Knut
Wonder


2.0
poor

Review

by Travis Gibson USER (4 Reviews)
July 27th, 2010 | 31 replies | 9,300 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Riffs that once were astonishingly brutal have lost their force.

4 of 6 thought this review was well written

Let’s face it, “h/armless” from Knut’s breakthrough LP “Challenger” was one of the most crushingly brutal songs of the last twenty years. Forget Gorguts, Behemoth, or Suffocation, “h/armless” was enough to pound its listener’s brain into submission. The track may have consisted of only a single palm-muted riff overdriven to near amp extinction but it made for a tremendously powerful experience. Listeners had only two options whilst listening to the aforementioned tune, either sit back and be mesmerized by the shear might or headbang themselves into unconsciousness. Need more proof? Go watch Knut and Isis perform this gargantuan track live, together with six guitars In Geneva (yeah that’s the cue, head over to YouTube).

That being said, Knut is far removed from their outstanding 2002 release “Challenger.” The consensus on their follow-up LP “Terraformer” was hit or miss. Many disliked the added focus on ambiance and the incoherence it caused, but some liked the band’s willingness to step outside the box. In any form, Knut was taking a different path with their music and took plenty of time to think about their next release, that being “Wonder” which would be released five years later. It would seem as if Knut was trying to regain some of their past flare with this latest Hydra Head Records release but its overly-noodly and repetitious guitar-work, grind-like structure, and overall lack of substance make for an album that falls seriously short of its expectations.

First off, the work of guitarists Christian Valleise and Tim Robert-Charrue simply does not live up to stellar work found on the band's previous releases. The guitars just seems more out of place on “Wonder”. Many of the riffs are as technical as ever, but in many cases still very repetitious – making them stand out even more. The more volatile and mathy riffs clash with drummer Roderic Mounir’s style, who’s best left to shadowing Aaron Harris of Isis. Mounir’s drumming is still far from unspectacular but he will likely never have the technical prowess of a Chris Pennie, a Ben Koller, a Brann Dailor, or maybe even a Patrik Hultin (Burst) to make these types of songs work to their fullest potential.

Secondly, the meat of “Wonder” is delivered in very short bursts. Eight of the eleven tracks are less than four minutes long, while six of the tracks are only about two minutes in length. This up-tempo nature leaves only a few tracks for the band to explore their previously charted areas of atmosphere and ambiance, and even when they do they are frequently halted by gimmicks (namely fuzz) or just plain-old filler.

“Wonder” is just lacking substance in general. It does little that is original for the band and doesn’t do the band’s previous works justice. The powerful, harsh vocals of Dider Severin have returned in full force but the drumming has even less focus on flare and fills, the bass has come along for the ride, the guitars have overstepped their boundaries in some areas while become boring in others - and these critiques are just of the music that isn't obviously filler. All of this makes for a long awaited but disappointing release from the Swiss metal veterans.


user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Relinquished
July 28th 2010



22350 Comments


oh come on now

fromtheinside
July 28th 2010



16377 Comments


great review. will pick this up later.

Digging: Bast - Spectres

Yazz_Flute
July 28th 2010



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a 2 D= I had high hopes for this.

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

unclefat
July 28th 2010



1 Comments


"First off, the work of guitarists Christian Valleise and Tim Robert-Charrue, which in previous releases was stellar"

Christian & Tim were not playing in Knut at the time of previous releases.

"All of this makes for long awaited but disappointing release from the Swedish metal veterans."

Knut are from Switzerland. They are Swiss not Swedish.





rid
July 28th 2010



66 Comments


haha...

Mordecai.
July 28th 2010



8255 Comments


wat da fuck? new knuts?

HighandDriving
July 28th 2010



3232 Comments


Neg

GibTG
July 28th 2010



277 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I apologize for the silly mistakes, they have been fixed.

That doesn't really change my outlook on the album though. The first four songs seem as if they could be joined as one, they don't differ stylistically much at all. And once you hit the three six minute tracks they sound very similar to "Evian" from Terraformer - they've done it before.

I may consider raising the rating to a 2.5 with further listens, but I'm still unimpressed.

botb
July 28th 2010



9284 Comments


negging for not agreeing with a rating is so stupid

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

xxloveandhatexx
July 28th 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your review is exaggerated ! This album is really good!

Emim
July 28th 2010



26195 Comments


negging for not agreeing with a rating is so stupid


This. It's a good review.


Stop being butthurt fanboys (I know it's hard, but try).

Xplisit
July 28th 2010



1646 Comments


lol H&D

Yazz_Flute
July 28th 2010



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk i'm quite liking this, at least the first 8 tracks. It's not as good as Challenger but really now.

Photon
July 31st 2010



1288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah

Digging: Pink Floyd - The Final Cut

witchxrapist
July 31st 2010



10733 Comments


this album is tizight

JAV
August 3rd 2010



1883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's not terrible but it still feels lackluster. There are some some pretty cool songs but the entire album doesn't feel like it goes anywhere. I still enjoyed it so that's what matters to me.

eternium
August 14th 2010



16208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I feel bad rating this a 3, but it is lackluster like JAV said. The band seems to have a lot more potential than they are willing to show. Some parts are just boring.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Wizard
September 10th 2010



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I fully agree with this review. Rating will probably drop in time considering how boring this album is (few good parts here and there).

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2010



5611 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i think some people erroneously relate negging to whether they agree with the point of view of the review author, rather than evaluate if the author's point of view was well written.

i enjoyed Terraformer, i still dk about this.

edit: this is sounding somewhat average. There isn't a single riff to hang on...

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

JAV
December 22nd 2010



1883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So I listened to Nebra and it's pretty easy to tell that the riffs left with Philippe Hess.
Hopefully the full length they put out is good. The Sky Disk EP is pretty good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy