We Are The In Crowd
Guaranteed To Disagree


3.5
great

Review

by cwhitman412 USER (3 Reviews)
July 16th, 2010 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome to your new Summer band.

Welcome to your new summer band. We Are The In Crowd is the epitome of fun pop-rock. The combination of the Paramore-like vocals of Tay Jardine and the supporting vocals of Jordan Eckes blends perfectly to create poppy magic. This is the kind of music you will blast in your car with the top down and screaming every word of every song. One of the most recent Hopeless Records signings, We Are The In Crowd is soon to hit radios everywhere.

From the first phrase of the first song, Tay shows off her excellent pipes as she shouts "Carry me home tonight", before bursting into the upbeat verses. Jordan also helps create some excellent harmonies between the two voices as fire and water. "Carry Me Home" will easily be a track you sing along every word to by the second listen of the song. "Never Be What You Want" is one of the highlights of the EP as one of the catchiest songs on the album, which isn't easy. The song isn't lyrically powerful, but it doesn't need to be. Some songs don't need to be full of substance to be enjoyable. However, Will Pugh's (Cartel) lent vocals to the twinkling bridge dwarf Jordan's, almost leading one to want Pugh to sing in place of Jordan throughout the whole album. "Both Sides Of The Story" is a synth heavy track that is the first downfall of the EP. Nothing about it stands out, and it is pretty much a throw away track. The band does however show some of their best lyrics in the chorus. "Lights Out" is the first single and will make the listener quickly forget about the last track. The keystrokes of the piano in the chorus accompany one of Tay's strongest vocal efforts. Even Jordan has highlights on his vocals in this track. "For The Win" is my personal favorite track on the album. A major improvement from the demo version by removing the autotune and replacing it with soft piano. The chorus is superb as the voices harmonize perfectly. The seven song EP may lack quantity, but there is no missing quality.

We Are The In Crowd has the perfect ingredients to blow up and become huge; the sweet yet spicy vocals, the undeniable catchiness, and the choice of signing to the same label as All Time Low. After a trip throughout the country on the entire Warped Tour, it is inevitable that those two bands will meet paths and tour together. All Time Low fans will eat We Are The In Crowd up from the first listen. In a supersaturated genre containing many similar bands, We Are The In Crowd does enough to stand out and reach out to people who wouldn't expect it.


user ratings (62)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
heyadam
July 16th 2010


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I literally just downloaded this album yesterday and was about to write a 3.5 review for it:p lol you bastard! good review though man, i'll pos

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

heyadam
July 16th 2010


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I literally just downloaded this album yesterday and was about to write a 3.5 review for it:p lol you bastard! good review though man, i'll pos

cwhitman412
July 16th 2010


6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually wrote it a while ago for my blog. But I just discovered this site today.

cwhitman412
July 16th 2010


6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://muzikdizcovery.blogspot.com is my site if you want more reviews and other features.

BallsToTheWall
July 20th 2010


44805 Comments


Completely missed this. Love this band, good review.

Desolator
July 28th 2010


191 Comments


Pretty sure I'd like this

heyadam
November 5th 2010


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Going to see these guys and Hey Monday tonight:p

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
November 17th 2010


9067 Comments


The girl is fairly attractive.

paramoraticx
November 24th 2010


14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not a real pop rock fan...but for some reason We Are The In Crowd is one of my favorite bands!

I heard them live, and they're amazing.

I love For The Win as well, favorite from them.

I also love Never Be What You Want.

joshieboy12345
September 14th 2011


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, i always like a band willing to do something different and to test themselves. Never Be What You Want is a great tune and i agree standout of this EP

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Female-fronted pop-punk is not exactly ground-breaking, nor are dual vocals... But We Are The In Crowd distinguish themselves by utilizing dueling boy-girl singing. The call & response method is effective in conveying the "he said, she said" themes of the band's admittedly one-dimensional break-up lyrics. Musically, the NY quintet are solid, without being innovative & are most effective when they exclude the synths. The result is 'Guaranteed to Disagree'; a consistently fun, energetic & infectious 7 track debut EP that bodes well for this young band's future. Recommended Tracks: Carry Me Home, Lights Out & Never Be What You Want.

BlackLlama
October 12th 2011


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I get that Butch Walker-y vibe from this band. I downloaded the EP off of a random You Tube find and have been enjoying the hell out of it for a couple of weeks. Hey, you can't listen to metal all the time :D

nash1311
July 27th 2012


1754 Comments


Davey your sound-off mini reviews are like one of my favorite parts of this site.

@cwhitman412

"Will Pugh's (Cartel) lent vocals to the twinkling bridge dwarf Jordan's, almost leading one to want Pugh to sing in place of Jordan throughout the whole album."

Sentence reads awkwardly to me. Just FYI

nash1311
July 27th 2012


1754 Comments


HOLY SHIT. "Calendar Pages" sounds EXACTLY like Anberlin's "Adelaide"

Hedgehog32396
January 28th 2013


541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this rules
so surprised because I didn't like their album

tmagistrelli
October 22nd 2014


741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is great. band gets worse with every release.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy