Attack Attack! (US)
Attack Attack!


2.5
average

Review

by ANewTypeOfPunk USER (12 Reviews)
June 2nd, 2010 | 83 replies | 5,635 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Breaking free of the burden known as Austin Carlile, Attack Attack step it up slightly with their new(ish) frontman Caleb Shomo.

1 of 8 thought this review was well written

Many of you have heard of AA! Probably because you or one of your friends saw the ridiculous music video to the song Stick Stickly, which sprung them a small amount of fame due to their excessive use of their live moves, (which so happen to appear as Crabs Moving back and fourth) which then possible brought you to their debut album Someday Came Suddenly, which in no way was a DISASTER like some people said it was, but it could've been better.

A few years later brought numerous member changes with the main vocalist, until they decided to screw getting a new guy, lets just bring the fat guy who can do lows up front. Thus their sophomore release (self titled) came into creation. AA! broke free of cheesy beats, and stupid auto-tuned vocals, and went in a more metalcore-ish direction. With Caleb bringing a more metalcore feel to the band with his lows, and the guitarist and bassist using mostly dissonance, the album has a close similarity to the band For The Fallen Dreams. Which isn't such a bad thing, especially when there's been an overuse of the poppy post-hardcore bands "cough cough *Sleeping With Sirens* cough cough"

The drums are solid, with Andrew pounding away at the double bass kick constantly, and bringing it home with the constant breakdowns. Sure they're not original in anyway, but it's catchy, and catchy sells. So can you blame them for exploiting all the brainless scene kids? I can. But regardless this album is pretty enjoyable, with catchy choruses and brutal riffs.

The clean vocals is where the band improved most. No more will you cringe at the sound of irritating auto-tuned vocals, as on this album it's still used, yet less noticeable and talentless (Johnny actually seems to posses talent at singing, I think we're all surprised with that fact).

Anyways if you're a fan of any metalcore band, check this album out. It's generic but fun to listen to.



Recent reviews by this author
My Ticket Home The Opportunity To BeTom Caruana Enter the Magical Mystery Chambers
Bring Me The Horizon There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen ItScarlett O'Hara Lost In Existence
The Word Alive EmpireAddison Closer To Home
user ratings (838)
Chart.
2.3
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Homewrecker
June 2nd 2010



231 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Man you called out Sleeping With Sirens AND gave this a 3? Wow

Foxhound
June 2nd 2010



4570 Comments


Why aren't more people rating this a 1.5?

dansxdead
June 2nd 2010



438 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Sleeping With Sirens>>>>>>>>this

TheSpirit
June 2nd 2010



16666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty bad review. Doesn't really talk about the music. I don't really even care about the rating, because it's not as horrible as expected, but if you're going to give an album like this a good rating, be prepared to sufficiently back it up.

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

ThePalaceOfWisdom
June 2nd 2010



1134 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

if you're a fan of any metalcore band, check this album out. It has all the main elements of a solid metalcore album, and a few dubstep and techno beats thrown in to the mix.


lol.

Waior
June 2nd 2010



11421 Comments


i feel like there's going to be 5 reviews or so before i post mine

8bit
June 2nd 2010



3315 Comments



and bringing it home with the constant breakdowns.

gwwwwwwwwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

TheSpirit
June 2nd 2010



16666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

aw that's not fair, now i that i know caleb is posting his why bother

Waior
June 2nd 2010



11421 Comments


try it sir

bloc
June 2nd 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I wonder who McSwagger is

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2010



20830 Comments


"i feel like there's going to be 5 reviews or so before i post mine"

Yeah, but you'll be the only one rating it as "classic" Caleb.

Relinquished
June 2nd 2010



22425 Comments


spirit with a 2.5 lol

bloc
June 2nd 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I would think a 3 from Spirit at least.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2010



30316 Comments


if you're a fan of any metalcore band, check this album out. It has all the main elements of a solid metalcore album, and a few dubstep and techno beats thrown in to the mix.



lol.

x2, I mean really wtf reviewer?

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

PanasonicYouth
June 2nd 2010



7410 Comments


it's pretty bad but not nearly as bad as i expected

TheSpirit
June 2nd 2010



16666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gtfo relinquished i am a man of of teh muzik and yeah gonna lower my rating, there is too much bullshit on this i mean c'mon guys i am let down here. The three best songs were the ones they put on myspace!

HenchmanOfSanta
June 2nd 2010



1664 Comments


This review is a mediocre, but 0 for 5 it should not be.

Relinquished
June 2nd 2010



22425 Comments


u ghey bro?

TheSpirit
June 2nd 2010



16666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

idk wanna fight about it? geez can a man not listen to black metal and cool ambient and death metal and stuffz like that and indulge in a few things like this? jeez bro


no but seriously, i'm ashamed of my rating

botb
June 2nd 2010



9288 Comments


the singer has homo in his name ffs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy