Godsmack
The Oracle


3.5
great

Review

by Nosferatwo USER (43 Reviews)
May 4th, 2010 | 111 replies | 23,345 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What is old is new... again and again.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

Godsmack is a band that doesn't try to reinvent the wheel. It's a smart move, since they lack the talent to do so, but what they do have the talent for is writing simple metal songs that can bury themselves in the listener's ear. More than any of the other metal bands trying to find their way on modern radio, Godsmack understands the necessary formula. They are heavy, aggressive, and still maintain enough of a sense of melody to appeal to the masses.

The Oracle finds Godsmack honing their formula to the extreme, leaving no fat hanging from the songs. What the album may lack in the way of relentless singles like "Voodoo" or "Awake" it more than makes up for by being the most consistent Godsmack album from front to back. The only weakness to be found is the needless six-minute, instrumental title track. This is not a band with the instrumental power to pull off such music, and their foray into the field proves a misstep, though not an embarrassment.

The rest of the album is a collection of short bursts of aggression, riffs designed to maximize the groove, all serving as a sounding board for singer Sully Erna's roar. He has improved markedly since the band's debut, his once hoarse croak now a formidable howl. Like the band itself, Erna has become a more melodic animal, his voice a combination of Danzig's swagger and Zak Stevens' cadence. Every song is built from the same collection of simple riffs, but they take on a different personality depending on what facet of his voice Erna uses, giving some needed variation to an album that could have otherwise become stale.

The best song is "Good Day To Die", building from the dissonant chromatic run that opens the number to a beast of a groove riff, the type Pantera used to live on. Erna stretches his vocal to hit notes in the chorus, and though they feel processed, the sound is modern enough to work.

What we get from The Oracle isn't anything we haven't heard before. This is Godsmack as we have always known them, and that is exactly what we want from them. They don't try to break new ground, they refine the ground they have already tread, trying to write the best songs they can while still maintaining their identity. If it works for AC/DC, why not for Godsmack?



Recent reviews by this author
Redemption The Origins of RuinJohn Popper & The Duskray Troubadours John Popper & The Duskray Troubadours
Tonic TonicMeat Loaf Hang Cool Teddy Bear
Jakob Dylan Women + CountryScorpions Sting In The Tail
user ratings (274)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
jitteryzeitgeist (2)
Alice in Chains has a new album out, we don't need these guys anymore....

related reviews

Godsmack

Awake

Faceless

IV

Comments:Add a Comment 
Prolapse
May 4th 2010



4370 Comments


Nice review, probably won't listen to it though

Prolapse
May 4th 2010



4370 Comments


the track names are kinda lame

Prolapse
May 4th 2010



4370 Comments


was thinking that haha

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude, Godsmack has made a career of ripping off AIC, including the name, logo, and sound.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2010



8221 Comments


Chill guys, this will be out today, the review's legit.

EDIT: good review btw

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah Muzik Maniac since when did you become a mod?

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Another Chains rip off I can spot right away:

What If?

WOULD?, anyone?

Emim
May 4th 2010



26195 Comments


What If? is a Creed song.

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know, but I didn't think there was a question mark after it. Anyway, its close.

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

MuzikManiac I figured you would love Godsmack being a nu metal afficionado and all.

Inveigh
May 4th 2010



24178 Comments


I remember liking the first Godsmack album early in high school.. but not since then. Enjoyable review though, and yeah, they're pretty much just AIC with a little early 90s Metallica thrown in to make them seem less like a cover band.

Digging: Symptom - Caverns Of Katabasis

DoubtGin
May 4th 2010



6684 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album is pretty average.. at least their earlier efforts had some catchy songs (like IVs "Speak").

Best song was ironically Love-Hate-Sex-Pain


greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2010



7159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this review a lot. Pos'd

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Photon
May 4th 2010



1288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is really bad ..V was much better ..

Digging: Pink Floyd - The Final Cut

Poet
May 4th 2010



5910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album and review are good. This was actually going to be my next review with like the same rating :/


Buccaneer
May 4th 2010



692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've always liked this band. It's weird, considering I've grown out of the likes of Korn, Linkin Park etc. I still find this band a fun listen, gonna check this out.

Good review mayne

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but im not? :P

^ you're not a nu metal guy? Maybe I'm thinking of a different user who has posted at least 10 nu metal praising lists. And I'm not knocking the genre, btw, I used to absolutely love it and still do from time to time.

fr33convict
May 4th 2010



11678 Comments


Is this a Godsmack CD with a 3.8? Am I missing something?
Anyway, I like the CD alot. Probably my favorite CD from them.

BigHans
May 4th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Its not bad. Theyll never make a great album, but its passable.

Counterfeit
May 4th 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Haha, I got the chorus of Confusion out of Love-Hate-Sex-Pain. Either way, moar AiC rippin' off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy