Alien Ant Farm
TruANT


3.5
great

Review

by RomoCosmo14 USER (2 Reviews)
September 19th, 2005 | 7 replies | 8,483 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


1 of 4 thought this review was well written

The more overlooked of the two Alien Ant Farm CD's, TruANT has some catchy lyrics and some sweet guitars, but is it any good? Let's check it out...

Alien Ant Farm is
Dryden Mitchell - Vocals and acoustic guitar on a couple tracks
Mike Cosgrove - Drums
Terence Corso - Guitar
Tye Zamora - Bass

Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Track by Track Review:

1000 Days - Starts off very similar to Courage, but not quite as heavy. A pretty good opener. Dryden has some rather nice lyrics on this song, they make sense but they're not cliches either. A decent song. 7.5/10

Drifting Apart - An awesome song. Definitely one of the best songs on the CD. The guitar and bass work very well together, drums are excellent, and, obviously, the song is about a relation in decline. A great breakup song, though i don't think they intended it to be. 9.5/10

Quiet - Not as good as the first two. I dislike the repetitive guitar riff that goes throughout the song, which isn't good because they do it on many other songs. The lyrics could be better too. The bass is probably the highlight of this song, as it is in a lot of their songs. 6/10

Glow - Better, but still not great. A nice array of chords on the guitar along with a VERY catchy chorus. My mom likes this song a lot (???). It was on the radio, but I don't hear it on there too much anymore. 7.5/10

These Days - The most recognizable track on the CD is also the first single off of it. Kind of similar to Smooth Criminal, but not entirely. The chorus is really good, and so is the guitar throughout the whole song. It's also on Madden 04, i believe. 8.5/10

Sarah Wynn - Here's where the album takes a dip. A pretty big dip. This song isn't too bad lyrically, but the guitar is repetitive and i heard the word "Sarah" one too many times near the end. 6/10

Never Meant - Ugh. I hate that guitar in the beginning, so i normally skip this track. Even if it wasn't there, the lyrics would make me skip it anyway. There is one good line in here though... "Here's to making up and, cheers to one more fight", not that that saves it. 5/10

Goodbye - Interesting. The guitar kind of reminds me of Attitude, and the lyrics remind me of the songs Summer and Happy Death Day from ANThology. The drums are really good especially in the verses. Not a bad song, but it's just not good enough to receive higher marks. 6.5/10

Tia Lupe - The most creative of all their songs. I like it a lot, but i also know a lot of people who hate it. The acoustic guitar is really nice on this track, and the guitars and bass are really good in the breaks. Dryden says that this is his favorite song off this album on the bonus DVD, and i see why. 8.5/10

Rubber Mallet - This song is okay. The percussion is sweet, but the rest of the song is average at best. I do like how Dryden has lyrics from ANThology songs in the beginning; that's kinda cool. 7/10

S.S. Recognize - This is the heaviest song on the album, which makes me like it automatically. If there were other heavy songs, i probably would not like it as much. However, it is pretty good. The lyrics are well written, the guitars are great and the drums are nice as well. 8.5/10

Hope - A semi-depressing song. Some really good lyrics, as well as a string orchestra playing throughout the song. A good closer. 8/10



Overall, this album was not quite as heavy as ANThology; that may be a good or bad thing depending on how you prefer their sound. It's a great listen whenever your feeling down or if you and your girlfriend are "drifting apart like people do". I hope this review was helpful.

Cheers,

ADAM R.


user ratings (181)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
RomoCosmo14
September 19th 2005



66 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ugh, i cant believe i admitted that my mom likes an Alien Ant Farm song...

Killtacular
September 19th 2005



1314 Comments


That was a pretty barebones review. More detail would serve you well.

cbmartinez
September 19th 2005



2525 Comments


For real. This is one of my favorite albums.

Yeah, my review was better. Apparently it didn't get transfered or something?

Damrod
Moderator
September 20th 2005



1093 Comments


Yah, like it was said: More detail would be great. I would appreciate it, if you could add that

Sep
September 20th 2005



297 Comments


About a 2.5 / 5 for me.

DirEnRefused
December 30th 2012



1957 Comments


This deserves some level of recognition. Fun, solid album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy