Steve Hillage
Rainbow Dome Musick


5.0
classic

Review

by Raja Ram USER (4 Reviews)
June 23rd, 2010 | 19 replies


Release Date: 1979 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ambient Zen Musick

I place the headphones on top of my head and lay down on the wooden deck. Relaxing my eyes, the cotton plagued sky above me becomes filled with a haze. I'm made aware of the trickling water passing through the headset. Synthesizers ring, bringing forth the next addition to this obscure environment. There is a sensation of free flight, sheer weightlessness as I accept the new direction. I'm being lifted, rising directly upward into the night. I question if this is admissible, yet I know there's little I can do to alter my destination. Sequencers climb up and down, stretching past my face. It's apparent that the laws of gravity are no longer plausible in a place such as this. Guitar tapping can be heard in the distance but the sources of the strings remain unperceived. While auras of different colors fall to the surface, the noise begins to fade and my vision returns to the remote sky.

The resonance of a bell marks the induction of something immense. I can feel the energy circulating and I wait for what lies ahead. Strings of ambiance calm my thoughts and I am reminded of my existence. The tuning of the synthesizers is raised, and almost immediately I am conscious to the changes happening before my eyes. The loop repeats, yet visually it is pulsating and it emits intensity. Once more the sequencers come in waves. My body is radiating with euphoric inhabitants, and worries are any place but here. The synthesizers dance across the horizon, mere scatterings of energy. Alas they fade, and my passage arrives at close. I come in contact with the timbered surface and once more I am well acquainted with earth.

Note: In 1979 Steve Hillage released a highly influential album for the psychedelic and ambient genre. Modern day, his impact has been felt and he stands as one of the forefathers of ambient electronica. Rather than characterizing all of the instruments and effects used in his music, I decided to portray the experience and emotions felt while listening to "Rainbow Dome Musick" as a whole. Don't forget to listen for the glissando guitars in track one, they're beautiful.


user ratings (8)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
aresx
June 23rd 2010


305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love this album, good review

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Psilocyanide
June 23rd 2010


1823 Comments


Too much about how it made you feel and not quite enough about what the music was.

Psilocyanide
June 23rd 2010


1823 Comments


It's not a bad review, just the way people perceive music is very different and I don't really know what the music sounds like.

Jethro42
June 23rd 2010


12438 Comments


sup Chambers, buddy. Good review.
I like Gong, so I might like this.

cvlts
June 27th 2010


8955 Comments


concept review? takes some balls, son.

pos

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012


20645 Comments


Can't get into this. His earlier solo albums are better IMO. Fish Rising, L and Green are great.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

Jethro42
April 7th 2012


12438 Comments


I probably need some Hillage into my life.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012


20645 Comments


Yeah Jethro get the albums I just mentioned. I personally prefer his early solo albums to a lot of the stuff he did with Gong.

Jethro42
April 7th 2012


12438 Comments


That info of yours is much appreciated my friend!

TrueBlood
August 2nd 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

m/


JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


20645 Comments


This has grown on me a lot. Really good spacey ambient.

TheMystical
October 14th 2013


37 Comments


Awesome review. Beautiful album.

I agree with the reviewer, reviews are someone's own opinion. If someone wants an objective view of music, they should hear it themselves.


JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2013


20645 Comments


Fish Rising needs a review hard, such an awesome album.

This is pretty good but not on the same level (although it's hard to compare as they're different genres).

KILL
October 23rd 2013


71750 Comments


fuck forgot to check that album

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2013


20645 Comments


Fish Rising is up there with Gong's best stuff imo. Not quite as crazy as Gong though.

KILL
October 23rd 2013


71750 Comments


yea i think sonic played some of it in plug like last year it sounded sweet

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2013


20645 Comments


The record sleeve is retarded, he calls himself Steve Hillfish and it says that some guy plays a Moog Bubblefish and someone else plays the Saxofish.

KILL
October 23rd 2013


71750 Comments


lol those canterbury dudes were fuckin crazy

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2014


16008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first steve hillage album i heard, i blame this for making me neglect the really good stuff like fish rising for so long

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy