Deftones
Diamond Eyes


4.5
superb

Review

by eternium USER (16 Reviews)
April 27th, 2010 | 48 replies | 12,307 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not better than White Pony.. but close.

10 of 12 thought this review was well written

Every music listener knows the importance of energy. A song that lacks it is likely to flop, while those with a lot of it tend to do great. This is especially evident in metal. The stereotypical metal song is expected to be something to headbang and mosh to. However, perhaps what makes some bands different from typical metal acts is the focus on atmosphere. Indeed, many of the best out there pay equal attention to both energy and atmosphere. Listeners are able to move their heads while having their minds mesmerized simultaneously. Enter Deftones and Diamond Eyes.

Deftones are all too commonly lumped into the nu-metal genre. While one can see how this happened for casual listeners, all true fans know that there is much more involved. Diamond Eyes itself reminds listeners much more of Meshuggah than Korn. In fact, guitarist Stephen Carpenter's favorite band's influence is all over the place as he plays some of the heaviest riffs in the entire discography. This should not imply that this is an extreme metal record though. The (very) low-tuned eight-string guitar is met equally with the rather beautiful ambiance thanks to Frank Delgado. For every riff, there is a lushy (for the lack of a better term) stream of atmosphere with it.

All Deftones fans are aware of the tragedy that hit in November 2008, when bassist Chi Cheng was seriously injured in a car accident. To date, he is still recovering. His future may be uncertain, but his brothers have continued on with his face always on their minds. The band has brought in former Quicksand bassist Sergio Vega in his place and he does a fantastic job on this album. He may not be Cheng, but he seems to fit in perfectly with rhythm partner Abe Cunningham, who may be the most underrated drummer of modern metal. Even on the most subdued tracks, he is all over the place, pounding away seemingly with the right amount each time.

Who can forget vocalist Chino Moreno? After being mocked constantly during the Saturday Night Wrist years because of his weight gain (due to quitting many drugs), he is now in the best shape of his life. That includes his vocals. This is without a doubt his greatest singing performance of his career. Yes, his screaming is still that high pitched bark that is never overused. Even better is his crooning, almost moaning singing, used lightly in his traditional almost-whisper in quiet parts, often used before he soars beautifully over the lushy sections mentioned before. It is enough to bring chills.

All of this results in what one of the best albums by one of the best bands in today's metal. The songs are diverse, though not as much as on White Pony or Deftones. The individual parts themselves, however, are multiplied. Abe and Sergio forge the skeleton, shaped perfectly and healthy enough to never deteriorate. Stef forms the muscle, thick with strength, but does not abuse its power. Frank is the skin, covering everything and improving with a protective smooth layer. Finally, Chino is the soul, the mind, and the personality that even the best body needs. No part can go without the other. It all works together to create a truly artistic accomplishment that even God should be proud of.



Recent reviews by this author
Portraits Of Past 01010101Barnswallow Twos
Some Mistakes Glamorous ThoughtsRorcal Myrra, Mordvynn, Marayaa
Noisear Subvert the Dominant ParadigmCorrupted Se hace por los suenos asesinos
user ratings (3238)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wrote this months ago and was finally able to post it. Thank you streaming.

JWT155
April 27th 2010



9220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

*The Deftones are all too commonly...
Also your first sentence is a little stupid, maybe not all people like energetic songs and maybe not
all people know that (looks at HS kiddies). Must be a better intro then that.

eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There is no "The" for Deftones. That's actually a pet peeve of mine.

JWT155
April 27th 2010



9220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Doesn't matter, I drive a car, I don't start a sentence saying "car is not running." It's THE car or
MY car isn't running. I agree the band is not called the Deftones but you need it in your sentence to
make it sound right.

BassDemon333
April 27th 2010



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SWITCHING COMMAND! JUST BECAUSE I CAN!

I love the riffs on this album

Digging: Mudvayne - L.D. 50

eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But "car" isn't a title. Deftones is the title of the band. You don't say "The Converge" and it isn't plural. Anyway, this could be argued forever. People always argue over whether bands should use is or are.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2010



31095 Comments


So where's the link?

And of course it had to stream when i'm at work with my finished review at home

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Relinquished
April 27th 2010



24929 Comments


"While one can see how this happened for casual listeners, all true fans know that there is much more involved."

would be much better as:

"While casual listeners can see how this happened, all true fans know that there is much more involved."

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2010



31095 Comments


JWT is right, he's not talking about the name of the band, he's talking about you referring to them

eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dev, I just posted the news and it hasn't gone up yet. They just posted the link on Twitter like fifteen minutes ago. It's on NME.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2010



31095 Comments


Cheers man

Mctasty
April 27th 2010



97 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@bassdemon- favorite line on the cd. just perfect.

TheSpirit
April 27th 2010



17730 Comments


First paragraph is ehh. While metal is expected to have a lot of energy and what not, sub-genres like doom, funeral doom etc... kinda disprove your theory

Digging: Venus Star - Nigredo Expulsion

willfellmarsy
April 27th 2010



3849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Abe Cunningham is fucking tits...one of my faves...as an aside, can chi sing live again or does he still obliterate/destroy all of the songs (namely digital bath)...i like the review, but i'd say saturday night wrist is their best...

JWT155
April 27th 2010



9220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You still need "are" after Deftones. "Deftones is all" makes no sense.

eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And doom metal focuses on atmosphere. I was simply comparing stuff like this to the stereotypical metal band, like Slayer. That's what most people think of when they think of metal.

Relinquished
April 27th 2010



24929 Comments


"And doom metal focuses on atmosphere."

Not always.

eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Happy?

eternium
April 27th 2010



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I figured people would assume that I was talking about stereotypical metal.

JWT155
April 27th 2010



9220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not emotionally attached to your grammar, just helping you out. I took Honors and AP English
throughout HS so I'm just helping your review sound best. Aside from making a ton of assumptions like
"Every music listener", "all true fans", "all Deftones fans" ect. it was a good read. We agree on the
rating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy