Hawthorne Heights
The Silence in Black and White


5.0
classic

Review

by James Jaskolka USER (10 Reviews)
June 22nd, 2010 | 22 replies | 4,471 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Despite its infinite flaws, Hawthorne Heights created an album that would create a new subculture of mall-going scene kids.

10 of 11 thought this review was well written

I remember the first time I heard Hawthorne Heights. It was the summer before I started sixth grade and I was playing my Linkin Park and Blink-182 CDs until they were scratched and almost unfixable. I yearned for more music then my eleven year old brain could handle. Late one night, I was flipping through MTV2 and came across the video for “Ohio Is For Lovers”. When the vocals broke out into the first chorus and Casey’s screams played through the speakers, I had no idea what I was hearing. This was new, this was entirely mind consuming. Unable to get the hook out of my head, I biked down to the Best Buy three days later to buy the album. I was captivated.

Before you get the wrong idea, though, I’ll say my disclaimer. Yes, this album is absolute garbage. The lyrics are plagued by childish rhyme structures, the vocals would make Jordan Pundik cringe, and the music has been done before and will be done a million more times before the end of my life. But if you think I was the only one who was so in awe by the sudden combination of clean vocals and light screaming, you’d be wrong.

With just one chorus, Hawthorne Heights invented a new wave of black-dressing wrist cutters (Where else do you think that stereotype came from?). With one music video, they brought about an entire sub-culture. Ultimately, The Silence In Black And White is the mall-core generation’s version of Suicide Notes And Butterfly Kisses: A stepping stone into heavier and more complex music, the perfect blend between mainstream and underground.

However, that’s not to say this album goes without its moments. “Speeding Up The Octaves” has a very memorable chorus, while the bridges of “Screenwriting An Apology” and “Wake Up Call” feature some of Casey’s best vocal work. "Niki FM" was every next-gen emo kid's favorite love song, and “Silver Bullet”, despite the cheesy chorus, ends with some great layered vocals that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Taking Back Sunday record.

Aside from a nostalgic listen to “Life On Standby” or “The Transition” every now and then, I don’t pick up this record anymore. Looking back five years later, I can’t believe I was ever so fascinated by it. Yet I can still remember my eleven year old self buried in the lyric booklet, walkman on my lap, knowing that my life had just changed somehow. Because of this record’s impact on the scene, it deserves the title of a classic, regardless of how trite every idea was.



Recent reviews by this author
Motionless in White CreaturesThink Big! Losing Ground
The Wonder Years The UpsidesWe Came As Romans To Plant a Seed
Motionless in White When Love Met DestructionA Day to Remember Homesick
user ratings (705)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jaskolkaaa
June 22nd 2010



330 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not trolling. Just an idea I had.

BigHans
June 22nd 2010



26455 Comments


SO CUT MY WRISTS AND BLIND MY EYES

plane
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2010



6085 Comments


This review doesn't make any sense. How does that make it a classic?

Jaskolkaaa
June 22nd 2010



330 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's kinda like Dookie, or Atreyu's SNABK. The music isnt great or new but it impacted alot on the scene...maybe I didnt make the point clear enough, but i've had the idea in my head for a while so..

Crimson Death
June 22nd 2010



533 Comments


Thanks for the review bro, you just misled me and made me waste $10 on an album!!!

Crimson Death
June 22nd 2010



533 Comments


"It's kinda like Dookie, or Atreyu's SNABK. The music isnt great or new but it impacted alot on the scene...maybe I didnt make the point clear enough, but i've had the idea in my head for a while so."

I guess admitting to liking Hawthorne Heights would be like coming out of the closet. Nice and slowly now, tell us how you really feel.

Jaskolkaaa
June 22nd 2010



330 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

HAHAHAHA

Prolapse
June 22nd 2010



4370 Comments


I will pos because I am a really nice person

xxKillWithASmile
June 22nd 2010



240 Comments


I liked this. And I relate entirely; This album used to be my ultimate jam. I remember playing it on the rides into school in my dad's car and him being really confused about it.
Pos'd, bruh.

Jaskolkaaa
June 22nd 2010



330 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Johnny10 well thank you kind sir!

@xxkillwithasmile at least someone else relates and thanks for the pos!

Comatorium.
June 22nd 2010



4086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this. And I relate entirely; This album used to be my ultimate jam. I remember playing it on the rides into school in my dad's car and him being really confused about it.
Pos'd, bruh.

[2]

down to the part about my dad being confused.

Iamthe Nightstars
June 22nd 2010



2179 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"this album is absolute garbage"

Then why is the review rating a 5?

eternium
June 22nd 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just because it had a lot of impact doesn't mean that it's any good..

Nikkolae
June 22nd 2010



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

in some cases it could be...

Digging: We Came Out Like Tigers - Ever-Crushed at Pecket's Well

LiquidVelvet
June 22nd 2010



629 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a classic.
However, this review pretty much exactly sums up my feelings about this album--I can't believe I liked it SO MUCH in sixth grade five years ago, but it opened so many doors to me, and even though I'm a little embarrassed by it, it's still not a horrible listen, and is still nostalgic and important to my musical growth.

Nikkolae
June 22nd 2010



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

in all honesty i would never feel embarased to listen to this album, it might not be good but we dont have to listen to good music all the time do we, nikki FM used to be my tune way back when (you can guess why lol)

Iamthe Nightstars
June 28th 2010



2179 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I remember being blown away when I heard these guys when I was in 8th grade. haha. At least I know better now. Although I still like "Life on Standby" even if it is a pretty average song. There are some other catchy moments on the album, but overall pretty forgetable.

EnCrypt.
July 4th 2010



882 Comments



LOL

mechatanner
November 17th 2010



269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alright, here it is:
disagree with it being a 5.0.-just because it was extremely influental and brought about the corruption of the 'Scene' we see today, and inspired the fashion trend known as Scene(god i love scene chicks.), doesn't mean it deserves a high rating as an album.
Now that said, with all the people hating this album down to a 1.0, thats a little too much. i would say it deserves at least a 2. Because they didn't want to make some complex album, they just wanted to make some emo music, about emo kid stuff-primarilly girls/their girl troubles. They did that very well..
fuckin Hawthorne.

dimsim3478
May 1st 2011



4717 Comments


A five score. Awesome. Pos'.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy