Gojira
The Way of All Flesh


4.5
superb

Review

by fr33convict USER (10 Reviews)
July 28th, 2010 | 47 replies | 6,187 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Way of All Flesh is a technical metal masterpiece that I would recommend to any metal fan.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

Goira has a decently long history behind them. They formed in 1996 as Godzilla. In 2001 they began creating albums and changed their name to Gojira. They are a difficult to classify act. Over the course of four studio albums the band has evolved their sound form an almost straight-up death metal band to a group that combines technicality, uneasy atmosphere, and enough time signature changes and odd rhythms to be compared to Meshuggah.

Gojira is:
Joe Duplantier − guitar, vocals
Mario Duplantier − drums
Christian Andreu − guitar
Jean-Michel Labadie - bass guitar

An interesting aspect of Gojira is their unique style. Their songs typically revolve around one riff yet never getting boring: the phrase will gradually change over the course of the track. Minor changes will be applied such as a pick slide, gliss, an out-of-key chord to make each riff sound unique while giving the song a defining groove and melody.

The amount of technical precision in their music is rare. Gojira plays a technical and rhythmic style of heavy metal with precision drumming, unusual rhythm patterns, and start-and-stop riffs. They also incorporate atmospheric elements. They follow unconventional song structures and rhythms while keeping a defining groove, making their complex music sound effortless.

The Way of All Flesh is a faster and heavier record then it’s predecessors while becoming even more intricate and oddly melodic. Unlike previous works, each song sounds very different than others on the album. Within relatively few listens, every song becomes rather easily identifiable.

There is also not a weak link to be found in any member. Joe Duplantier has unique scream in which he screams virtually every line yet changes pitches as if he was singing with fantastic results. His brother, Mario, is one of the most skilled drummers in all of Metal. When I saw the band live in 2008 he never missed a beat in the whole set through his endlessly complex drum parts and fills that would make any other drummer pass out. Christian Andreu drives the band with the same amount of force as the percussion, not an easy feat for a guitarist mind you. The bass lines are very groove-based and counter the guitar parts well.

The only fault to be found with the record is an issue Gojira has always faced: The made too much material. This, however, is a minor complaint since you are getting more quality music then you’re average record. It’s just simply too long for casual listening. While nearly every track is amazing and unpredictable, it’s a challenge to listen to as a whole.
Whether you love your collection of Tool albums and dislike screamed vocals or love heavier acts such as Behemoth, this is a record you need to listen to at some point. Every track is amazing in it’s own right. You won’t be disappointed.



Recent reviews by this author
Coldworld MelancholieSkillet Awake
As Tall As Lions As Tall As LionsMy Chemical Romance Danger Days
Alter Bridge AB IIIMy Chemical Romance I Brought You My Bullets...
user ratings (1190)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first review in quite some time. Wasn't really in the mood to do The Toadies' discog today.

fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. Anyone have any suggestions? The review looks great to me but I'm sure there are plenty of things I should fix.

TRMshadow
July 28th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"His brother, Mario, is one of the most one of the most skilled drummers in all of Metal"

one of the most one of the most, grammatically that's all I see that needs fixing. You do a fairly good job of describing their sound and it flows pretty well, but it just seems a bit short.

Always happy to see a review for Gojira, Their Live shows are EPIC and they're THE band that got me into heavier music.

fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm kind of tired and when I was editing it I noticed I typed entire sections of it twice haha. Fixed it.

scissorlocked
July 28th 2010



3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good job man

The album is amazing, and maybe even better than the epic From Mars to Sirius

I think that gojira are a little underrated in sputnik

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

Disconnected
July 28th 2010



485 Comments


Good review. I've been meaning to get this album for a while, but I still haven't gotten around to it for some reason.

fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow I made a review that people like that's a first. And I believe that it's better than From Mars, if only by a little.

TRMshadow
July 28th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goes back an forth for me. Backbone is still one of the heaviest songs I've ever heard.

fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Backbone is amazing, one of my favorite Gojira tracks. The guitar slays.

TRMshadow
July 28th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So simple, so basic, and yet still so amazing.

ShadowRemains
July 28th 2010



19445 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

meh, nothing higher than a 3 from me for this album

TRMshadow
July 28th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's fine. This band is either "meh" or "THESE GUYS ARE F**KING AMAZING" for most people.

fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You kind of have to have a tolerance for long songs. They're progressive, but the songs adapt in a very minimalistic
manner. This release is a bit more straight forward then they're past works, but it's still a big ass album.

TRMshadow
July 28th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

75:07 minute long run time, even though 10 of those minutes are silence on the last track.

fr33convict
July 28th 2010



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not really silence just a bunch of quiet ambience. But I digress. I think anyone will agree the album is really long.

bloc
July 28th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree, no way I can listen to any 2 songs from this in one sitting

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

bloc
July 28th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, and I think all of their albums suffer from being too long.

bloc
July 28th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True dat, although The Link is the album I don't like much. This is easily my favourite of theirs.

TRMshadow
July 28th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Right now it sits at this for me

From Mars to Sirius > The Way of All Flesh >>>> Terra Incognita >>>>>>>>>> The Link

Urinetrouble
July 28th 2010



5695 Comments


album rules, band rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy