The Men
Immaculada


4.5
superb

Review

by fromtheinside USER (127 Reviews)
July 1st, 2010 | 56 replies | 14,979 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: saddle up.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

I never thought coming into the mid year of 2010 I’d be hit with such an inaccessible album, blending unlovely amounts of noise with screamo, heavy requests of shoegaze, and even throw in a little punk and you’ve got yourself the The Men’s Immaculada. Each song begs to be ignored within the opening seconds; inaudible screams litter across distorted feedback with little hints of a clever rhythm section. Take Grave Desecration for example which has so many elements riding with it you could throw a dart at a genre board and come away a winner. The band know how to work their blending of styles with sexy transitions that seamlessly weave their way in-between tracks, like the acoustic outro that graces the end of the aforementioned song; it’s a curve ball thrown at the listener after the two minute tirade that precedes it, still the moment has never felt so perfect.

Madonna is thick and hesitant as it tests you to make your way through its slow progression of riffs hidden behind more feedback and even some discontinuous ambiance. With a western hinge it swings in and out of the mind with its subtle nuances. As if that wasn’t enough of course, the band put together a rugged harmony on Lazarus that completely shifts the direction the disc seemed to be headed toward. Riding on copious amounts of Bad Religion love the album closes out with a tug of war between post-punk and styling’s for the hardcore aficionados. The album obviously doesn’t need nor want our love, but it’s so hard when they create a closer as grand as the title track and its hidden gem towards the end.



Recent reviews by this author
Pyrrhon The Mother of VirtuesCult Leader Nothing for Us Here
Chevelle La GargolaVales Wilt And Rise
Nero Di Marte Nero Di MartePolygons Rifts
user ratings (76)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
fromtheinside
July 1st 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

might 5 this, its just so damn good.

Digging: Bast - Spectres

liledman
July 1st 2010



3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good to see this reviewed, its a great release.

fromtheinside
July 1st 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, the album rules.

SlightlyEpic
July 1st 2010



5780 Comments


great album, great review

fromtheinside
July 1st 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, you should rate it

SlightlyEpic
July 1st 2010



5780 Comments


haven't rated anything in so long I have like 1000 albums to rate and I'll pretty much never get around to it :c

fromtheinside
July 1st 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn dawg. maybe you should just dedicate a day for sputnik.

Spare
July 1st 2010



5223 Comments


this band is bananas. review is good too.

SlightlyEpic
July 1st 2010



5780 Comments


yeah I probably will at some point during the holidays, still have a few weeks left of school at the moment though

fromtheinside
July 1st 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4.4 holy shitza.

Romulus
July 4th 2010



8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Downloading this now

kount
July 4th 2010



1225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

uh oh

fromtheinside
July 4th 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit rules rom.

kitsch
August 7th 2010



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

problems/burning up sounds like they ripped the riff off of "in my eyes"

fromtheinside
August 7th 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yet still a 4.5?

kitsch
August 7th 2010



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

punk music all sounds the same anyway


every pv group is imitating crossed out and infest

its just cool that minor threat got ripped off by a band this good

SeaAnemone
August 7th 2010



18755 Comments


just downloaded this because I'm cool

kitsch
August 7th 2010



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yo sea you should check out sex vid

Romulus
August 7th 2010



8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is pretty awesome, good find fti

fromtheinside
August 7th 2010



16345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks. glad this is getting the attention it deserves. cause it rules.
and kitsch i see where you're coming from. i'm always alright with a band ripping off others if they do as fine of a job as The Men do.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy