Tool
Lateralus


5.0
classic

Review

by Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) USER (58 Reviews)
September 19th, 2005 | 24 replies | 6,475 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


3 of 6 thought this review was well written

This album is Tool's magnum opus and undoubtedly one of greatest albums to have ever of had the privilege of playing in my stereo system. Everything about this album is pure gold and it is the only album that will go down in my book as the best ever I have heard.

What Is Good About The Album?

I can safely say I can wager good money on many people agreeing with me on this - everything. Every second is jaw-dropping to say the least and every track is mind-blowing and should be appreciated by all who listen. The albums opens with 'The Grudge', my firts favourite on the album. It starts off with a simple but catchy groove that lasts quite a while before Maynard's vocals come in and the guitars become heavy. This is a relatively good idea of how the album progresses. So here is a summary of the best tracks that the album has to offer (take a deep breath); 'The Grudge', 'The Patient', 'Schism', 'Parabol', 'Parabola', 'Ticks And Leeches', 'Lateralus' and the epic three part conclusion to the album. The drumming, courtesy of Danny Carey is unquestionably marvellous as is the simple but mind-blowing guitar work of Adam Jones. However, Maynard James Keenan really shines here, providing some beautiful and wonderfully poetic and imaginative lyrics. His talents are amazing and best expressed on the album opener, where his mantra-like vocals help carry the song. Also, he produces one of the best ever recorded screams which lasts just shy of thirty magnificent seconds. Thumbs up!

What Is Not So Good About The Album?

This was so damn diffcult to write. Here goes... There really is not a huge lot which is bad about the album. Occassionally, some people (damn them to the fiery depths of hell) may find that the songs drag on and they are fairly lengthy. However, it's all good, so there should be no problem. Another thing I would like to mention is the strange bonus track, which isn't really a track at all and more of a recording. It is all about this amn who was a former employee of Area 51 (apparently) and is on the run. He is explaining about aliens and stuff whilst Danny Carey plays a drum solo in the background over some white noise. All in all, it's uneasy comic fun but a little strange and whilst it doesn't really do any damage to the album it is a little weird.

Why Buy?

Because it is one of the greatest albums this century has to offer. It is sublime, mind-blowing, complex and oh so epic. Buy it now or face the consequences of severe boredom and never having the chance to experience the wonder of 'Tool'.

Okay, so this review was pretty ass-kissing (moreso than the other one I read anyway) but try not to hammer me about it. This album is just too god darn good!

Track Ratings

The Grudge 5/5
Eon Blue Apocalypse 4/5
The Patient 5/5
Mantra 4/5
Schism 5/5
Parabol 5/5
Parabola 5/5
Ticks And Leeches 5/5
Lateralus 4.5/5
Disposition 5/5
Reflection 5/5
Triad 5/5
Faaip De Oaid 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
War From A Harlots Mouth MMXPig Destroyer Terrifyer
War From A Harlots Mouth TransmetropolitanDevil Sold His Soul A Fragile Hope
Coheed and Cambria No World for TomorrowPig Destroyer Painter of Dead Girls
user ratings (4776)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shattered_Future
September 19th 2005



1539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ SOMEbody rides the short bus to school.

Although this album is quite good, it's not perfect. The little filler intro things (Mantra, Faiip De Oiid) are just kind of there...they don't really do anything. When you first get this album, it sucks. Period. It needs a LOT of time to grow on you...

Once it does, it becomes great.

Favorite song: The Paitent. I love that opening riff repeated over and over again.

Sepstrup
September 19th 2005



1563 Comments


I don't have the patience to let Tool grow on me, as everyone claims it will



Med57
Moderator
September 19th 2005



1001 Comments


Heh, this is the maybe a bit too much of a fanboy review... I mean, it's good to see you're reviewing and everything, but 10/13 songs being highlights? Surely that undermines the purpose of a highlight at all?

Anyway, this album is OK. I loved it when I first got it, but the 3 tracks you name as not being highlights could all be cut, and Disposition/Reflection/Triad bores me a bit as well. The album has two truly great songs in Lateralus and Parabol/Parabola (it's basically one song), but other than that I don't think it's that great.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
September 19th 2005



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You did that on your review for OK Computer, Med, but hey, OK Computer is one of the greatest albums ever. I wouldn't say this is a 5, even though I haven't heard the whole album. The Grudge and Ticks and Leeches are very good songs. Schism, Reflection, and Lateralus aren't at the level of those songs.

Med57
Moderator
September 19th 2005



1001 Comments


No I didn't. I gave 6/12 songs full marks, as opposed to 11 out of 13 here. Yeah, my review of OK Computer does lavish a lot of praise on the album (as Bartender's review of Lateralus does), but I think that this crosses the line a bit. But hey, that's just me. It's just that comments like:

"Every second is jaw-dropping to say the least and every track is mind-blowing and should be appreciated by all who listen."

don't really seem to be that helpful to me, to be honest. I don't have a problem with this album getting 5/5, although I disagree, it's the general tone of the review that seems to be a bit excessive.

Kage
September 19th 2005



1173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, but it's one of those that kind of gets rightfully overshadowed once you get deeper into the genre of Progressive music.

Killtacular
September 19th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seems like a fanboy review to me.

I'd say this is Tool's second best album. nima wins. And I rather enjoy Faaip de Oiad. It's odd.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
September 19th 2005



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"No I didn't. I gave 6/12 songs full marks, as opposed to 11 out of 13 here. Yeah, my review of OK Computer does lavish a lot of praise on the album (as Bartender's review of Lateralus does), but I think that this crosses the line a bit. But hey, that's just me. It's just that comments like:

"Every second is jaw-dropping to say the least and every track is mind-blowing and should be appreciated by all who listen."

don't really seem to be that helpful to me, to be honest. I don't have a problem with this album getting 5/5, although I disagree, it's the general tone of the review that seems to be a bit excessive."

Sorry I don't know the html to quote it. I didn't check over the review before I made that comment, I just remember that review having a lot of 5/5s.

What is the HTML to quote, by the way?

Med57
Moderator
September 19th 2005



1001 Comments


Put what you're trying to quote in the gap between [QUOTE] [/*QUOTE], only without the * in the second set of brackets. That should work.

Toaster
September 19th 2005



343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Is it true that Faaip De Oaid means "Voice of God" in Latin?

Killtacular
September 19th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enochian, actually.

Jawaharal
September 19th 2005



1832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What a fanboy review.

Thor
September 19th 2005



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A decent review, but Bartender's review is all you need. This review doesn't really serve a purpose because the original review is perfect.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
September 19th 2005



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


Put what you're trying to quote in the gap between [QUOTE] [/*QUOTE], only without the * in the second set of brackets. That should work.



FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
September 19th 2005



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It works, thanks.

Nra4ever_17
September 20th 2005



65 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is my favorite album of this millenium so far, and I think this is a fanboy review.

Confessed2005
September 20th 2005



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It is great to know I am perceived to be a fanboy. Its great to see many comments by the way and I will be changing some of the track ratings because there are some errors

Syncratic
September 24th 2005



756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy balls, people. I leave for a week and now everyone and their crazy Uncle Louie is writing a review for Lateralus. Bartender's and Fast Finger's were perfect. Besides, this is a great album, but not the best.

4/5.

Confessed2005
December 10th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I should probably have this deleted so I can rewrite it or something.

BattleOfSerenity
January 17th 2008



186 Comments


Good review.
Reflection and The Patient are my favourite from this album.
I would give it a 5 if I could.
I need to rate some more shitters so that I can give this a 5.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy