Black Sabbath
Tyr


1.5
very poor

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
June 11th, 2010 | 31 replies


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Iommi and company are not done proving Black Sabbath officialy failed to exist past 1982.

Black Sabbath followed up one of their worst records, Headless Cross with Tyr, already their fifteenth album. Apart from bass player Laurence Cottle having been replaced by Neil Murray (Whitesnake), the line-up of the previous album remained intact, including vocalist Tony Martin who makes his third consecutive appereance with the group.

Tyr is somewhat conceptual and, as can be derived from the title, focuses on Norse mythology (Tyr is the Norse god of combat). Nice as that all may be, it is not even barely an improvement from the rather terrible Headless Cross. This album shares a great deal of the problems that its predecessor has, and is was effect equally ineffective in reviving Black Sabbath's career, even if it was just a little. As if Headless Cross wasn't already power metal-influenced (the bad sort) enough because of Martin's unnessecarily dramatic performance, this record takes things up a notch. Increased use of cheesy keyboards? Check. Meaningless interludes? Check. Lyrics about fantastical subjects? Check. Generic shredding solos? Check. The list goes on. Tyr turns Black Sabbath entirely into the power metal band it was never meant to be, and in fact, it can safely be said that anyone who doesn't know this is a Black Sabbath record prior to listening is not going to tell it is. The songs are still boring and fail to stand out in any good sense, making the album another big failure. Sabbath has strayed far from their glory days.

If nothing else, Tyr is more proof that Black Sabbath simply doesn't exist after Mob Rules. If they had quit after that album, their legacy would have remained untouched. Records such as this one, Born Again, Headless Cross and their last abomination Forbidden put a big stain on it, but at least not many groups can claim to have laid the blueprints for heavy metal and created three of it's finest records. Please. Stay away from this.

Tyr's Black Sabbath was:

- Frank Anthony 'Tony' Iommi ~ Lead Guitar
- Anthony Martin Harford ~ Vocals
- Philip Neil Murray ~ Bass Guitar
- Geoff Nichols ~ Keyboards
- Colin 'Cozy Powell' Flooks ~ Drums


TO BE CONTINUED…



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (319)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
James McDermott (4)
A new installment of Black Sabbath delivers an excellent album that boldly stands on its own against...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Your review was too short, it needs to be more than 3 paragraphs.

More Sabbath trash.

Meatplow
June 11th 2010


5524 Comments


I've heard good things about this album.

Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Then you've been misinformed.

Meatplow
June 11th 2010


5524 Comments


idk what it is but time and time again the Sabbath elitists I meet seem to claim Tony Martin era (meaning Headless Cross which I saw you review) along with this album are their personal favourites

it seems kind of trendy I don't get it

Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The other review for this is also surprisingly high, but if you look at this objectively, it's just utterly boring and generic, and certainly not what Sabbath, or Iommi for that matter, used to be capable of.

LepreCon
June 11th 2010


4088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice review, short but only because there really isn't much to be said about it, it's pretty woeful.
You should like Dehumanizer and possibly Cross Purposes, but you already know of the final abomination so we won't go there just yet. Pos'd

Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

short but only because there really isn't much to be said about it


Pretty much, yeah.

You should like Dehumanizer and possibly Cross Purposes


I've heard Dehumanizer quite some time ago already. Cross Purposes is pretty hit-or-miss, but much better than this and Headless Cross.

LepreCon
June 11th 2010


4088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cross Purposes is the only Tony Martin-era Sabbath I listen to with any frequency at all.
Dumanizer rules for Dio obvs

Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like TEI better than CP, actually. It's much more consistent.

And Dehumanizer is easily the best album they made in their later era.

LepreCon
June 11th 2010


4088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Actually yeah Eternal Idol rules almost forgot
But Dumanizer maaaaaaan ='D Can't wait for your review on that one

Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

First I'm going to return for a little more King Crimson, with whom I still have business in three albums.

LepreCon
June 11th 2010


4088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Then in that case I can wait

Nagrarok
June 11th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Won't be long though. After Crimson's Thrak I will get to Dehumanizer. As you've perhaps noticed, I swith between Crimson and Sabbath every time the line-up changes with either of the two, thus covering era by era.

LepreCon
June 11th 2010


4088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I noticed that indeed. In fact to get prepared I'm gonna go blast Dumanizer right now

vanderb0b
June 11th 2010


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't think this is as bad as you say, some of the songs are decent. It's still terribly generic and boring for the most part. Good review.

Dryden
June 11th 2010


12928 Comments


good review

EVedder27
June 11th 2010


6088 Comments


I like the short reviews for the low ratings, becase honestly there isn't much to say about something that isn't any good.

XulOnerom
June 12th 2010


1818 Comments


Never heard this or Headless Cross, but the thought of Black Sabbath attempting to do power metal is extremely disturbing.

Ire
June 12th 2010


41779 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I agree with the review



Nagrarok
June 12th 2010


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks all.

I like the short reviews for the low ratings, becase honestly there isn't much to say about something that isn't any good.


That's exactly why my (very) negative reviews tend to be shorties.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy