Horse Feathers
Thistled Spring


3.5
great

Review

by tombits USER (16 Reviews)
June 29th, 2010 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Thistled Spring" further refines Horse Feathers' warm brand of folk with the welcome addition of some subtle instrumental touches.

The weather is truly atrocious at the moment. This winter has been relentless; the gutters have been flooded with rain and the windows whipped with wind for days on end now, and there's sadly no respite in sight. Such stark and forlorn weather tends to affect you in time, grinding away at contentment until all you're left with is a sense of despondency that reflects the mud and frost that surrounds you - or at least that's how I feel. It's for these reasons that I find Horse Feathers so endearing: it's clear that Justin Ringle and co. understand the seasons and the emotions that each is associated with and draw from them heavily. While House With No Home represented the cold, dark and isolating nature of winter, Thistled Spring encompasses the warmth and wonderful subtlety that manifests with the arrival of spring and grants you just a touch of its vibrancy.

The things that have characterised the band ever since they debuted with Words Are Dead are thankfully still intact, but many of the songs have been adorned with instrumentation that was previously foreign to the band. The eponymous track does away with guitar and instead features a refreshing piano that adds a whole new dimension to the record. It also underlines the small improvements Ringle's voice has seen; his approach to vocal duties is strengthened by a newfound confidence that's resulted in slightly more powerful performances, like that of "Vernonia Blues". The song is a change of pace for Horse Feathers, injecting a toe-tapping tempo and a little bluesy grit into their typically serene sound. "Cascades" is the darkest song on the album; here the band utilised a brand of sluggish percussion (similar to that of "Falling Through the Roof") to accentuate Justin's quaint storytelling. A particularly gorgeous violin-driven crescendo breaks into an unaccompanied moment in which Ringle croons "I'm just where you left me, alone by them lilacs." Such honestly and flourishing songwriting gives Thistled Spring a nostalgic quality that serves to warm you during the coldest of winters.



Recent reviews by this author
King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard Float Along - Fill Your LungsTame Impala Innerspeaker
Darwin Deez Darwin DeezAnthony Green Avalon
Ghastly City Sleep Ghastly City SleepO'Brother The Death of Day
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

nice sound off

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010


15052 Comments


i kinda liked house with no home but not enough to get this prob. 3.5 sounds rtight

tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah it's pretty similar, there's two of the better tracks on their myspace if you're interested.

http://www.myspace.com/horsefeathersmusic

Calculate
June 30th 2010


1135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A thoroughly enjoyable listen, and a good read for that matter.

Douglas
June 30th 2010


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This definitely could be up my tree. Nice review.

tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@ Calculate: thanks man.

@ Dougie: definitely helps with this crappy victorian weather! yeah i think you'd enjoy this, it's the kind of quaint folk we both tend to dig.

Douglas
June 30th 2010


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah how shit has it been, yet looks clear for the next 24 hours: http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR023.loop.shtml - thank christ!

Oh awesome, will check out asap.



tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thank god, i can't stand anymore coldness, it's killing me.

Douglas
June 30th 2010


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know, it has been a terribly cold start to winter! Though that doesn't bother me to much as I am spending most of my August at the snow.

Douglas
June 30th 2010


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Loving this so far. 3.5 - 4 material.

tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

good to hear dude.

also what did everyone think of the review? i thought i'd try my hand at one of these short reviews that everyone has been doing. it was suprisingly hard to write, but that's probably just because i haven't reviewed in months.

alachlahol
June 30th 2010


7501 Comments


ugh, having winters june through september would be the most foreign thing ever. i've only heard Horse Feathers and it was worth the listen

tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i remember it was pretty trippy as a kid having christmas associated with winter and snow, but it being 30 degrees+ on the actual day. and what record have you heard from these guys?

alachlahol
June 30th 2010


7501 Comments


oh fuck i wrote down the band name lol. Words Are Dead is what i've heard

tombits
June 30th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this is a little better than words are dead.

Donkey
July 20th 2010


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The more you listen to it, the better it gets.

tombits
July 21st 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm definitely still enjoying it.

DeafMetal
July 28th 2010


8588 Comments


reminds me of great lake swimmers

Digging: Ja Rule - Pain Is Love

tombits
August 2nd 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cool to see people still checking this out.

tombits
October 4th 2010


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

listened to this in the nice spring weather today, perfect.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy