Spylacopa
Spylacopa EP


2.0
poor

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
June 7th, 2010 | 29 replies | 6,578 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oh Julie Christmas... What Have You Done?

4 of 5 thought this review was well written

Spylacopa are a supergroup consisting of Julie Christmas of Made out of Babies, Greg Puciato of The Dillinger Escape Plan, Jeff Caxide of Isis, and John LaMaccia of Candiria. Supergroups are not known for their habit of pulling the best of other bands together and Spylacopa is no exception.

Upon starting up the EP, you are attacked by Greg's signature vocals along with riffs that could have been on a Dillinger album. As disappointing to me as it was to hear the first song not differing much from his main project, I continued to listen, hoping there might be something better.

I was, for the most part, wrong. The whole album sounds like diet Dillinger mixed with a little Made out of Babies. Greg does most of the vocals on here, which is fairly annoying. That isn't to say that they are bad, but as a fan of Julie Christmas I do wish that I would have heard more out of her, especially because of how short this album is. Running only about a half hour, they don't have a lot of time to do anything and they don't use that short time very well. Halfway through the EP there is a song, "Together We Become Forever," and all it does is waste four minutes with an instrumental piece that comes off as a poor filler. That said, Jeff is an outstanding guitarist and the drums are tasteful. They just don't do enough to save the whole band.

As good as it seems on paper, Spylacopa just seems as failed attempt at merging the two singers' bands. It may seem as if I am just ranting, but I really did have high expectations for this band. Though they do nothing really original, it is an enjoyable listen once or twice. But if you are a fan of either band, beware. This isn't what you are expecting.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments




Oh and before you complain and neg, it is short on
purpose. We all know that the average attention span
of a sputniker is about 3 paragraphs anyway.

Eclectic
June 7th 2010



3302 Comments


Good review, I'll pos.

I honestly didn't mind this that much, though that's possibly because I haven't listened to much of the other bands its grown from.

We all know that the average attention span of a sputniker is about 3 paragraphs anyway.

Dude, most of us can stand the usual 5 and you know that.

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


Haha, I know. Just a joke ; )

Thanks for the pos. :D

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


...

Apollo
June 7th 2010



10290 Comments


good review, pos

unlike Eclectic, I gave a real pos!

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


haha thanks apollo

Apollo
June 7th 2010



10290 Comments


If I can offer one criticism, its kind of a short review. You have a good writing style and I'd like to see longer reviews. Read your review for Through the Eyes and found the same thing. I love Flaw btw and the review is good, could just use another 2 or 3 paragraphs ;)

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


tbh, i prefer short and sweet compared to long, drawn out, and repetitive reviews. I am aware that not all long reviews are like that, but its best avoided by being precise and concise

Apollo
June 7th 2010



10290 Comments


Fair enough. I prefer longer reviews but you make a good point for sure. Some albums deserve these longer, more informative reviews but others dont. Like I said, still a good job though.

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


thanks again. btw if you want to read longer reviews that i have done, go read the 'unexpect', 'battle of mice', and 'akphaezya' reviews that i wrote.

buckfutter
June 7th 2010



2164 Comments


Good review, muzik. Too bad your lists couldn't be as good as mine, but I'll let you be a better reviewer than me.

Nah, for realz, this is a great review. I somewhat disagree with the rating, but you had enough in the review to justify it. Have a pos, my friend.

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


much appreciated nick

Inveigh
June 7th 2010



24945 Comments


I like short reviews, and this one doesn't need much more being that it's a negative review (the short format works well for negative reviews in my book) and an EP. Pos'd.

There's really nothing I'd add or change either, sorry I gots no "constructive criticisms" for ya.

What does Julie do in this band if she's not doing many vocals?

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


Great I got a neg ^^

So who did it?


Anyway.. Thanks inviegh.

Inveigh
June 7th 2010



24945 Comments


I was your third pos broheem. so about that Julie Christmas..?

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


That's what irks me. She sings on like 1 song...then I don't know

Inveigh
June 7th 2010



24945 Comments


weird

Maniac!
June 7th 2010



26250 Comments


I don't mind the neg, but I'd like to know why I was negged.

Spec
June 7th 2010



27149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Together We Become Forever was awesome enough to move this EP up to a 2.5. Best instrumental ever!

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

JAV
June 7th 2010



1934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't think this was that bad, some of it works and some doesn't. It wasn't terrible though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy