Tool
Lateralus


5.0
classic

Review

by MaynardJamesKeenan USER (1 Reviews)
June 15th, 2010 | 289 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tool are geniuses at what they do and you can clearly see in this album.

Tool are a 4 piece band from california. They are probably my favorite band as you can see from my name. They are a very original band and they use really irregular time signatures. Only tool can get away with a time signature of 6.5/8 i could only dream of playing in such an irregular time signature. Another fantastic element of their music is maynards amazingly chilling vocals. They are really melodic and in my opinion he is probably the best singer ever only closely matched by james hetfield. The drums are nothing short of amazing too they are really hard to play my friend can't even play them drums on drums and he is a really good drummer! it is a known fact that danny carey is probably the best drummer of this generation and is even taught to be better than john bonham. plain and simply adam jones is god he is an exeptional guitarist with a nack for groovy guitar licks and punishing solos. and he is a really good artist too he did the amazing artwork on this album

Now i am going to go song by song and write a little piece about each song

The grudge - the album opens up with one hell of a song. it is truly a masterpiece. you can see already what you are going to be in for with this album. there is also an amzing scream at the end where maynard screams for a really really long time. Amazingly beautiful

The patient - This is probably one of the best songs on the album. It is a really weird song with maynard singing very oddly

Schism - this song is magnificent. it has everything you want in a song. a groovy bassline and amazing vocals to match. this song is great.

Parabol/a - this here is the greatest song(s) of all time. it is a work of art. it goes from quiet to loud in a heartbeat. never before have i heard anything like this.

Ticks &leeches - this song starts off with a great drum intro then kicks in with guitar. a really good song

Lateralus - this song is amazing and extremely intellegent. it's syllable match the fibinacci sequence for christs sake. maynard is truly a musical genius. and the song is amazing too.

disposition - this is probably the least amazing song on the album. but that doesn't mean it's good. it has some weird rums in it which are cool.

Reflection - this song is 11:07 long. wow! this is the longest song i have ever heard. and you would think with a song this long it would be boring. but it isn't. it never drags or anything which is an amzing achievement. truly a work of genius.

triad - this is an instrumental track and it closes the album perfectly. there are some spooky noises in the background to give the song some atmosphere. then there is 2 mins of silence at the end which leads in to a filler song entitled faaip de oiad which is really really weird.

As you can see i didn't describe the spooky filler songs because they speak for themselves really. anyway this is my review for the greatest album ever. i hope you enjoy it!


user ratings (5050)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
MaynardJamesKeenan
June 15th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

please read it and tell me what you think. i know it isnt as good as many of yours but i still hope you enjoy it

Helvete
June 15th 2010


1354 Comments


fanboy much

Dre
June 15th 2010


297 Comments


Review is ok for a first.

Review is bad you're a troll.

scissorlocked
June 15th 2010


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's a plain a decent review man!!And I'm also a huge fan of tool so I like it!!!

However I dont think that Danny is better than bohnam.they are just different.

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

Helvete
June 15th 2010


1354 Comments


no its not a good review. u just like it cause he's sucking their collective dick just like you

for a start you need to re-read, put full-stops in the proper places to form actual sentences, capitalize your 'I's, and just generally use the grammar of planet Earth

MaynardJamesKeenan
June 15th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

whats your problem doombringer can you at least be helpful and thank you scissorlocked

Helvete
June 15th 2010


1354 Comments


my problem is your review. and I did help, learn2read

MaynardJamesKeenan
June 15th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

coming from the person who said learn2read

Dre
June 15th 2010


297 Comments


Yes, that is the joke

scissorlocked
June 15th 2010


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

hahahaha!!!Maybe you are right, but it is his first so being a dick wont be cool.

And whats this with all these toolfanboys hating??

Chill out everyone


Helvete
June 15th 2010


1354 Comments


Maybe you should read your own review. I'm really sorry but it looks like it was written by a 12 year old; which isn't a good thing.

scissorlocked
June 15th 2010


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Dre,is this a quilava on your picture??

Dre
June 15th 2010


297 Comments


Maybe he is 12 years old.

MaynardJamesKeenan
June 15th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

maybe beacuse i am 13

Fugue
June 15th 2010


7353 Comments


Review is pretty terrible if I'm honest. If you want to make it better then I highly suggest you step back and take a more objective look at the album. The following extracts are either hyperbolic, fanboyish or far too opinionated to be in a review, you might want to think of better ways to word them:

"They are probably my favorite band as you can see from my name."
"i could only dream of playing in such an irregular time signature"
"in my opinion he is probably the best singer ever only closely matched by james hetfield"
"my friend can't even play them drums on drums and he is a really good drummer! it is a known fact that danny carey is probably the best drummer of this generation and is even taught to be better than john bonham."


There are also far too many mistakes in terms of capitilization and grammar. Silly mistakes such as not capitalizing your I's make the piece look ameteur and make you look lazy, you should fix these ASAP.

Finally you should probably look to write in a different style to the track-by-track approach you've chosen here. Write about the music and use songs to back up your arguments, not the other way around! Even then if you decide you prefer a track-by-track analysis then you should put much more effort into your descriptions, I'm afraid " this song starts off with a great drum intro then kicks in with guitar. a really good song" doesn't really cut it at this site anymore.

MaynardJamesKeenan
June 15th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

how can you edit it?

Helvete
June 15th 2010


1354 Comments


if you're going to be a retard and ignore my advice, at least listen to mutatedfreek

MaynardJamesKeenan
June 15th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm trying to edit it but i don't know how. can yous top being an ass doombringer at least give me some good advise like mutatedfreak

porch
June 15th 2010


8459 Comments


This guy is trolling (quite subtly), stop feeding him guys

this is a parody of track by track reviews

4/10

Helvete
June 15th 2010


1354 Comments


yeah i really hope this is a troll



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy