Persefone
Core


5.0
classic

Review

by Eric USER (5 Reviews)
July 19th, 2010 | 40 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fantastic progressive death metal album soaked in Greek mythology.

Find anyone near you upon the time of this reading and ask them how many countries separate Spain and France. When they say “none,” tell them of the 181 square miles of earth called Andorra, which spawned progressive death metal sextet Persefone. A band as little known as the country they came from, Persefone's sophomore album, Core, is a testament to Iron Maiden style storytelling and Opeth style presentation, guaranteed to appeal to any fan of heavy music.

Core is a concept album that I really had no idea was a concept album until several weeks after I had my first listen. It was a simple act of curiosity that led me to discover that the band’s name is a slight spelling difference from the Greek Queen of the Underworld, named Persephone. Interestingly enough, their album Core is also a slight spelling difference from the Queen’s name, Kore, meaning "young maiden" in Greek. The album is based on Kore’s elaborate mythology, telling the story of her capture by Hades in a fit of jealousy and eventual trickery into forcing her to become a permanent citizen of the Underworld.

The album starts with a tranquil piano melody that beautifully sets up the entire album, as well as many of the main sections, especially on the last track, “Seed: Core and Persefone.” The album is three songs of a little over twenty minutes each that are meant to be listened to as a whole. They are all in the same key and flow together rather nicely, as all of the songs carry a great balance between high-tempo death metal bits, melodic interludes, and even dissonant harmonies. One of the most interesting parts of the album is that all of the first person lyrics spoken by Kore are sung beautifully by a guest female vocalist, whose name I don't know since there is so little information about this band and album. Regardless, her voice is a great contrast to the growling vocal work of Marc Pia, who does a supreme job of keeping the heaviness flowing. However, he also takes a few instances to explain the story thus far in his charming European accent.

All in all, Core is an excellent example of contemporary metal that never finds the time to make a mistake. Though there are a few segments near the end of the album that repeat a couple times too many for my tastes, the album is so great that to hold that against it would be nitpicking to the highest extent. If you have any self respect, you will find this album somewhere, whether you have to look it up online or pay the money to have it imported from Europe, it’s time and/or money well invested.

Pros

Fantastic metal retelling of a seldom-known mythological tale

Cons

You’ve got to be kidding me.


user ratings (94)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2010


31629 Comments


Such a great fuckin' album

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

ThyCrossAwaits
July 19th 2010


3065 Comments


with just listening to the sound bites on iTunes this sounds wicked badass yo

P.S. great first review

Digging: Old Man Gloom - The Ape of God I

Psilocyanide
July 19th 2010


1823 Comments


Sounds intriguing, nice review.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 19th 2010


3781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is the last metal album I really liked.

TigerShark277
July 19th 2010


73 Comments


what does your username mean?

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 19th 2010


3781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whose?

Psilocyanide
July 20th 2010


1823 Comments


If you were asking me. I combined Psilocybin (hallucinogen in shrooms) with the word cyanide. Thus psilocyanide.

ShinobiDaisuke
July 20th 2010


51 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I couldn't believe this and Shin-Ken still didn't have reviews, so I just figured I'd type one out. It only took a few minutes, and the positive feedback is pretty nice.

MindTrain
July 28th 2010


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

holy shit this finally got reviewed!!!

I just came everywhere listening to this

bloc
July 28th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I checked out Truth Inside the Shades, but still got to give this and their newer one a listen.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2010


31629 Comments


What you doin' here, this ain't none of that futurepop

bloc
July 28th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

LOL that don't work on me here foo'

MindTrain
August 13th 2010


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

THIS NEEDS MORE ATTENTION

BeyondSanity
August 13th 2010


130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It really does.

MindTrain
October 3rd 2010


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Quality album right here!

Motiv3
November 3rd 2010


8945 Comments


This album is unbelievable. Its gonna take a few listens for everything to sink in but this definitely my type of thing.

MO
January 5th 2011


19078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is awesome stuff


zulop
July 25th 2011


165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Recently discovered, fell in love with. Only qualm with this album is some of the lyrics, where it
just has unnecessary, state-the-obvious lyrics that feel like a bit of a filler or something.
Example - "I belong to you, you'll have to get to me, you belong to me, I have to get to you".

I guess that I can't help but compare this record to Swano's Crimson I and the lyrical content of
that piece I think is magnificent, since it adds to the imagery but isn't precise enough to cripple
the imagination.

Good review, however your info about Kore being Persephone's nickname is inaccurate. Kore was the
name of the corn maiden, said to sleep within the hollowed out earth that was used as silos to store
grain. When she was kidnapped by Hades and ate the Pomegranate seeds, she became Persephone - the
corrupted queen of the Underworld. Kore, Persephone and Hecate are believed to be a triple Goddess,
bound but not interchangeable. It is not really a nickname but a different stage of her being as
such. The music picks up on the distinction I believe, as even after Persephone comes into
existence, there are references to the "innocence of Kore", etc. Kore is treated as an embodiment of
innocence and purity of pending life, in synergy with the fertility that Demeter grants to the Earth
when she is doing her "job" properly. The Greeks believed that autumn and winter were the result of
Demeter's grief where she abandons the world to wither while she mourns her daughter's absence in
accordance with the pact Zeus made to share with Hades.

ShinobiDaisuke
November 4th 2011


51 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It wasn't inaccurate; I just had a hard time trying to sum up the entire concept in only a sentence or two. Thanks for the added information, anyway. While I was tweaking the concept summary, I touched up some odd grammatical jumbles and tried to make the review a bit cleaner.

As for my username, it's based on a character of mine for a story I've been writing since high school. Shinobi should be self-explanatory, but Daisuke is the character's name, basically meaning "a lot of a good thing." Truth be told, I'm not very fond of that username but I have yet to think of anything more interesting.

kilipeti
March 17th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree with you so much! This album deserves nothing less than a strong 5! This band is so awesome, it's a real shame they are so underrated.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy