Your Demise
Ignorance Never Dies


4.0
excellent

Review

by TBliss USER (33 Reviews)
April 25th, 2010 | 24 replies | 12,012 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The future looks bright for these UK Hardcore upstarts.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Coming across a fusion between Comeback Kid clatter and Throwdown stomp, England’s Your Demise have produced a debut album that displays how the UK is really leading the world at the moment in generating a thriving scene of talented, angry youths just clamouring to spit their venom over songs abounding in aggression.

From the moment opening title track Ignorance Never Dies skulks slowly through your speakers, it is clear that this is a record saturated in belligerence, and as the song slowly builds in intensity, agonizingly gathering momentum, the explosive chug of Burnt Tongues that follows is tailor made to spawn chaos in a live setting.

From here, we are treated to a series of tracks that rage non-stop with a brutish metal crunch, yet never loose their hardcore, underground basement show intensity apparent in the frantic delivery. Dreaming Of Believing rattles along at a frenzied pace before settling into an earth shattering groove that is reminiscent of Hatebreed at their at their most irate, the ‘Do It!’ gang chant in Nothing Left But Regret is all about crowd participation, and All I Never Wanted To Be’s crushing breakdown cannot fail to get the listener moving in some respect.

Although, between these blasts of hardcore aggression, there are also included three interludes that act as a massive change of pace, each providing a couple of minutes of jungle breaks and juddering dub step. It is highly likely that these inclusions will act only to confuse the listener, and in all honesty, they accomplish little more than providing a brief rest bite between the onslaught the songs impart, which of course may be welcomed by some, yet will equally be perceived an unexpected annoyance by others.

Yet, these surprises aside, Ignorance Never Dies never lets up, and the band have succeeded in creating a hardcore album that cannot fail to gather to them a growing fan base. The vocal delivery is powerful and angst ridden, the huge, ballsy choruses just beg to be screamed back at the band, and the guitars present a pleasant combination of old school, up tempo riffs and modern, chug-a-lug brutality. In their present condition, Your Demise seem to tick all the right boxes. A fantastic debut.



Recent reviews by this author
Deicide To Hell With GodBurning The Masses Offspring of Time
Mattias IA Eklundh The Road Less TravelledMegadeth Rust in Peace Live
Hideous Miscreation Delusions Of Grandeur EPDyscarnate Enduring the Massacre
user ratings (122)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
ispeakzenglishgood (4)
Fantastically furious, blood-stirring hardcore from one of the finest on the UK scene....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss
April 25th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As always, opinions welcome

Yeahtoast
April 25th 2010



2041 Comments


I pos'd, good review and something I think I'd be interested in

Just a few mistakes to point out, in the second paragraph "an record" should be "a record", in the third "a earth shattering" should be "an earth shattering" and I think "succeed" in the last should have an "ed" at the end of it?

Other than that though it's golden!

TBliss
April 25th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers man, my prove read was pretty rushed so thanks for picking those up. Im pretty happy with this review. Check out the band if like your hardcore with a healthy dose of metal. I have seen them live and I must say there songs do really seem to be written to suit a live situation more than a record, but its still awesome stuff.

asaf
April 25th 2010



885 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^^ its proofread

the uk is owning it. architects, war from a harlots mouth, BMTH, fell silent (well, not any longer), meshuggah... i concur.

TBliss
April 26th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers man, but WFAHM are German I think, and Meshuggah are Swedish. But still, what your saying is still true
Thanks again dude.

asaf
April 26th 2010



885 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well, i meant europe then....

TBliss
April 26th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, fair play man.

bloc
May 31st 2010



34773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck this rules.

But the addition of random dnb tracks is so strange.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

TBliss
June 27th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still owns.

Ray91
July 13th 2010



150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you´re pissed listen to this one...

bloc
July 29th 2010



34773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still rapes, had to up the rating.

TomAkaVeto
August 26th 2010



1624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I seriously love this album so much. I'm concerned about their next album though. Their new vocalist sounds really weak.

bloc
August 26th 2010



34773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn, new vocalist? FFFFFFFFFF this guy was brilliant...

TomAkaVeto
September 25th 2010



1624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I can't believe they got rid of George Noble. He was one of the best vocalists in the genre, IMO.

bloc
October 3rd 2010



34773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New album is just beyond awful

bloc
December 3rd 2010



34773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

THE

BLOOD.

RAN.


COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLD.

LysergicLollypops
August 26th 2011



77 Comments


the dubstep interludes sound like transformers with explosive diarrhea.

bloc
August 26th 2011



34773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're quite unnecessary.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21790 Comments


what's this

a breakdown song that actually sounds quite good?

what the fuck is happening

Digging: Gesaffelstein - Aleph

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2011



21790 Comments


guess who just got face raped by this album

I'm disappointed the vocalist has since left. his voice practically makes this.
and the breakdowns. I've never heard so many good breakdowns in a single album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy