different styles are at work. While the pummeling blast beat-led "Dose Responsive" and "Sentient" (by far the most metallic songs on the album) sound great, there are different approaches taken here as well. "Efficacy" is a glitch-heavy left field electronica exploration, but with a dark air that keeps it from seeming out of place. "The Static Screens (In Syndication)" and "Brutal Deluxe" are driven by aggressive breakbeats that call to mind the finest moments of Pitchshifter and latter day Cubanate, with the latter track being one of the heaviest here, despite being one of the least reliant on guitars. Then there is "Monochrome Skies," which is easily the best melancholic industrial metal this side of Ministry's "Scarecrow," with a deliberate build-up, powerful groove, and fantastic layering.

Repeated listens show that The Medication Generation was crafted with painstaking detail, even if judging solely by the samples being used. A Scanner Darkly, Videodrome, processed Slayer riffs, Homer Simpson, and God knows what else is meticulously placed in the mix to help Payne convey his point. And there is a point to each and every one used, which is the beauty of it; nothing is done simply for sake of sounding good, everything is an extension of Payne's social commentary. "Programmed" and its introductory track "The Same" brilliantly use a sample from the film Palindromes to introduce the former track's musing over growing complacence with the idea of helplessness over bettering oneself. The somber "Comadose" is a bit more straight forward, centering around a listless guitar and Payne's murmurings of "I wish I felt safe, I wish I knew my place" and culminating in yet another like-minded sample. Not a moment is wasted here, and the result is a highly dense album which makes it clear that the band has been quite busy for the last five years. This isn't just the year's best industrial metal, The Medication Generation is a lesson in how to make it.



Recent reviews by this author
Soul Coughing Ruby VroomCrystal Castles Crystal Castles II
Toro Y Moi Causers of ThisAmerie In Love and War
The Red Chord Fed Through the Teeth MachineEminem Relapse
user ratings (43)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
East Hastings
August 2nd 2010



4391 Comments


Their long awaited sophomore effort, The Medicated Generation
The Medication Generation. other than that, kickass review dude

bloc
August 2nd 2010



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Drek Kick rooooooolz

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

PoodleRapist
August 2nd 2010



252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha dammit... better fix that. thanks east!

PoodleRapist
August 2nd 2010



252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes it does, bloc :D

Blindsided
August 2nd 2010



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm really glad I didn't start a review for this.

Willie
Moderator
August 3rd 2010



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was finally motivated to finish my review for this, but now I can move on.

You name-dropped a lot of songs, but didn't mention my personal favorite "dissonant dissident" -- streaming here: http://sputnikmusic.com/blog/?p=3184 -- This will probably end up being one of the better industrial albums of the year. I do have to admit that I wasn't as impressed with the Rabbit Junk collaboration (drek Kick) as I was hoping to be. The riff sounded like something lifted from their ReFrame album instead of something new.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

alachlahol
August 3rd 2010



7487 Comments


seeing the name "Dissonant Dissident" gave me some serious deja vu. listened to a song last night by Ampere called "Diffident Dissonance". had to go back and look it up just to make sure it wasn't named the same thing

i don't think i've ever listened to an industrial album

Willie
Moderator
August 3rd 2010



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Check out that song and see what you think.

Meatplow
August 3rd 2010



5524 Comments


i'll have to check this one out I guess

renegadestrings
August 3rd 2010



1440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

for some reason, the "Dissonant Dissident" track made me think of The Height of Callousness... just not as furious... and spineshankish.

review has me interested though. i just might check this out

Willie
Moderator
August 3rd 2010



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

for some reason, the "Dissonant Dissident" track made me think of The Height of Callousness... just not as furious... and spineshankish.
Really? I like Spinkeshank, but I would never connect the two bands' styles. They're much more metal-oriented than these guys.

bloc
August 3rd 2010



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Want to express my love for Fashion Victim too

UnfunFionn
August 3rd 2010



54 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I find the Industrial skin of this album really compelling, but find the Metal guts and bones pretty generic.

PoodleRapist
August 3rd 2010



252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@willie: dissonant dissident is really good. that was my first favorite off the album, but the more i listened to it the more the other tracks grew on me. i wanted to mention it but i already had so much to say about this and was afraid of rambling. i guess i should check out reframe then... i only know a handful of rabbit junk tracks, but i like what i've heard.

@renegadestrings & chambered69: thanks!

@unfunfionn: really? i dunno, i really love the groove to the metal aspect.

Willie
Moderator
August 3rd 2010



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I find the Industrial skin of this album really compelling, but find the Metal guts and bones pretty generic.
The unfortunate fact of the matter is that a majority of industrial metal only does one side really well (metal or electronics). There are exceptions though. The Shizit are one of those exceptions (Free album here: http://www.glitchmode.com/the-shizit/ ) Another exception is Psycho the Rapist by Acumen Nation and Reframe by Rabbit Junk.

i guess i should check out reframe then... i only know a handful of rabbit junk tracks, but i like what i've heard.
Reframe is a bit raw but well worth listening to. I listen to Rabbit Junk more often than any other industrial band right now.

Wizard
August 3rd 2010



19343 Comments


This sounds fucking awesome. Great review dude!

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

MassiveAttack
August 3rd 2010



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Surprised your review didn't come out quicker Willie, but this is a fine review if I say so myself Poodle.

Willie
Moderator
August 3rd 2010



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've had an intro written for about a month and never followed up. It's cool, though. This review was good enough to feature and now I have a venue to whore the band ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2010



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really really good review and it made me very interested, even though I would've checked this out anyway. Fuck, now I really wish I was at home with my badass stereo system and a chance to download stuff.

Really? I like Spinkeshank, but I would never connect the two bands' styles. They're much more metal-oriented than these guys.
Spineshank are definitely more metal than industrial, but I can kind of relate to renegadestrings' point, as some of Cyanotic's guitar parts do resemble Spuineshank imo.

PoodleRapist
August 3rd 2010



252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks a lot guys, i appreciate the comments.

also thanks for the feature! when i saw it on the front page i about crapped myself haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy