Peccatum
Amor Fati


3.5
great

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
June 19th, 2010 | 19 replies | 5,811 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 5 Votes? Really? Read on, please.

Peccatum is one of those bands that fly under the radar of most listeners. Their unique style of melding genres, however, deserves some attention and deserves some praise. I first became aware of their existence by browsing Sputnik one day. I listened to Lost in Reverie and was blown away. For several days I only listened to that album. A few months later, I listened to the rest of their albums and was impressed that they were all solid albums, albeit much more raw. The great thing about 'Lost in Reverie' is that while it is not repetitive, it is consistent in overall feel and sound. With the earlier release, however, they were all over the place in terms of songwriting. That is not to say that they were bad, but they were still getting an idea of how they wanted to sound.

But that is what you are reading to know about, isn’t it? How they sound. There are many ways to describe their style of music. The most accurate would be “Industrial tinged Avant-Garde Black Metal with symphonic and gothic influences”. As stupid as it sounds, that really describes it best. But for simplicity sake, Progressive Metal suits it just fine. The band has two vocalists, Ihsahn (yes, the same guy from Emperor) and his wife, Ihriel. Ihsahn, of course, provides most, if not all, of the growling through the whole album, as well as singing opposite of his wife. Ihriel brings the music a whole lot of gothic influence. She sings in quite an operatic manner and her voice is quite beautiful. The contrast between her voice and Ihsahn's works very well with the music, making it even more dynamic.

Now I am not one for a lot of synth use; it very regularly gets on my nerves. While Amor Fati is covered in it, the balance between the actual instruments and the synth is so well executed that it all seems to blend together seamlessly; the way synth should be. Both lyrically and instrumentally, they do not bring anything new, insightful, or complicated to the table, but it all just sounds so good together. Rather than relying on technical abilities to carry the album, the atmosphere that is created is better than if they did choose to take the technical side of music. I suppose that what I mean by this is that the bleak, depressing, but yet also beautiful feeling of the album is what makes it great.

Compared in hindsight to their next album,Lost in Reverie, it is a lesser album, but not by much. Not because the content isn’t executed well, but because it just does not achieve the creative genius shown on later albums. So if you took one thing away from reading this, it should be that Peccatum are quite different from the normal black metal that you are used to. Amor Fati is an excellent piece of musicianship and emotion and it hints at the masterpiece that they could, and did, achieve.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure what I think of this review. I took more time with it, but how I went about writing it was a bit different. What do you think?

Mclovin
June 19th 2010


293 Comments


Honestly, I'm not a fan of this review's style; it seems reaaally impersonal to a a degree that kinda takes away its credibility. However, the review itself is good, and you covered the album well.

I heard Peccatum a year or two ago and I really didn't like it, but perhaps I should give them another chance. What album should I start with?

Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lost in Reverie, definitely.

Counterfeit
June 19th 2010


17819 Comments


LOLOLOL a maniac review.. jk it's prolly good. Will read later.

fr33convict
June 19th 2010


11689 Comments


It's OK I guess.

Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you're talking about the album... It's better than ok :/

Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

More people need to hear of this band...

salival13
June 19th 2010


264 Comments


Gothic prog metal brought to you by Emperor's Ishan and his wife except it sounds like his wife wrote all the songs and Ishan just threw some riffs in just to keep you awake. It's alright I guess I'd give Lost in Reverie a 4.

Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To each his own, I suppose ^^

Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would like to know why this is negged. that is two reviews in a row that have been negged without explanation and neither review was terrible. bleeeeeehhhhhhhhh

Mclovin
June 19th 2010


293 Comments


salival, uhhhh...
"It's alright I guess" = 4?
o.O

Maniac, you covered the album well, and it's certainly well written. I pos'd it bro, fo sho. However, in all honesty, the tone and style of the review is on the questionable side, which would most likely be the reasoning for the neg. I could sift through the review and give you some constructive criticism, if you'd like.

Maniac!
June 19th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sure. My reviews are a bit cold in tone. Always written straight and to the point. If you know ways to lighten up a review, hit me with it.

Yazz_Flute
June 19th 2010


18780 Comments


It's a bit of a colloquial read, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Never checked these guys out.

Digging: Eskaton - 4 Visions

salival13
June 19th 2010


264 Comments


I listened through it once over a year ago and rated it then I just don't remember anything from it. I 4'd it cause I recognize the quality of the songwriting and I think it succeeds as a bold avant garde piece, I'm just never in the mood to listen to it.

Inveigh
June 20th 2010


24958 Comments


I liked the descriptive elements of the review, as I had no idea what this band sounded like before reading. i thought it was worthy of a pos sir Maniac. If I had any critiques I would maybe say don't address the reader directly so much, it can make for awkward flow on occasion and I'd also try to avoid writing in the first person if at all possible (the two kind of go hand-in-hand).

Still, those are minor complaints. Definitely not neg-worthy.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Maniac!
June 20th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks Blake, I plan on taking a long time and a different approach on the next review. The line between impersonal and overpersonal is a VERY fine one apparently....

Inveigh
June 20th 2010


24958 Comments


haha it is, most definitely. keep going though man, I think you've improved with every review so far

Maniac!
June 20th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I appreciate that very much

TRMshadow
August 11th 2010


4982 Comments


Sup Brandon,

Good review, kind of reviewing the band/couple more than the album but worth a pos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy