Heinali And Matt Finney
Lemonade


4.5
superb

Review

by B R A N D O N S C O T T USER (102 Reviews)
June 20th, 2010 | 27 replies | 7,595 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


4 of 4 thought this review was well written

On all accounts Heinali & Matt Finney's first 2010 EP Town Line was a somber affair; to match the scathing political war commentary of spoken word artist Mathew Finney, (of ambient/experimental duo Finneyerkes) Ukrainian born and self taught ambient composer Heinali provided bountiful amounts of diverse symphonic textures, all to truly heartbreaking degrees. Despite it's deceptively pleasant name, the pair's second 2010 EP entitled Lemonade sees Finney getting dangerously personal-- with himself. And all to the backdrop of a beautifully bleak ambient soundscape.

In many ways Lemonadeis musically an expansion of the sound that was presented on the Town Line EP; while still retaining a strong sense of classical elements Heinali has become known for, the seamless inclusion of post-rock, industrial and shoegaze influences contribute to what make this album a true long player. Third track "End Of July" is certainly the best example of Heinali's ability to cohesively combine several genres in the length of a single song; amidst the cry of mourning cellos, a simple, melodic, and tremolo picked guitar lead permeates the engulfing atmosphere, backed by the steady, mechanical beat of programmed drums. Ironically enough, it is title track "Lemonade" that breaks the albums mold, maintaining itself as a masterful exercise in the emotion driven classical ambient that dominated the duo's previous outing.

Although war was the aforementioned topic of subject on the Town Line EP, Lemonade sees poetic mastermind Matt Finney totally reinventing his approach, this time, making himself the prime target of his often strongly worded criticisms. "The Dream" details a story of misplaced trust, where instead of using an angry or vehement tone, Finney calmly lets his words do all the talking:"The ones i claimed to be heroes ended up being drunks or addicts/ Ended up putting guns in their mouths or tying ropes around their necks so i built walls instead." Other tracks such as "Repeated" (told from third person) deals with ones self realization of who they really are, an epiphany that makes visible all the hurt, anguish and hatred they've planted in others. Despite the fact that Finney for the entirety of the EP delivers his poetic phrases in a soft, monotone and seemingly emotionless voice, his words are so strong, they are easily made believable.

Lemonade is an collaboration to be held in the highest regards; from Heinali's off the wall, eclectic compositions to Finney's harrowing delivery and wording it is clear that these two share a special connection that will hopefully continue for a long, long time.



Recent reviews by this author
Carved Cross Demo IIIBlack Beasts II
Azarath Blasphemers' MaledictionsDoth Datura Wrightii
Cara Neir Sublimation TherapyAsphyx The Rack
user ratings (13)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
June 21st 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Once again this release is being offered free, but you can buy if you choose (which I urge you to do, these guys are truly great and deserve it).

Digging: Venus Star - Nigredo Expulsion

Mclovin
June 21st 2010



293 Comments


By Sputnik standards, this is a good review. However, relative to your other reviews, I don't think this is as strong - it's well written, but I feel like the album wasn't described as well as it could have been. But as I said, it's still a good review, and I pos'd. The album looks interesting, I'll have to check this out.

edit: also, it needs some proofreading, but I'm sure you got dat under control, broseph

TheSpirit
June 21st 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you. I'm still trying to find my feet on reviewing non metal albums haha.

sspedding
June 21st 2010



4752 Comments


Good review. This sounds interesting.

Mclovin
June 21st 2010



293 Comments


I gotcha - I'm still trying to find my feet reviewing any albums XD Where can I find this?

TheSpirit
June 21st 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks sspedding and oh yeah you can download it here: (this is band approved free download) http://heinaliandmattfinney.bandcamp.com/

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2010



31058 Comments


Needs artwork

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2010



31058 Comments


Needed artwork ;)

ShadowRemains
June 21st 2010



20502 Comments


good review, as usual

BrahTheSunGod
June 21st 2010



1279 Comments


Sounds interesting, i'm sold. Dl'ing, and have a pos.
What would you compare this to instrumentally?

Wizard
June 21st 2010



19308 Comments


The summary is killer hahahaha. Great review, need some ambient stuff to balance out the 100+ metal albums sitting in front of me.

Digging: Downer - Downer

thedude108
June 21st 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@BrahTheSunGod
Heinali definitly has some classic influences. In someplaces very minimalistic, yet very raw and
exprimental.
not sure if im describing it correctly tho :P
u should definitely give it a listen. Matt Finney's poems are so beautiful and touching.
get it here for pay what you want download:
http://heinaliandmattfinney.bandcamp.com/

great review btw

TheSpirit
June 21st 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks guys

East Hastings
July 24th 2010



4391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

reminds me a lot of nine inch nails. i love this album.

TheSpirit
July 25th 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I could see that comparision a little. I still think this is very post-rockesque

TheSpirit
September 17th 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wish more ppl would listen to this... top ten of 2010 material right here

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2010



17920 Comments


how come you don't capitalize i

TheSpirit
September 29th 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you're talking about the summary, I guess I just overlooked that. I'll fix that now. Did you have any other problems with the review?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2010



31058 Comments


Finally got around to listening to this the other day and holy fuck its good

TheSpirit
September 29th 2010



17651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you enjoyed it man. I've been trying to spread the word on how good these guys are for awhile, good to see them getting some appreciation.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy