Dethklok
The Dethalbum


4.0
excellent

Review

by vanderb0b USER (63 Reviews)
May 15th, 2010 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unlike most parodies or satires, Dethklok's debut feels thought-out and the music within can compete with almost any "serious" contemporary metal band.

Take a moment now, and think of every metal cliche you've ever heard. To name a few, poorly spelled band names, band members with shady backgrounds, lyrics about violent death, and growled vocals singing octaves lower than previously thought possible. If one were to mix all of these components together, they would get a band not dissimilar to Dethklok. Even though the band warmly embraces metal cliches, chances are, there are no albums quite like Dethklok's The Dethalbum. Undoubtedly, many bands combine death metal with melody, and quite a few try to add humor to their music, but few do it as successfully as Dethklok.

There are two components to a satirical band: the humor and the music. What separates Dethklok from almost every other humorous band is that either component of Dethklok's music is strong enough to stand alone. There is a deservedly successful show, Metalocalypse, based on the fictional exploits of the band, and even without the strong lyrical effort aiding it, the music found on this album would bevery strong.

The stronger aspect of The Dethalbum is undoubtedly the lyrics. Throughout the album, one can hear singer Nathan Explosion contemplating murdering a mermaid, summoning the ancient troll Mustakrakish, threatening to take over the listener's face with his Hatredcopter, and calling his fans "brainless mutants". The album is consistently hilarious and is filled with many references to Metalocalypse that will delight fans of the show. It should be noted that to appreciate the humor, one must not necessarily watch the show, but they will not understand many of the more entertaining jokes.

Musically, The Dethalbum is surprisingly competent, especially when compared to other parodies. Songs such as the crushing, pulverizing, Cannibal Corpse-esque Briefcase Full Of Guts perfectly complement meteoric pieces such as the hypnotic, driving Awaken or the slab of savage, monstrous, caustic death metal known as Face Fisted. There are also some very ambitious pieces scattered throughout Dethklok's debut album. For example, in Thunderhorse, one of the band's most entertaining songs, the only vocals are a background chant of
"Ride, Ride, Thunder, Horse, Thunder, Horse, Ride, Ride"
and so the piece stands only on the musical and compositional ability of the band. Another highlight, Dethharmonic sees the band playing with a philharmonic orchestra, to much success. The intertwining thundering drums (courtesy of human drum-machine, Gene Hoglan), battering guitars, and slow, melancholy violins make this one of the better death metal songs in recent memory.

Unfortunately, the songwriting sags at times and shows signs of immaturity. Both of these problems would be fixed on the bands second album the creatively-titled Dethalbum II. Despite these small flaws, The Dethalbum is a very strong album remains one of the strongest parody albums of the decade, and is arguably the best satire of or homage to death metal in recent memory.



Recent reviews by this author
Alfred Schnittke Gogol SuiteSoundtrack (Theatre) Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Soundtrack (Theatre) Avenue Q - Original Broadway CastAJJ People Who Can Eat People are the Luckiest People
Ulcerate The Destroyers of AllCamille Saint-Saens Danse macabre, Op.40
user ratings (741)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
The_RabidMonkey (3.5)
Brendon Small proves that his talents go beyond television with his guitar, bass, and vocal work. G...


Comments:Add a Comment 
vanderb0b
May 15th 2010


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll probably do the entire Dethklok discography, seeing that it's pretty short.

rogerdiscoversherpes
May 15th 2010


34 Comments


I think the show is pretty piss-poor, but this sounds entertaining. Nice review, btw.

bloozclooz
May 15th 2010


1770 Comments


funniest thing i've ever seen from that show is when the went to the first black metal store, and they're like: "where's the dethklok albums?"

i lol'd

vanderb0b
May 15th 2010


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks.

@roger

If you dislike the show's humor, then I'd recommend listening to the Deathalbum II before this. It's stronger musically and a bit more serious.



@bloozclooz

I didn't see too much of the show, only a few episodes, but I liked "Cristal Mountain Records", that made me laugh

Ire
May 15th 2010


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gtfo

ShadowRemains
May 15th 2010


24774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

INSIDE CRYSTAL MOUNTAIN



EVIL TAKES IT'S FORM




awesome, motherfuckin song

ShadowRemains
May 15th 2010


24774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

chuck would be disgusted by your lack of comprehension!

Ire
May 15th 2010


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

MISANTHROPE HATER OF ALL MANKIND UGHHHHHHHHH CHUCK SINGS LIKE THIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIS

ShadowRemains
May 15th 2010


24774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

chuck is telling me that Ire should rate Human and The Sound of Perseverance...

Ire
May 15th 2010


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a 1/5 out of 5 out of 1

ShadowRemains
May 15th 2010


24774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

...lolwut...

Ire
May 15th 2010


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

done.



i rated dem boaf

ShadowRemains
May 15th 2010


24774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

:D win

Ire
May 15th 2010


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

boaf

zaruyache
May 15th 2010


17700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

You spent half of the review talking about the lyrics and how it's a great parody, and only in the last few paragraphs do you begin talking about the actual music. Other than that, decent review.



There are two components to a parody band: the humor and the music.



Except that this isn't really a parody CD at all; Brendon Small takes his music seriously.

vanderb0b
May 15th 2010


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@zaruyache

I think that the lyrics are as, if not more, important than the music on this album, but I see your point. Also, I didn't mean that Small doesn't take his music seriously, I meant that the album is satirical and humorous, I'll edit right now.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2014


2413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice album, though the vocals I really can't get into. Instrumentally however, it's powerful, riveting and engaging enough for fans of extreme metal in my opinion.

Digging: The Black Dahlia Murder - Nightbringers

Jeffrulesyou
December 7th 2016


1846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the only Dethklok album that I return to and enjoy fully. Dethalbum was the perfect mix of comedy/metal which made me love these guys to begin with. I don't know what happened afterwards? It's almost as if they forgot their style and decided to make boring death metal. Dethklok lost all their fun and catchy songwriting which really sucks because I thought this was great stuff.



I remember trying to buy this back in 07 at FYE the line was packed and all the records were sold out it was bitch trying to buy this album sold damn well for the genre too it was exciting

zaruyache
December 24th 2016


17700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

^ II and III focused too much on trying to be serious metal, and not enough on trying to be fun. This is somehow fun and solid, melodeath that doesn't take itself too seriously but still lays down those great tracks.

Tyler.
December 24th 2016


13454 Comments


Lol adult swim



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy