Danko Jones
Below The Belt


4.0
excellent

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
May 16th, 2010 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Loud, ballsy, cocky, dirty, rockin’ - Below The Belt is rock music just the way we love it

Is catchy, loud, humorous rock music your cup of tea? Are you tired of hearing Chad Kroeger sing lifeless sex-innuendo songs like "Something In Your Mouth", wishing that, for the love of god, you could actually hear some good sex-drenched hard rock from the radio? Are you looking for a good time? Are you fond of sex, and if you are, do you like having sex to music? If you answered "yes" to all those questions, Danko Jones is undoubtedly the band for you.

The band have been playing their dirty love/sex-based brand of rock music for almost 15 years already, and as seen on Below The Belt, they aren't going to change nor let up any time soon. In fact, Below The Belt is one of this year's biggest surprises, featuring a very strong collection of modern rock songs with a sprinkle of retro to them. The band have dropped the (very) minor punk influence they had on two previous records, Sleep Is The Enemy and Never Too Loud, and have once again (like in the past) aimed for a more heavy, balls-out rock 'n' roll sound, which obviously isn’t a bad thing as it’s what Danko Jones do best – sleazy rock music for people who like having fun.

Danko Jones somehow have the ability to sound fresh and interesting on every record they make, and Below The Belt is no exception. Yes, the riffs are simple, the chord progressions minor, and the rest of the band is entirely dependant on leadman Danko’s swagger, vocals and fronting abilities, but none of it matters because of one concrete reason – these guys simply rock. "Entirely addictive" is the best description one could ever give to them. Much like AC/DC 30 years ago, Danko Jones have found a comfortable niche for themselves and in that cosy corner of theirs, they are absolute kings.

Blending the sounds of old and new, Danko Jones have crafted another loud and fun rock record. Kicking up both the tempo and aggresiveness, Below The Belt is more than a welcome addition to Danko Jones’ discography; it is also quite possibly the best straightforward rock record of the year so far. With a strong sexual meaning behind the lyrics and a fun, catchy, yet relentless sound, Below The Belt is either the perfect road album, the perfect radio album, or the perfect album to make love to if you’re too lazy to do the dirty talk yourself.



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Asiatic667
May 16th 2010


4648 Comments


summary tells me all I need to know

Ponton
Emeritus
May 16th 2010


5793 Comments


sun-drenched*


really good and concise, man. You are getting very good at the right-to-the-point reviews. pos

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2010


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sex-drenched ;). I did get what you were implying to though, and fixed it. Thank you very much btw

Ponton
Emeritus
May 16th 2010


5793 Comments


no prob, was going more on the drenced to drenched part

so are these guys pretty popular, as far as radio singles go?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2010


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

semi-popular I'd say, especially in Europe (ironically not that much in the North America as far as I know). They could be pretty huge though, if given the right opportunities.

Ponton
Emeritus
May 16th 2010


5793 Comments


Cool, yeah I hadn't heard of them here, but the youtube tracks I checked out seemed pretty radio friendly and could be successful

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2010


7395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. Danko is such a badass on this cd. Screw your girl at the back of my cadillac... etc.

After I'd heard Full Of Regret for the first time, I secretly wished for a straight stoner rock album from theirs this time around. Instead, (with the exception of Active Volcanoes and aforementioned Full Of Regret) this sounds like a rehash of their old material. Still, it's totally addictive as you've pointed out. Pos'd


Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Blindsided
May 16th 2010


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, I'll check it out.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2010


20857 Comments


Sensational review Magnus. Worthy of a pos & makes me want to listen to it. I'd love a dollar for every time I've told myself to listen to these guys.

A very efficient review, although I would have added one sentence on a standout track or two.

MassiveAttack
May 16th 2010


2688 Comments


Stop using words you don't understand Davey =D. As always its a "sensational review", bwuhahahahahha.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2010


20857 Comments


Be quiet you. All fired up for the Wolrd Cup? bwuhahahahahha.


Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2010


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you guys and glad to see some people checking this one out.

MassiveAttack
May 17th 2010


2688 Comments


Low blow man, low blow.

JetpackMusic
May 19th 2010


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Intense, aggressive and just plain fun to listen to. Great review.

Nagrarok
May 22nd 2010


8256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Are you tired of hearing Chad Kroeger sing lifeless sex-innuendo songs like "Something In Your Mouth", wishing that, for the love of god, you could actually hear some good sex-drenched hard rock from the radio?


YES!

Album seems fun, I will check it out this weekend if I can. And pos'd, of course.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Nag and yeah, I figured you would probably enjoy this.

gocsa666
May 23rd 2010


125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Now that's great rock 'n' roll, no wonder Lemmy is friends with these guys.

Nagrarok
May 24th 2010


8256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album sounds exactly as expected. I Think Bad Thoughts is by far the best track here.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2010


7395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I Think Bad Thoughts really? I think Active Volcanoes ftw. Magic Snake and Full Of Regret - follow-ups

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2010


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm gonna go with Nag on this one, "I Think Bad Thoughts" really is spectacular. The whole album is excellent though, all the tracks are great or even better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy