Flaw
Through the Eyes


3.0
good

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
April 20th, 2010 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Within a saturated genre, Flaw begin to craft their own sound, but can’t completely break out of the generic Nu Metal pattern.

Love it or hate it, Nu Metal had taken over the airwaves in the late 90’s and early 00’s and became full of rip-offs and people who could barely play their instruments. With only a handful of bands trying to do something original in the genre, most serious music lovers turned their back on the majority of the genre completely.

Though the album lacks some of the creativity showed in their next album, Through the Eyes isn’t that bad of an album. Most songs are generic aggressive Nu Metal songs in the vein of Mudvayne, except unlike Mudvayne, the vocals carry this whole album, because the instruments are always played towards his voice and never really do anything interesting. The guitars pound out power chords constantly and the drums sound pretty much the same through the whole album. The singing is good, but not completely consistent. On most songs, Volz’s vocal delivery is superb and emotional, but on some, like the song “Inner Strength”, they sound completely uninspired and pretty boring.

Lyrically, there really is nothing special at all, which can be seen most notably on “Payback” and “Whole. Because I heard Endangered Species first, I was hoping for the good lyrics that I found there, but instead I found the average angsty lyrical influences that I would find if I were listening to Korn. Though the lyrics aren’t very great, it doesn’t really take much from the album, and if you listen to music like this anyway, it really won’t bother you.

Generic seems to be a word that is thrown around a lot on this site, but in all honesty, this album accomplishes nothing more than other Nu Metal bands out there. Instead, it does give a hint to what they are capable of. Songs like “Amendment” and “What I have to do” are some highlights of the album. On the other hand, the song “Scheme” really shows the low points of the album.

As a whole, the album is not anything special, but isn’t horrid. Even with the bland instruments, and some lame filler, it makes for a solid debut that has some great moments that hint to a better album in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (145)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
KJ Swantko (4)
“Hope you’re alright, it’s been rough for me”...

Acey (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Two in one day I see.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It really needs a lot more description, I mean most of your paragraphs are only two or three sentences. Just elaborate on the instruments, the vocals, the songwriting, and just the overall atmosphere of the album. Detail is your friend, but don't overdo it. I've learned that the hard way.

Willie
Moderator
April 20th 2010


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I really like this album, and I have to disagree about how generic some of this is. Specifically, I don't think "Scheme" is generic due to the mellow middle part that is entirely singing. It kind of builds into a more generic ending, but I still wouldn't call the song generic. If you like these guys you should check out 40 Below Summer.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Willie
Moderator
April 20th 2010


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Oh yeah, I meant to post on the other review too about how I don't see where you're getting the Mudvayne comparisions. To me, these two bands sound nothing alike. Flaw doesn't have the dynamic rhythm section of Mudvayne, they're also not as heavy as LD50 or the self titled, nor as mainstream as Mudvayne's middle albums. On the other hand, Mudvayne's vocalist isn't nearly as capable as Flaw's and Flaw's music isn't as generic as Mudvayne's middle albums.

Willie
Moderator
April 20th 2010


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Mudvyane's vocals on that album are thinner and more nasally. The dude that sings for Flaw has a deeper, fuller voice.

Dylan620
April 20th 2010


1029 Comments


Were you expecting two? (The second was from me.)

Digging: Death - Human

PayneTiger777
April 20th 2010


4409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I pos'd three just because Flaw is/was cool.

Dylan620
April 20th 2010


1029 Comments


Good to hear - pos'd your other Flaw review too.

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


40 below summer is similar to this, as they both have unique vocalists and generic instrumentation.

Willie
Moderator
April 20th 2010


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Oh, what? When I mentioned them all the way back on the fifth post it wasn't good enough???

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


Okay dokie, I'd pos but 2 in one day is pushin my limit.

Willie no one listens to mods, haven't you realized this yet?

Dylan620
April 20th 2010


1029 Comments


I will listen to you Willie, since Muzik and Lisbon aren't.

Dylan620
April 20th 2010


1029 Comments


You have to request for the review to be on the front page at the forums. This album is far too old to be on the front page anyway.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


31492 Comments


Doesn't just work off votes

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Dylan620
April 20th 2010


1029 Comments


That you have to request too.

ThePalestMexican
April 20th 2010


2816 Comments


Awesome review, you haven't lost your touch man =)

AbyssalCreation
April 20th 2010


2042 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man.I absolutely love Chris Volz voice and I really dig this album.Only the Strong used to be my favorite song when I was like 13 or 14.

JulesWin
April 21st 2010


993 Comments


"Though the lyrics aren’t very great"

I would take 'very' out of that line. pos anyway

fromtheinside
July 18th 2011


19029 Comments


Bumping Flaw. They used to be so decent. My Letter is a fantastic nu metal song

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

Willie
Moderator
July 18th 2011


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

This whole album is awesome. Not a bad song on here.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy