Florence and the Machine
Lungs


4.5
superb

Review

by Jonathan Kroening USER (29 Reviews)
May 4th, 2010 | 12 replies | 4,897 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Intimidating in magnitude, Lungs is the muscle car of indie pop.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

One thing is clear: this girl can sing. So Lungs seems like an appropriate title for Florence Welch’s debut album under the recording name of Florence And The Machine. Her vocal command is compelling and carries every song on a record that has little, if no, low moments.

As a debut that well lives up to the hype, Lungs is quite possibly the best pop indie album of 2009. With standout tracks like “Cosmic Love”, “Dog Days Are Over”, and “Drumming”, Welch approaches each tune with conviction and appetite. Emblazoning themes of death, violence, and estrangement, the fervor of her delivery and the enormity of the orchestration can very nearly be overwhelming, and frisky moments like lead single “Kiss With A Fist” are necessary to settle the aggression.

Her penchant for grandiosity is perhaps best on display in the climax of “Girl With One Eye”, a tune that borrows a chord-substituted version of the widely used flamenco “money” chord progression. As a harmonic variation of classics such as Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good”, The Turtles’ “Happy Together”, and Ray Charles’ “Hit The Road Jack” (to name a few), Welch blasts through its final chorus like a bat out of hell. Whatever hell it was she came from, the songs of Lungs, start to finish, are her exorcism as she proclaims: “between two lungs it was released.”

4.5 / 5 stars

-Jonathan Kroening
www.itsjustmusic.net



Recent reviews by this author
Fuck Buttons Tarot SportElectrik Red How To Be A Lady: Volume 1
The Flaming Lips EmbryonicSt. Vincent Actor
Usher Raymond v. RaymondWild Beasts Two Dancers
user ratings (731)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Matt Wolfe EMERITUS (4)
A fantastic debut from a very promising British talent....

Adam Knott EMERITUS (4.5)
The most confident debut and best pop album of 2009 so far....

related reviews

Ceremonials

MTV Unplugged

Comments:Add a Comment 
PayneTiger777
May 4th 2010



4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review is way too short.

I love you, Florence Welch.

Justus0
May 4th 2010



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm aware this review is rather short...so disclaimer:

i'm trying out my ability at writing 200-300 word reviews in the style of allmusic/spin/rollingstone. i have a tendency to get real wordy, so being concise is a learning process for me.

as always, constructive criticism/praise is welcome...

Phantom
May 4th 2010



8930 Comments


oh you're that guy who posted like 7 reviews in one day

hmmmm

Eclectic
May 4th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know how you feel, I have that kind of limit for my local paper.
For a short review it was pretty good, so I pos'd.
Next time though, consider putting this kind of review as a soundoff instead and then writing a proper review. Its how I manage to keep my sputnik reviews and my proffessional reviews linked to each other, while still making them appropriate in their own contexts. It might just work for you.

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2010



10258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i used to always write my reviews like this, i think it definitely helped in regards to organizing my thoughts better and making my point quickly

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

Justus0
May 4th 2010



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Phantom...

i'm also the guy who wasn't aware of the unwritten rule to post only one review per day. the wrong has since been righted. thanks.

eclectic...

so you're saying sometimes you'll write both a soundoff and a full review for the same album? hmm, food for thought...

thanks for the feedback!

Edwin
May 4th 2010



1399 Comments


Good work, I do these kinds of brief reviews and post them on tumblr. There's definitely a place for both short reviews and extensive ones.
Album rules btw.

AggravatedYeti
May 4th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is v v good.

BenHeller
May 5th 2010



27 Comments


"Girl with one eye" is actually my favourite tune on the album. Good, concise review.
pos

PayneTiger777
May 5th 2010



4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think you should have at least talked about the best track on the album, which is "Blinding." So many great songs on this. I got my mom listening to her.

Justus0
May 5th 2010



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha, "best track" is so relative. my favorites are "cosmic love" and "girl with one eye", but i also do really like "blinding".

Titan50
May 5th 2010



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice soundoff bro



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy