Sylosis
Conclusion of an Age


5.0
classic

Review

by Jacob Gudge USER (2 Reviews)
June 2nd, 2010 | 148 replies | 25,451 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An outstanding release by an excellent and promising band that is leading a revival of classic thrash, but with a modern twist.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

I discovered Sylosis a year ago, after being told about them by a friend who had seen them at Sonisphere Festival 2009. As I wasn't fully accepting of extreme metal (I am now), after hearing the name of the band, I was sceptical. However, when I first heard 'After Lifeless Years', I was immediately hooked. I went on to buy their debut album, and I absolutely loved it.

Sylosis are a British band who play technically profficient thrash metal melded with elements of progressive metal and melodic death metal, and this formula works perfectly on CONCLUSION OF AN AGE. From the ambient introduction of DESOLATE SEAS, and the brutal explosion of thrash that it AFTER LIFELESS YEARS, to the intricate melodies of OATH OF SILENCE, Sylosis bring a relentless onslaught of metal. Traces of the thrash of METALLICA, TESTAMENT and SEPULTURA are laced throughout the album, as well as the progressive tendencies of DEATH and OPETH, the melodicism of SOILWORK and DARKANE and even some of the atmosphere and black metal high-pitched screaming of DIMMU BORGIR and EMPEROR. Sylosis include many different influences as well as the thrash basis which make this the perfect metal album.

The instrumentation on this album is outstanding. Josh Middleton and Alex Bailey's guitars are simply masterful. In my opinion Josh Middleton could be one the best metal guitarists the world has seen. He blends technical complexity with melodicism in a way I have never heard before. Rob Callard's drumming on this record is incredible, and he manages to keep up with the guitars with ease, providing a never ending bass roll that surely makes this record brutal. The bass guitar manages not be drowned out by the guitars, and there are some interesting bass lines from Carl Parnell. Jamie Graham blends the vocals of thrash metal, death metal and even black metal perfectly well, and unleashes a furious attack of growls, shouts and blood-curdling screams (but not the metalcore kind). The lyrics are very well written, dwelling on the subject of how humans are destroying the earth, and how the earth will eventually fight back. This theme, to me, is a thoroughly interesting one and gives this album a sense of continuity. The clean vocals are solid, nothing special but don't have any faults, and are incorporated into the song-structures at the right times.

Of course, the entire album is wonderful, but there are a few tracks that definately stand out among the others. AFTER LIFELESS YEARS is one of the best tracks on the album, and is a brilliant introduction to the rest of the album, and if Sylosis released singles, this would be one of them. SWALLOW THE WORLD is my favourite track on the album, and it makes clear exactly what Sylosis are about, with a progressive intro followed by an attack of thrashy riffs combined with melodicism, the perfect Sylosis song. My third favourite would have to be LAST REMAINING LIGHT, a 7:37 epic which contains probably the best solo in the album.

I urge anyone who listens to metal to buy this album. They are probably one of the most underrated bands and deserve to be revered as one of Britain's great metal bands (Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath, Motorhead etc). I see this album in the future being revered as a classic, so please, check this out, you will not be dissapointed.


user ratings (392)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
The Green Scarf Bandit of Italy (4.5)
An unexpectedly awesome release from the band that couldn't pick a genre....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Born2kill
June 2nd 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review (no mention of the clean vocals?) agree on the whole, its the riffs that make it a classic for me, The Blackest Skyline is pretty epic.

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, I wanted to say about The Blackest Skyline aswell but tbh the whole album is magnificent. I did say about the clean vocals at the end of the third paragraph, I didn't say much, but the clean vocals aren't a main part of the music. Thanks, it good to have good feedback, and good to hear that someone loves this album as much as I do :D

KILL
June 2nd 2010



71134 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

um no

Digging: David Axelrod - Song of Innocence

FadeToBlack
June 2nd 2010



10913 Comments


omg two 5's on one page

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Um yes

FadeToBlack
June 2nd 2010



10913 Comments


try to avoid the use of the first person in reviews. it's acceptable in the introduction, but you've literally just gone "I did this, I did that, I heard this, I like this" etc.

instead of capitalizing track/album names, use bold or italics. caps look clunky and unprofessional.

Get rid of the final part in brackets, it's just asking for trouble.

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good point about capitalising, I don't know how to do bold or italics outside of word, so that why I capitalised it, and the final part was simply because I got a lot of stick for my last review's rating, and don't want people to judge the review on it's rating. Ill get rid of it if it won't do any good. I see what you mean about the first person, bit too informal.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2010



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

welcome to the site! Not a bad review here, but there are some things that can surely be improved upon.

First, get rid of the redundant first paragraph and the final sentence which you have in brackets. Both of those things are redundant to the review/reader, and if you feel like you need to post them, put them in the comments.

Secondly, don't capitalize band names and song titles. Put the song titles into quotes and regarding band names, just write them out normally, with a capital letter.

Then there is sentence-flow, but it is something that will come with practice and experience (believe me, I was pretty damn terrible when I first started out). Example:

Josh Middleton and Alex Bailey's guitars are simply masterful.
just say "Josh Middleton and Alex Bailey's guitar playing is masterful", to avoid confusion.

Don't use first person view when reviewing. It looks a bit unprofesssional and is also kinda of boring to read for some. Rather try to be informative, not personal. Also, you do not need to say "In my opinion", or "to me" in your review. This is your review, it already is your own opinion.

Also, try to check for superfluous sentence parts. Example:
SWALLOW THE WORLD is my favourite track on the album, and it makes clear exactly what Sylosis are about, with a progressive intro followed by an attack of thrashy riffs combined with melodicism, the perfect Sylosis song.
the "the perfect Sylosis song." part is once again redundant, you don't really need to use it as you already make it clear that it's the best song with the first part of your sentence. Plus, it just sounds clumsy at the end there. (PS: the sentence should also be broken up. There should be a period, instead of a comma, after the word "about". You would also need to start the new sentence with something better than you have now, maybe something like "It starts with a progressive intro, followed by... etc.)

Also, just a heads-up - you might want to edit this review and not call this thrash metal, as it clearly isn't. Sure, it is thrashy, but to call this a thrash record is pushing it. Just a suggestion, because otherwise the local thrash-heads might tear you apart ;).

OK this looks like a lot, but I can safely say my first reviews were a lot crappier. Take the advice and your reviews should be on the upswing.

FadeToBlack
June 2nd 2010



10913 Comments


They are probably one of the most underrated bands and deserve to be refered as Britain's greatest metal band since Iron Maiden.
I'm not going to dispute whether Sylosis deserve that title, but with this one fell swoop you have dismissed every great British metal band formed since Iron Maiden; My Dying Bride, Carcass, Paradise Lost, Anathema etc. whether you meant to do that or not, to someone just skimming through it looks like you're not very well informed on british metal. just a though

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Im not denying these bands, Paradise Lost in particular I think are great, Im just making a point. In the opinion of many, these bands havent matched Iron Maiden. I never dismissed them, because they are all great, I was just emphasising Sylosis' potential.

FadeToBlack
June 2nd 2010



10913 Comments


you're not emphasising they're potential, you're grossly exaggerating it. that's a very dangerous thing to do in a review, cause it makes it look like it has been written by a fanboy, and hence unprofessional.

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for the help Metalstyles, obviously quite a bit to work on, but it will be a challenge.

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A fair point, how would you suggest I change it then. Im not a fanboy, I wrote this unbiased and if I come across as one, how should I correct it.

Reeke
June 2nd 2010



61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pitty their singers been booted out, they were good live both times ive seen them.

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah its a shame Jamie left but Josh is doing vocals on the second record, and he sounds epic, judging
from their studio update. Never knew he could do that.

bloc
June 2nd 2010



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Album ROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLZ

Digging: Messiah - Choir of Horrors

lobby
June 2nd 2010



1251 Comments


i think this band can't be said to be the best since iron maiden if they have only one LP and one EP. Both of them are terrific, but nonetheless, they dont have the consistent discography to back up such claims.

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's not quite what i meant. What I meant is that in the future they could be that great. They have the potential. Anyway, bad example, but someone like The Sex Pistols only released one album ever and are very influencial (even though I don't like them). The amount of albums released isn't that important. You do make a good point though.

jingledeath
June 2nd 2010



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i don't think i would enjoy this at all if i listened again

JacobGudge
June 2nd 2010



56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really, why? You not enjoy it the first time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy