My Epic
Yet


4.5
superb

Review

by ahousedivided USER (2 Reviews)
July 7th, 2010 | 172 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


It's been two years since my CD player was dominated by My Epic's "I Am Undone" I was immediately blown away by it's beautiful harmonies, powerful lyrics, and passionate instrumentals. Now it's time for My Epic to come back and show us what they've got. Do they still have it?

Yes.

"Yet" is different then "I Am Undone", but My Epic fans will still feel right at home with this album. My Epic's indie/progressive/rock sound is here, with a few changes. This is a noticeably heavier CD, but not by much. The occasional guest vocalist may throw off some listeners, but the spotlight is still very much on the band. The soft interludes and vocals that range from a murmur to a powerful wail are still intact. The lyrics, still thick with Christian themes, are as good as ever.

From the violent introduction of "Author", to the soft outro of "Perfecter", My Epic keep your attention with their unique sound and songwriting. While not a accessible as "I Am Undone", "Yet" is a much more detailed album, with many moments that are hard to not want to start the song over to hear again, like the ending refrain of "Lower Still". The heavy moments are much more intertwined with the softer ones, making "Yet" much less predictable then "I Am Undone". The yells in the middle of "Lashes" are suddenly cut off for a beautiful ending, which sounds like a personal prayer from Aaron, ending with "I'm ashamed that You love me/Send grace for the hearts that I stole".

Aaron's voice has improved, as have the vocal harmonies, and his voice is a real highlight. Don't worry though, the emotional shouts and gang vocals are still here, and they add a lot to the songs they are on. As I mentioned before "Yet" is heavier then "I Am Undone". This is a CD has all the thrills of My Epic's previous works, just taken in new directions that make them interesting. The heavier moments are much more fun, but never lack emotion. "Pour", for example, ends with two minutes of distorted guitars and chugging drums, but it never goes too far into breakdown territory. It works perfectly with the song, and transitions nicely into "Ashes". The album ends on a great softer song, "Perfecter", which has great lyrics and beautiful harmonies. The guitar playing on this album is wonderful and is backed perfectly by the drums, which constantly drive the songs, refusing to let them become boring. My Epic is a band of three very talented musicians who know how to put together powerful songs that will keep you coming back for more.

"Yet" show My Epic improve in almost every way. My Epic's sound is refined on this CD, without becoming boring or predictable. The passion and energy from "I Am Undone" is still here, and you need to hear it. "Yet" is something that any fan of indie needs to hear. My Epic is as epic as ever.


user ratings (163)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Kyle Robinson (4.5)
With their sophomore release, My Epic gifts listeners with one of the best Christian rock albums eve...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ziroth
July 7th 2010


1252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing album. I was thinking about reviewing it myself, but I never rose up to the challenge. I'm glad to see someone did.

crazyblinddude
July 7th 2010


3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been meaning to check out this band. im guessing ill start with their last album then go to this.

Bitchfork
July 7th 2010


7584 Comments


Sounds ghey.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2010


31215 Comments


Your dig sounds gayer

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Waior
July 7th 2010


11452 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haven't gotten into their first album yet but it was pretty good

DDconjoined
July 7th 2010


326 Comments


just don't like the idea of christian music, might try this out tho

accompliceofmydeath
July 7th 2010


4224 Comments


bringonthebreakdown is stoked.

Digging: Cruel Hand - The Negatives

Ponton
Emeritus
July 7th 2010


5793 Comments


Looks pretty interesting, ill check out some tracks

Bitchfork
July 7th 2010


7584 Comments


You read the review for my dig. Or at least the summary.

BrahTheSunGod
July 8th 2010


1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This. Is amazing.

I haven't given out a 5 in a long time, but after 3 listens this is definitely worth it. First time I heard "Lower Still" i had to replay it probably five times, and still couldn't get over that bridge/ending. Flawless.

Great review, I definitely agree about his voice improving (as did the guitar work, which is saying something after I Am Undone), it's still got the expressiveness, but now really packs some punch. That was about the only thing that kept the first CD from being a 4.5 or 5 for me.

scotish
July 8th 2010


835 Comments


mustgetmustgetmustgetmustgetmustgettttt

fantastic band

Apollo
July 8th 2010


10307 Comments


I can't believe this is your first review. Incredibly well written. This sounds like I should check it out. Have a pos.

BroFro
July 8th 2010


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm starting to believe that is the best album I've ever heard. Absolutely stunning in every way.

I am comtemplating whether to write a review on it or not, but I'm afraid I would gush about it's brilliance too much so maybe not.

BrahTheSunGod
July 8th 2010


1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still haven't stopped listening to this. My only gripe so far is that the production kinda blows on the guitars, it's way too mid- and treble-heavy and gets a bit grating after a while. That, and the middle of the album does drag juuust a bit.

ahousedivided
July 8th 2010


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just a few things:

Thanks for all the pos's guys! I'm glad my first review didn't suck!

My biggest gripe with this album is the production as well, but not the guitars, the bass; I can't hear it at all like I could in I Am Undone. I'm also not a huge fan of the sound of the kick drum here, but now I'm just nit-picking

BroFro
July 8th 2010


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been listening to it with headphones and the bass sounds fine. I can see where someone might complain about the guitar production, but it doesn't bother me really.

I think I have found two complaints worth mentioning about this album. One, Patience and Silence can get a little repetitive when focusing on the intrumentals. Two, the heavy, crunching guitar intro to Ashes that is revisited only once throughout the song kind of bugs me, as I feel they were trying too hard to create a transition from Pour.

Other than that, I really have nothing bad to say about this album.

fromtheinside
July 8th 2010


18363 Comments


this blew me away.

Digging: Gehenna - Seen Through the Veils of Darkness

coleba
July 8th 2010


788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting to me...As Cities Burn was never really that critically acclaimed, either on Sputnik or in wide press, but I really think their sound - minus all the Christian baggage - was quite unique, and they were wrongly grouped with other lame Christiancore acts (though imo their final album sucked). It's good to see bands carrying the torch (new Oceana EP is recommended if you like this, as they've adopted the same style).

coleba
July 8th 2010


788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This also reminds me a bit of Kaddisfly.

East Hastings
July 8th 2010


4391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a really good first review, but:

blown away by it's beautiful harmonies

this should be "its". this is a pet peeve of mine :/
"Yet" is different then "I Am Undone"

Should be Yet, "than", and I Am Undone. Album titles are in italics, song titles in quotes : ) good job dude



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy