Tobacco
Maniac Meat


4.0
excellent

Review

by C.F. USER (19 Reviews)
June 4th, 2010 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Well played Mr. Fec

A few years ago, Tom Fec’s moniker Tobacco started making some really sugary, really summery and really trippy music with his band Black Moth Super Rainbow. With his voiced masked by a vocoder backed by hip-hop drum beats and chillwave synth lines the music proved to be very distant and non-engaging, which was not necessarily a bad thing. This was music that you could put on in the background to sit around and clear your head. However, this niche that he held did nothing for its longevity. By the time BMSR released their 4th album entitled Eating Us last year it started to get a tad old. Not to say that it was bad, it just had no surprises and seemed quite formulaic. With that, Mr. Fec had a choice to either go for a different sound on Maniac Meat or play it safe and make another Dandelion Gum. He wisely chose the former.

Whereas an album like Dandelion Gum can be described as staring into an open grassy field in 80 degree weather with a stick of rock candy in your mouth, Maniac Meat can be described as taking that rock candy and using it as a cue tip; grating, yet so sugary. The setup has stayed the same (vocoder, hip-hop beats, 80’s synths) but the way in which he uses it has changed drastically by experimenting as a more in-your-face songwriter. This is no longer background music. Right off the bat with the opening song Constellation Dirtbike Head, Tobacco quickly engages you with a heavy, driving beat as his vocoder enhanced voice hums trademarked BMSR/Tobacco lines like “Feel the day, the hottest day. Don’t eat the berries around you” to make his regular listeners feel at home, despite such an obvious sound change. As if that did not convince the listener of his apparent sound alteration, the very next track, Fresh Hex, he summons Beck to throw down some disjointed and chopped up yet attention grabbing rhymes.

Everything about this album is just raunchier and places the listener in a heavy and fuzzier atmosphere. It seems like every beat is more phat (see Sweatmother), every tone is dirtier (see TV All Greasy) and Tobacco’s voice is even more mutated (see Heavy Makeup) than anything that he has done before. This change that Tobacco has made may not appeal to a much wider fan base or make any converts, but it certainly gives the existing fan base something different to listen to if they so choose.



Recent reviews by this author
The Leather Nun Slow DeathMerchandise After The End
Merchandise / Destruction Unit / Milk Music USA 13 SplitScreaming Females What If Someone Is Watching Their TV?
Milk Music Cruise Your IllusionDicks Hate the Police
user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2010


17224 Comments


good shit

WeepingBanana
June 4th 2010


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i'm diggin' this pretty hard right about now

Big Baby Jesus
August 6th 2010


549 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love fucked up friends, so MY expectations of this album were high. I'm not crazy about it, but it might have to grow on me.

First impression is that most of the songs sound the same. But that's not necessarily a bad thing

WeepingBanana
August 6th 2010


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

admittedly they do but this album is certainly different and any other of his stuff

WeepingBanana
August 6th 2010


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm. in the past i've really just given fucked up friends a cursory listen so i'll have to devote a good part of my day to just tobacco's catalog to really make up my mind.

it just seems like this is less passive than anything he's done

cbmartinez
January 17th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is mindblowingly good. his first one is a little better but this shit is so different and inventive and just awesome

acorncheese
January 17th 2011


7119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSS BABYDOLL

cbmartinez
January 17th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i never understood that criticism, I read that a lot about fucked up friends. his beats have so much diversity

cbmartinez
January 17th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'd rather not compare it to bmsr cause I think he's doing something way different here. the diversity on this album is pretty ridiculous. "TV All Greasy" has that fuzzy flylo intro, he has the straight pop song "Six Royal Vipers," the Beck features are ridiculous. "Creepy Phone Calls" is the best beat he's ever done.

WeepingBanana
January 17th 2011


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol when i first heard this i listened to it like twice a day for 2 weeks or something. i need to do that again

acorncheese
January 18th 2011


7119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"this isn't as good as i thought it would be

fresh hex got me way more excited then i should have been"

I can see how that happened. Best song on the album by a mile.

Anthracks
May 9th 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

filthy delicious

Digging: Ariel Pink - Pom Pom

Anthracks
May 11th 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ugh the beck songs on here are the worst by far

Anthracks
May 11th 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you care about my ratings a lot

Anthracks
May 11th 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

is that a lie you tell yourself or a lie that you're telling me

Anthracks
October 31st 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album needs more luv SO FILTHY



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy