Jay-Z
Vol. 2: Hard Knock Life


3.5
great

Review

by Maniac!s Main. (Broba Feiticeira) USER (6 Reviews)
April 21st, 2010 | 48 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Solid 3rd release from Jigga...

Jay-Z, love him or hate him, he's got talent. With Vol. 2 Hov comes back with a more mainstream effort than his 2 previous releases. While it may not be the classic that is Reasonable Doubt, it is still a superb album. While it may be a little repetitive at times, it is still a great mainstream effort. Unlike fellow NY rapper Nas, he managed to seamlessly (well, almost seamlessly) switch from gritty tales of the street into more mainstream topics. But enough, lets get to the music.

Best songs - Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem), A Week Ago, Can I Get A... and Money Cash Hoes


Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem), as most of you know he samples Annie in this one. While it may seem like a crazy idea for a rapper and possibly career suicide, Jigga pulls it off perfectly, with great lyrics to match.

A Week Ago, Great tune telling the story of one of Jay's boys getting locked up. And the dissolving of their friendship due to him snitching while locked up.

Can I Get A..., As with Hard Knock Life, I'm sure you've all heard this. Great song with an infectious beat that makes you want to put it on repeat and just cruise the streets of ____ (Insert your town here). Also has the only memorable verse from Ja Rule that I can think of. It's all asking a simple question 'If I became broke and had nothing anymore, would you still roll with me?'

Money Cash Hoes, while the title and chorus(just saying money, cash, hoes over and over) are bad, the verses are great and it has an excellent guest spot from DMX.

Worst songs - If I Should Die, Paper Chase

If I Should Die, this song is decent, but it just gets super repetitive and the chorus is dreadful.

Paper Chase, one word, meh. The verses are weak and it gets very repetitive, skippable.

Overall, a very enjoyable record. While it may get a little repetitive at times, the beats are hot and will keep you bouncing all throughout the record. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Jigga and rap.
(Unless you're completely anti-mainstream music, then skip this one.)



Recent reviews by this author
Kid Rock Grits Sandwiches for BreakfastConverge Jane Doe
Korn Korn III: Remember Who You AreDeftones Adrenaline
Atmosphere Leak At Will
user ratings (227)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Counterfeit
April 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review

Criticism/tips would be appreciated.

Republican
April 21st 2010


38 Comments


Nas is better.

Counterfeit
April 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All comes down to opinion, I prefer Jay-Z but that's just me.

ninjuice
April 21st 2010


6760 Comments


If do track by track analysis, write a bit more about the songs.
Ideally, write about the album as a whole.

IT'S THE HARD KNOCK LIFE
FOR US

Counterfeit
April 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ight, I'll try that next time and add more detail.

Felt a best/worst was best for this one though.

JulesWin
April 21st 2010


993 Comments


nice to see someone else reviewing hip-hop but this needs lots of work

"Great song with an infectious beat"

what's great about it? what's the beat like?
be more specific in your descriptions

Bulldog
April 21st 2010


3796 Comments


nice to see someone else reviewing hip-hop


this.

Counterfeit
April 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A'ight. I'm going to leave this one as it is, because it's my first, but I'll try better in my next review.

Counterfeit
December 11th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ive gone a long way since this...lol not really probs worse.

BigHans
December 21st 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this review sucks...........................................compared to your recent stuff.

Counterfeit
December 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fa sho fa sho
IT'S A HARD KNOCK LIFE

BigHans
December 21st 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hate hate hate that song

Counterfeit
December 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love love love that song
overplayedness be damned

BigHans
December 21st 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its the Annie sampling that I hate. I love Can I Get A though

Counterfeit
December 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can I Get A is probably one of my all time favorite beats ever.
And yeah, I figured that'd be the part you hated.


BigHans
December 21st 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

CAN I HIT IT IN THE MORNING

Counterfeit
December 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WITHOUT GIVIN YOU HALF OF MY DOUGH AND EVEN WORSE IF I WAS BROKE WOULD YA WANT ME

Hawks
December 21st 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like the Annie sample. Is that weird?

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

Counterfeit
December 21st 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, because it totes rules

BigHans
December 21st 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it most certainly does not CAY 2 THA IZZO HOVA JIGGA DAT NIGGA



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy