Sans Seraph
After the Rain


3.5
great

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
July 12th, 2010 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We almost had it all…

Progressive bands tend to have a habit of creating drawn out, elaborate, and sophisticated songs. In many cases, it works well. Contrarily, San Seraph is here to show that simple instrumentation, straightforward vocals, and a little experimentation go a long way.

Let’s get this out of the way now, if you are looking for prog with amazing technical instrumentation, just leave this page now: however you would be missing out on some very relaxing and beautiful music. Armed with not much more than guitar and vocal melodies, Sans Seraph deliver a beautiful and emotional work of art. What they lack in technical presentation, they make up for in raw emotion. The vocals are light, fluid, and smooth, yet have a sense of urgency with the lyrics. It would not be far from the truth to say that the only special part of the album is the vocals but in saying that, you take away the effect that the simple guitar and synth in the background have on them.

As mentioned before, there is not much to say about the instruments, besides the fact that they back up the vocals perfectly. However the lyrics seem to have a recurring theme. Every song seems to deal with depression or feeling alone; for example the repeating line “Is anyone out there?” in the song Short Ride. But that is just scratching the surface of the sadness and loneliness on here. The album seems to progress deeper into depression as it goes on.

“With the Greatest of Ease” closes the album as an almost ten minute song. It is though it is the light at the end of the tunnel, yet still retaining the possibility of being stuck in the depth of depression. It leaves the listener thinking about the lyrics, which is always a good thing. The album is not very instrumentally original, but it doesn’t have to be. It serves its purpose as a lyrical and emotional vessel, and one cannot ask for more.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Short and sweet, the way I like it.

Anotherbrick, this is for you, bud.

Also I will be writing a much longer review next time... gonna take lots of time on it. This one didn't need a lot of explanation, just go listen to it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2010


8387 Comments


nice review, will pos. I hope you keep my suggestions in mind for the next time too ;)

Apollo
July 12th 2010


10364 Comments


nice review Maniac. Two things I noticed before I pos.


"The vocals are light, fluid, and smooth; yet have a sense of urgency with the lyrics"

Here, it might read better if you said: 'yet have a sense of urgency in the lyrics' rather than with

also

"you take away the affect that the simple guitar and synth in the background have on his vocals"

should be effect, not affect

aside from that solid review. I've been searching for some decent relaxing music so I will check this out.

Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The vocals are light, fluid, and smooth; yet have a sense of urgency with the lyrics"

but both his voice AND lyrics sound urgent.

other things i will fix though, thanks guys.

also styles, did you read my deftones review?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2010


8387 Comments


you know I really hate to disappoint you, but no

Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you made me sad.



Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2010


8387 Comments


I haven't been in a reading mood this week, sorry

Apollo
July 12th 2010


10364 Comments


listening to the last song 'With the Greatest of Ease' right now.

It's really good.

Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It Matters to Me is my favorite

@styles I'm just kidding man, I don't mind :]

Romulus
July 12th 2010


8447 Comments


Two of my 5s are in the recommended by reviewer section and two more are in the members also liked so I feel like I should get on this. Good review Maniac

Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you, sir.

Inveigh
July 12th 2010


25116 Comments


nice review Maniac, but from the way you describe the album it doesn't sound like prog.. any reason why you classify it as such? (coming from a person who's never heard this)

Digging: Hail Mary Mallon - Bestiary

Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It kind of fits in the indie/prog feeling that Rishloo or The Mayan Factor do, only more simplistic. They take pop rock and mix in some jazz influences and some mild synth use to create their own atmosphere/sound

Inveigh
July 12th 2010


25116 Comments


word

Maniac!
July 12th 2010


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

perhaps that should be part of the review haha

AnotherBrick
July 12th 2010


9772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

excellent review dude, December is still my favorite off this album...and good to say you gave it a 4, looks like more people will check this out

Peridon
July 12th 2010


17 Comments


Could not believe that someone else knew about this album. I've been following the vocalist since Shun. He's now in a band called Pilots Wish, if anyone's interested. I enjoyed the review!

AnotherBrick
July 12th 2010


9772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Peridon? you must be a mayan!

iamSeraph
July 12th 2010


870 Comments


interesting bandname. covering my nick which I am wearing since ten years. so. yeah. will check this out later on .)

Peridon
July 12th 2010


17 Comments


Another Brick, I certainly am! They're one of my favorite bands!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy