Leech
The Stolen View


4.5
superb

Review

by Powerban USER (9 Reviews)
June 6th, 2010 | 24 replies | 7,852 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The feeling of weightlessness.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

You know when you listen to an album with no expectations whatsoever and it places your cognition into a transcendental state? This is that album. I thought I'd check them out via their Myspace site. I clicked on 'Silent State Optimizer' and let it play through until about two minutes in and it was one of those moments where I felt completely drawn to the unreality the album permeates. It is quite rare for post-rock to impress me upon a first listen.

I just had to get this.

Its simple eloquence is uplifting and at no moment was there awkwardness or dissatifaction as the album played through. Instead the eb and flow was like slowly floating down a stream after the rain has just stopped and the clouds were parting with the sun gracefully beaming down upon you. The guitar work is simple and instantly infatuating. The keyboards are pressed in all the right places and the drumming takes a backseat and directs each build-up smoothly.

This is post-rock.

Six songs, with four of them being around the ten minute mark or above somehow avoid overstaying their agenda. Nearly all post-rock these days includes a bunch of filler and you can never distinguish track names because they all sound the same. Sure this album doesn't reinvent the wheel but it does what its forefather taught it and supercedes his legacy. It reiterates the fact that simple sounding post-rock can be enjoyed beyond Explosions In The Sky and co while still being completely relevant.


It is actually quite hard to nail down another band who is similar to them though. While I stated that they play simple, their compositions are not. They walk their own path and aren't afraid to throw in a rock riff, laden with electronica. To state the case in fact 'Totem & Tabu' is the exact example of this, and is maybe their best song. It clocks in at over nineteen minutes and is definitely not afraid to bring the heaviness. The riffs in that song are memorable and will even get you bobbing your head straight away. Even if you haven't listened to post-rock, this album welcomes you in without needing to listen to it a thousand times to click. Veterans should not be swayed by that comment, as this album is quite simply the post-rock album you have been searching for.



Recent reviews by this author
Sinew The Beauty of ContrastSika Redem Entheogen
Fields of Locust SubtopiaAmenra Mass IIII
The Paper Chase Someday This Could All Be Yours Vol.1Tephra A Modicum Of Truth
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
June 7th 2010



14504 Comments


bm leech >

Powerban
June 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lies.

rasputin
June 7th 2010



14504 Comments


hav u evan herd dem?

tbh i havnt herd dis leech so i cunt tolkien

Dryden
June 7th 2010



12813 Comments


very disappointed thought this was the other leech for a second

Powerban
June 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah i haven't heard them actually. i really doubt i will like them more than this since this is nearly a 5. personal taste though.

i'm not really a bm fan. bm bands need to do something different to kinda get me interested. panopticon is great tho

rasputin
June 7th 2010



14504 Comments


if you like panopticon then you will like Leech - it's not like usual black metal, has a very folk-y feel to it and a very punk-y attitude. i advise you check out Ten Black Hymns.

bm Leech also has a lot of post rock influence in their later stuff, so you should def check out Against Leviathan! too, coz it's like post rock bm but not shitty

very disappointed thought this was the other leech for a second


http://diabolicalconquest.com/reviews/leech-ten_black_hymns_against_leviathan.htm

disappointment gone

Dryden
June 7th 2010



12813 Comments


awesome, thats a good review too. i have never checked out that site until right now.

megadeth101
June 7th 2010



865 Comments


yeah, that site is pretty cool.

Powerban
June 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'll check them out. this band is good tho guys, js

http://www.myspace.com/leechofficial

check it out. unless you totally hate post-rawk

rasputin
June 7th 2010



14504 Comments


well yeah, we know you think they're good, hence the review =P

i've been meaning to give them a listen but i never did in support of bm leech coz im cool like that. might do so soemtime

scotish
June 7th 2010



835 Comments


"instantly infactuating."

infatuating? album sounds awesome, great review too.

Powerban
June 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ahh, good eyes dude. There is always one little thing I miss when proof reading. I'll go fix that now.

SicTransitGloria23
June 7th 2010



4 Comments


I thought this review was well written. I have no idea about the band. But the review is good lol

Powerban
June 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bump for sexyness

Demagogue
June 10th 2010



54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review, very well written, definitely does this epic album justice.


Powerban
June 12th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks dude. Long Distance Calling are about the only band that is similar to these guys. If you like them, you should check these guys out.

masterofcum
June 12th 2010



428 Comments


this leech is pretty standard post rock

Powerban
June 12th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

standard as in it does it right.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2010



6956 Comments


Standard, trite, brings nothing new to the table, post-rock is dead etc.

I feel like I can't give any new post-rock I hear above a 3.5 . I've gotten sick of this genre, which is sad since it was my favorite genre about a year ago.
I'll just be sticking with the essentials I love right now.

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

Powerban
June 15th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bet you listened to it once and formed your opinion. but that's what this site is about, opinions. reading chans blogs and deciding that any new post-rock sucks etc.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy