Prayer for Cleansing
The Tragedy


5.0
classic

Review

by regular stormy USER (27 Reviews)
July 26th, 2010 | 29 replies | 6,426 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Epic melodic death metal harmonies, oldschool metalcore breakdowns.

3 of 5 thought this review was well written

More-so than any oldschool metalcore release, would I consider this a precurser to the modern sound of bands like Through The Eyes Of The Dead, As Blood Runs Black, and Conducting From The Grave. On The Tragedy, Prayer For Cleansing has completely honed their sound, and, *gasp*, the production doesn't suck. Even the bass is audible. The only unfortunate aspect is that it's only three tracks... which is no biggie because it's all executed perfectly.

This has every cliche that's used in modern metalcore and deathcore, but so much less predictably and well done. The first track, "The Closet" starts out with an intro that has been ripped off by any number of southern bands, be it Tell Her I Said Goodbye or The Damascus Intervention, you can see where they drew their influence. But the song takes a darker twist than most Gothenburg influenced bands in the scene, almost a black metal tinge that you can hear in Glass Casket as well. There's even slam breakdowns, but not too slow, and not out of nowhere, the song has perfect transitions, great drumming, even during slow parts, and well, Dave Anthem's vocals are a lot stronger than on Rain In Endless Fall.

Track two, "When The Sun Kisses The Morning" is probably my favorite melodic death metal influenced metal song, ever. The riffs are just epic. Perfect harmonization, perfect switches from slower to fast tempo. The breakdown in the middle is extremely moshable. And repeated at the end... the transition into it is very reminiscent of what Through The Eyes Of The Dead work into the outro of "Autumn Tint Of Gold."

And the final track of the album, an odd interpretation of "Salvation" by The Cranberries. It somehow works, I guess it's the punky undertones. The clean chorus is a nice surprise. I just find it really funny that Anthem is screaming over this song, but it's really fun.

So pros:
Awesome vocals - raw, high rasps, decent, sparing, lows
Awesome guitars - lots of variation between riff structures and tempos
Audible bass (lol metal)
Awesome drums - dude can play well with the varied sound.

Con:
Lyrics



Recent reviews by this author
Manners Pale Blue LightCavities Within The Wings
Smile To The Wind MomentsIron Lung White Glove Test
Gas Up Yr Hearse!! A Banner Year For The Sum of Our LossesMorser & The Swarm Split
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Savannah the Ghost (4.5)
An album that effortlessly clears the table of many metalcore competitors....

Flut (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
witchxrapist
July 26th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Short review, but the EP is short so yeah.

RosaParks
July 26th 2010



14592 Comments


Doubt this is a 5. Idk why. I'm just not sure. I'll check it out.

Also, posd

BallsToTheWall
July 26th 2010



44164 Comments


Underrated band is underrated. Pos.

Counterfeit
July 26th 2010



17819 Comments


only perfect 5 on sputnik. obvs best album evarrr

witchxrapist
July 26th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This EP really has no flaws for what it is. It's extremely ahead of its time.

bailar11
July 27th 2010



2433 Comments


enrique likes most of mellany's skramz. will check out.

witchxrapist
July 27th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh wow, a negative vote, how surprising!1!!

witchxrapist
July 27th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Enrique dis is more metal than anyfing.

NeutralThunder12
July 27th 2010



8742 Comments


not a 5

witchxrapist
July 27th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I bet you're the one who negged the review because OMG I DISAGREE ON THE RATING.

Seriously kids, if you're gonna neg a review, at least explain what you think should be improved, otherwise it's just insulting and pointless.

East Hastings
July 27th 2010



4391 Comments


dudes from btbam were in this band, right? i have rain in endless fall but i gotta get around to listening to it

Motiv3
July 27th 2010



8406 Comments


i have rain in endless fall but i gotta get around to listening to it [2].

witchxrapist
July 27th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rain In Endless Fall rules, but this is better if briefer.

HighandDriving
July 28th 2010



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Terrible review, you're not 16, so stop putting out lazy reviews.

Neg'd

witchxrapist
July 28th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How does this not describe the album and why I like it? It's not a "lazy review", it's a review of a 3 track EP, should I write some 5 page dissertation full of "intelligent wording" to cater to pretentious twats like you?

You're such a moron. :/

HighandDriving
July 28th 2010



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk dude, this review just seems incredibly juvenile. Didn't you take some online courses or something? I'd like to see them pay off.

I look forward to seeing you progress, good luck.

witchxrapist
July 28th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yo, remember when you got owned on the online courses thing? And remember how that was two years ago, and not for English? And remember how I've never scored lower than a 95% in any English course, even on the collegiate level?

I wrote a concise description of the album and why I like it, that's not what juvenile means.

witchxrapist
July 28th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

BTW, saying this is, "juvenile," doesn't explain how this doesn't describe the album or my rating clearly

HighandDriving
July 28th 2010



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Take it easy Mappy, you'll do better next time and I'll praise you in return.


witchxrapist
July 28th 2010



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just think you have really stupid standards about everything.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy