Volumes
The Concept of Dreaming


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dan Schultz USER (5 Reviews)
April 23rd, 2010 | 92 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A progressive metal-core band with a lot of promise.

Volumes, a band with a progressive metal-core sound has released their new EP “The Concept of Dreaming.” The EP contains what you would expect from a progressive metal-core band: full of technicality, odd-time signatures, and of course a lot of Poly-rhythms. The band contains six members: two vocalists (both of which sound some what similar at times, but at the same time, completely different), two guitarists, one bass player, and of course one drummer. This band’s melodic edge they use in their songs is what makes them somewhat different in the genre.

The guitarists are probably the highlight of this release. They have a very crunchy edge at times (during a breakdown or the chugging), but they get extremely melodic at times and very catchy and surprising to say the least. The song “Gateways,” shows the guitarists at their best work on the EP with all of the melodic riffs that come into play. The bass is there, but can be hard to hear. The drummer is very good at keeping up with the band. He adds a few good interesting fills here and there, nothing terrible, but it is good when they are used. The guitarists are what keeps the EP moving from start to finish with the melody and grooves incorporated into every track.

There are two vocalists in the band; one of them having a hardcore like shout, the other having a pseudo death-metal growl and higher pitched metal-core scream. The first time listening to the cd I thought the vocals were done by the same person, and that’s not a good thing. After a few listens anyone could tell the difference between them, but for the first few listens the vocalists sound almost identical. The lyrical content seems to deal with regret and lost relationships with ex-lovers. It’s not terribly done by any means, but it does sound very cheesy and childish at times.

For a six song EP it does have quite a bit of replay value. They are currently writing a LP. If they build upon their current sound and fix the problems (the two vocalists not sounding so similar, audible bass, improved lyrics), you can expect an extraordinary LP.

Recommended tracks:
Through the Trees
Gateways
Wormholes


user ratings (261)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
pizzamachine (4)
EPIC melodies...


Comments:Add a Comment 
dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I wrote this up in about 20 minutes, any feedback is welcomed.

bloc
April 23rd 2010


34919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is killer, and review is decent my man.

My only issue is the use of too many periods. I think a semicolon would work much better in many cases.

dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was thinking that while writing it, it was written during my testing period in school on paper and I just copied it. Thanks man, I really like this cd too.

Willie
Moderator
April 23rd 2010


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is English your first language?

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yup.

dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Crap, I'm noticing a few spelling mistakes.

Willie
Moderator
April 23rd 2010


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Then this is pretty half-assed. A quick spell/grammar check would have fixed so much. Possibly re-reading it would have allowed you to notice how random this review is (oh, and the choppy sentences).

dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I agree 100%. Oh well, I might take it down and re-edit this.

bloc
April 23rd 2010


34919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The album certainly needs a review, I say just edit it a bit and then re-post it.

bloozclooz
April 23rd 2010


1770 Comments


review seems quite full-assed to me.

pos

dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ok, I have changed some things here and there, hopefully it is more appealing. Thanks bloozclooz.

Jaskolkaaa
April 23rd 2010


330 Comments


pos'd, my advice is you can say the same things in less words...but sweet review dude

bloozclooz
April 23rd 2010


1770 Comments


edits are making it tighter. the ass is becoming more and more full as we speak

dansxdead
April 23rd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ha thanks bloozclooz, you too Jaskolkaaa.

Willie
Moderator
April 23rd 2010


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I still don't think I'm looking at the same ass that they are, but it's getting better.

bloozclooz
April 23rd 2010


1770 Comments


dat ass

-black man

Carnifex
April 23rd 2010


1918 Comments


two vocalists (both of which sound some what similar at times, but at the same time, completely different)

This line makes absolutely no sense at all...

dansxdead
April 24th 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Carnifex, listen to the album. Nice Josh.

po0ty
December 15th 2010


489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol @ problems: audible bass

EatMyWolf
December 29th 2010


26 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Technical



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy