Saving Abel
Miss America


2.0
poor

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
June 3rd, 2010 | 165 replies | 17,487 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More of the same… Right down to the album cover.

It is never a good sign when a band is arguably best known for having a close-up of a jean-clad female backside on their album cover. If this is not the claim to fame of Mississippi quintet Saving Abel, then it is probably that they included the lyric “I’m so addicted to all the things you do, when you’re going down on me in between the sheets” on their very first single. Somewhere, Nickelback’s Chad Kroeger was contemplating litigation for gimmick infringement! Yet, the band’s self-titled debut LP was a strange beast; predominantly neglecting the chest-thumping post-grunge / hard-rock hybrid it suggested, for unmemorable mid-tempo radio-rock cuts and power ballads.

Two years down the track and it seems that Saving Abel have not progressed all that much on follow-up album ‘Miss America’. What appears to be a ditzy blonde in a revealing American flag styled dress adorns the cover art, the lead single is titled ‘Stupid Girl (Only In America)’ and the rumored second single is called ‘The Sex Is Good’! Thankfully, the solid and sufficiently catchy title track is not about a beauty pageant, but turns out to be a play on words inspired by the band’s tour of the Persian Gulf for the USO/Armed Forces Entertainment.

Similarly to their debut, ‘Miss America’ starts out in poor fashion. Opener ‘Tap Out’ actually begins promisingly with 80 seconds of distorted instrumental build-up which suggests something more ambitious than expected. But as soon as lead vocalist Jared Weeks opens his mouth, Saving Abel begin to tread the same ground that bands like Papa Roach did a decade ago. You know the type of stuff; “Take your best shot at me… You got something to say, then say it to my face”. The aforementioned lead single also ploughs familiar territory, while the strange Southern ballad of sorts that is the horrendously titled ‘The Sex Is Good’ will not do much for anyone other than those looking for a tender moment in a strip club somewhere in Hicksville, U.S.A.

Saving Abel fare best when keeping it simple and concentrating on melodic hard rock, which they do a couple of times here on ‘Contagious’ and the especially rocking ‘Bloody Sunday’. However, they only hit a home run once and - again similar to their debut – it is on an emotive power ballad. Those who saw potential in the band off the back of their third ever single ‘Drowning (Face Down)’ will also be pleased with ‘I’m Still Alive’; a cut which mainstream rock radio is certain to devour. Infused with strings and acoustic guitar, Weeks gives his best performance to date on this track, nicely conveying emotion and strength. It is just a shame that this cannot be reproduced elsewhere on ‘Miss America’, as Saving Abel strike out on standard grungy Southern rock which is indistinguishable from hundreds of lesser-known bands doing the rounds.

What Saving Abel have gained with greater variety and balance on ‘Miss America’, they have lost on catchiness. It is really the only steps the band have taken second time around, with pretty much everything else remaining stagnant. The guitar-work once more provides a solid back-bone to most tracks without a great deal of technicality… A solo is thrown in here and there to effectively break things up… The rhythm section is dependable, but otherwise nondescript... The sound is dated and there is a clear lack of experimentation and ambition. It’s just all so mind-numbingly predictable. Quite simply, it’s more of the same… Right down to the album cover.

Recommended Tracks: I’m Still Alive & Bloody Sunday.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (60)
Chart.
1.7
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If you’re at all interested in this band, whatever you rated their debut is likely to be the rating you give to this follow-up.

cvlts
June 3rd 2010


8954 Comments


me and my buds blast their s/t once awhile every hot day. its entertaining and i'll probably think this is the same.

oh, and I must say, as an American, I f*cking love that album art haha

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The thing is though, there are so many other rather similar bands that do it better.

BTW, this is out next Tuesday the 8th.

Emim
June 3rd 2010


26621 Comments


Sex is good. Who would've thought?!

I wonder what else I have missed out on...

eternium
June 3rd 2010


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I hate this band. So annoying. Fuck, I'm going to rate this low even though I haven't heard it.

cvlts
June 3rd 2010


8954 Comments


Very true, Davey. I'm guilty of enjoying bands such as these, even if its severely frowned upon on this website.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Emim, Saving Abel could teach you a lot. For example, if you were an American sent to the middle east, you would miss America.

Come on eternium, only rate after listening... Then again, you could end up lowering that rating.

TLiG, I enjoy hard-rock/post-grunge as well. But it's gotta have something more... Whether it be more catchy, memorable, heavy... Whatever. It's carefree fun though, I guess.

Mordecai.
June 3rd 2010


8278 Comments


dear lord these guys suck

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Mordecai, there is no need to call me "lord".

Mordecai.
June 3rd 2010


8278 Comments


divine davyboy, these guys suck

Emim
June 3rd 2010


26621 Comments


I would not miss Saving Abel though.

ninjuice
June 3rd 2010


6760 Comments


I'm so ADDICTED TO....

At least the cover is better. Butts are overrated.

eternium
June 3rd 2010


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Just reading the song names, I can safely assume that they are all about sex, partying, and drinking with a few sappy love ballads that the chicks will like.
I especially despise bands that use this formula. '80s glam, Nickleback, Buckcherry..

tiesthatbind
June 3rd 2010


7374 Comments


Good review, DaveyBoy. Your review sounds 100% accurate. I'll listen to this, just for giving a rating, but I imagine a 2 sounds just about right if this is exactly like the debut.

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

cvlts
June 3rd 2010


8954 Comments


Just reading the song names, I can safely assume that they are all about sex, partying, and drinking with a few sappy love ballads that the chicks will like.


sounds like a 3 to me haha

Emim
June 3rd 2010


26621 Comments


1 it, bro

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"divine davyboy" I am not related to Bette Midler.

"I'm so ADDICTED TO...." people are gonna hate you for getting that line stuck in their head.

"At least the cover is better. Butts are overrated." hehe. Steven is a T man.

"I can safely assume that they are all about sex, partying, and drinking with a few sappy love ballads that the chicks will like." The latter is true, but strangely enough the lyrical content is a little more diverse this time around.

80's glam was great... In the 80's.

tiesthatbind
June 3rd 2010


7374 Comments


Nah, as crappy as this'll be, I doubt it's a straight 1. Drowning (Face Down) from the debut was actually a good song.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Good review, DaveyBoy. Your review sounds 100% accurate. I'll listen to this, just for giving a rating, but I imagine a 2 sounds just about right if this is exactly like the debut."

Yeah, I saw your comments on their debut & they were pretty spot on. I am almost certain you will be around the 2 mark here again. You'll love 'I'm Still Alive' though... It's probably better than 'Drowning'!


Mordecai.
June 3rd 2010


8278 Comments


wait, you AREN"T Bette Midler?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy