Army Of The Pharaohs
The Unholy Terror


3.5
great

Review

by David Foster Wallace USER (72 Reviews)
July 1st, 2010 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Army Of The Pharaohs push for huge success but oddly enough, come down short.

Army Of The Pharaohs is like the mixed race Wu-Tang Clan. They have a large multitude of members when only most of them are good. Each rapper has a distinct voice and flow(save for a few). Overall, the similarities to Wu-Tang are noticeably present. However, AOTP have a noticeably different sound. They draw in sounds from Gangsta Rap to Southern Rap to East Coast Rap. They work with a multitude of producers, many of them ranging from unknown presence in the Rap world to some having a huge presence in the world of underground Rap.

The emcees on The Unholy Terror range from amazingly good to terribly bad. You've got rappers who kill every track they're on(Apathy, Celph Titled, Vinnie Paz, Reef Da Lost Cauze) to average mc's(Planetary, King Syze, Esoteric) to just laughably bad(Demoz, Crypt The Warchild). Celph Titled and Apathy mostly bring punchlines and metaphors to the songs while Vinnie Paz boasts about how great he is at rapping and his knowledge of the world. Other rappers on the album rap about killing other rappers and focus mostly on their wordplay skills. Some rappers (like Demoz) are just clones of the other rappers on the album and their verses are hard to sit through because they're boring.

Their are about 8-9 good tracks on The Unholy Terror. The first 5 tracks are amazing but it deteriorates form there. The beats can get pretty lame and the rapping is usually from the worst emcees. The album gets predictable on repeated listening. You start to memorize the verses and the way each song goes. There are more great tracks than bad tracks if anything. a few of the rappers come correct on every song they show up on.
This cd feels like it was rushed in time to meet a deadline and only 9 tracks were given time to be made into good songs. They need to narrow the group down to 5 or 6 rappers for it to have more high-quality songs. Overall, an interesting but flawed affair that needs more polishing to achieve a classic status. Similar to Wu-Tang, but not as good.



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Pale CommunionBody Count Manslaughter
The Black Keys Turn BlueBosnian Rainbows Bosnian Rainbows
Tyler Brown The HollowsLone Ninja Rogue Agent
user ratings (61)
Chart.
3.4
great
related reviews

Ritual Of Battle
recommended by reviewer
Celph titled The Gatalog
Apathy Wanna Snuggle?

Comments:Add a Comment 
Urinetrouble
July 1st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah, i know. lazy review, too many short paragraphs, blah blah blah. I'm just really burnt out today

Bulldog
July 1st 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

too bad these guys are a C-list version of the wu tang clan and not a conceptual group

nttrbttrz
July 1st 2010


42 Comments


The album gets predictable on repeated listening. You start to memorize the verses and the way each song goes.

oh no!

Urinetrouble
July 1st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah, i know what ya mean. if they had a focused sound they would be way better

cvlts
July 1st 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so is this better than Ritual of Battle?

Urinetrouble
July 1st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i personally think so. ROB lacked apathy, which ruined it

cvlts
July 1st 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Iono man, I loved RoB even without Apathy. But I'll definately be checking this one out now.

Review is good.
I'd seperate that last paragraph with some spacing.
Other than that, solid.
Pos

BallsToTheWall
July 1st 2010


44593 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

About time. Good review. I'm still impatiently waiting for Celph Titled's debut because he is so much better that anyone else in here.


Also, nowhere near as consistent as ROB.

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

cvlts
July 1st 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

AOTP FTW

1337Kellx
September 15th 2010


585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Again

The album gets predictable on repeated listening. You start to memorize the verses and the way each song goes.

When did that become a bad thing...


Urinetrouble
September 15th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it does when a lot of average mcs are involved and only 5 0r 6 are good newfag.

also, why you bumping this?

Urinetrouble
September 15th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

btw might rewrite rview for this

1337Kellx
September 23rd 2010


585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My opinion in music doesn't matter because im new D:

But yeah, celph needs his own cd

pizzamachine
September 23rd 2010


12571 Comments


ARMY OF THE PHARAOHS

CELPH TITLED

Urinetrouble
September 23rd 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

celph is comin out with a solo cd bitches....Nineteen Ninety Now

cvlts
September 23rd 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bout fuckin time. u know when?

Urinetrouble
September 24th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

october 26h. three singles have already been released. ook up the premise of the album

Urinetrouble
October 1st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

And it goes, A for accurate. P for poetry
A for the automatic respect you're showin me
T for the tight lyrics and H cuz shit is hot
And last but not least Y....why not

bloc
November 19th 2010


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty cool so far

36chambers
April 19th 2011


9 Comments


Great review. I havent heard this but it's at my local store for 30 bucks and after reading your review i don't think it's worth a buy the only album i have from them is Ritual Of Battle, im guessing this aint as good. The way you broke down each emcee and described how all of them rapped on this seems pretty spot on from what ive heard. Yea they are similar to Wu tang but not in the way that theyre tryna be them



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy