Cassette Kids
Nothing on TV


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
June 10th, 2010 | 40 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Finding a crowd-pleasing middle ground results in a promising debut.

Riding a fine line in attempting to incorporate every single genre imaginable (except metal, of course), the debut LP by Sydney quartet Cassette Kids does eventually find a crowd-pleasing middle ground. The listener immediately knows exactly what they are in for, since arresting synth stabs, jangly melodies, a pronounced bass-line and the polished female vocals of Katrina Noorbergen kick-starts excellent opener ‘Insomnia’. The cut also suggests a maturity beyond the band’s years, as they show a controlled manner in not entirely relying on the songs catchy chorus… No matter how addictive it is. And there are indeed a number of anthemic choruses evident on ‘Nothing on TV’; from lead single ‘Lying Around’ and the very recitable ‘Game Player’, all the way through to album highlight ‘Spin’.

Depending on if you prefer your glass half empty or half full, a few too many tracks either rely on a sole hook, or there is something to like in practically every song. There are no real stinkers here, but Cassette Kids have yet to perfect the extremities of their sound, whether it be the subtleties of a gentler cut (‘Coming Back’ & ‘Fatal Attraction’) or the eccentricities of an electro club banger (pretty much every track threatens to break out into one). Probably the main issue at play is the fact that ‘Nothing on TV’ stretches out to 14 tracks and 50 minutes, clearly spreading its strongest elements too thin by the time 11th track ‘Hey Baby’ passes on by. There is some variety attempted in snippets via a spoken word breakdown (‘Big Jerk’), heavily distorted vocals (the almost industrial influenced title track) and some quiet/loud dynamics (‘Wherever You Are’), but most of it ultimately feels a little unnatural.

Indie, post-punk, electro, rock, etc, etc, etc… There are elements of all of these genres evident on ‘Nothing on TV’. Predictably, it is not the most original offering you are likely to hear all year, since it borrows a little from here and a little from there, eventually falling somewhere in between a less ambitious Yeah Yeah Yeahs and a nowhere near as annoying version of The Ting Tings. What fundamentally makes Cassette Kids’ debut full-length release a winner however, is some good old-fashioned pop sensibilities. With the help of Van She’s Michael DiFrancesco on production duties, these kids know their way around a bright, infectious and energetic hook. At the very least, that results in a promising debut.

Recommended Tracks: Spin, Insomnia, Game Player & Lying Around.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

While I like listening to this album, I haven’t really been enthused to write about it… So I tried something more direct & to the point (ie: only 3 paragraphs).

This will probably be a 2.5 - 3 for most people, but it’s consistent enough, has a few genuinely catchy highlights and is promising for a debut.


AtavanHalen
June 10th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love these guys.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was wondering whether or not you were a fan of these guys DavID. I thought you might be.

I actually heard them play a song live the other day & Katrina surprised me a little with the raspiness in her voice. It's not apparent on this album (due to its slick production) & I wonder if it could have been utilised a little better for the sake of greater variety.

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2010


10433 Comments


thanks davey now i can't overtake the staff section with reviews

Digging: Tennis - Ritual In Repeat

AtavanHalen
June 10th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Get their old EPs CK, much rawer and much sexier music

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're still a machine Rudy. I call you the Klapatron100.

I'll have to do that DavID. It's only the one EP, isn't it? 'We Are'.

AtavanHalen
June 10th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We Are and Lying Around

Enotron
June 10th 2010


7695 Comments


theklapatron


I take offense to this.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
June 10th 2010


3768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, I was waiting for this to appear. These guys are tops at what they do, although they just miss the '3' boat by a split of patriotism and having seen them live.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

sgrevs
June 10th 2010


698 Comments


Ugh, band is boring. Pretty decent review.

BallsToTheWall
June 10th 2010


44407 Comments


Cool review. Myspacing now.

Digging: She Past Away - Belirdi Gece

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ta DavID. I thought that was just a single.

Sorry Eno. Didn't see your trademark.

I was a little slow with the review Alex, but I got there eventually. I may even do your next reco to me in a couple of weeks time. I was also initially leaning towards a 3. Unsure it was patriotism that pushed me over the line... More like I can't get that tune out of my head! What are they like live?

Hey sgrevs, let me spin another record for you baby.

Thanks Balls. Not sure this will be your thing, but let us know either way.

Enotron
June 10th 2010


7695 Comments


I grudgingly forgive you.

Thanks Balls


his username brings out the third grader in me

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This site brings out the 3rd grader in most.

AtavanHalen
June 11th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Everyone should definitely see these cunce live. Seeing them for the fourth time next Friday.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Are you ever at home and/or uni?

AtavanHalen
June 11th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Uni's over for the semester.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, but an ambitious nerd like you would surely be pre-studying for next semester.

AtavanHalen
June 11th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm a music journalist.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Everyone knows uni is all about the theory. Nothing practical can come of it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy