Flaw
Endangered Species


3.5
great

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
April 20th, 2010 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


Nu Metal is one of those genres that Sputnik loves to hate. Some see it as poser metal; others see it as nothing more than music pandering to teenagers with anger issues. With that being said there seems to be a few diamonds in the rough, one of those being Flaw’s Endangered Species.

Though Flaw is often compared to Mudvayne, on this album the similarities seem to be few. The main differences being that they drop all hip-hop influences and incorporate heavy doses of melodies compared to previous releases. This seems to be a hit and miss with most fans, with some thinking that it was a sellout release. Personally, I believe the melodies make the album stand out more than some of its contemporaries. With songs like “Medicate”, “Final Cry”, and “You’ve Changed” Flaw show some aggression, but the rest of the album is full of nicely polished melodies.

Instrumentally, there is not much I can say, seeing as there seems to be a lack of anything special. The riffs are solid but nothing spectacular, the drums are a nice backbone to the guitars but don’t do much else, and although it’s a matter of production, the bass is pretty much inaudible through the whole album.

So if it hasn’t been made clear already, the album relies on the vocals to do anything interesting. Though that sounds like a daunting task for the vocalist, Volz seems to pull it off nicely. Not only does his voice show up many other artists within the genre, but his lyrics are a bit more mature and thought out than his contemporaries. The lyrics have less to do with violence, anger, and destruction, and more to do with warning about the future, optimism, and hope.

So this may be nothing groundbreaking, or extremely original, but Flaw have been able to put their own spin on a genre that has been beaten to death by kids with baseball bats, baggy pants, and unfocused rage. And that alone makes this album worth owning if you’re a fan of decent Nu Metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (117)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Acey (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
April 20th 2010


17849 Comments


incorporate huge uses of melodies compared to previous releases.


That reads a little awkwardly. Perhaps "incorporate large doses of melody compared to previous releases"?


Otherwise good review.



Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


You get brownie points for reviewing one of the few good nu-metal bands.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16396 Comments


"Through The Eyes" is a surprisingly good album, but I have yet to hear this one.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


I'm in a good mood so pos all around...except for Crysis, he gets neg's

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16396 Comments


except for Crysis, he gets neg's

negnegnegneg

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16396 Comments


I guess people didn't like my latest one, oh well, it happens.

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


No I like your BFMV review. And while I disagree with your Demon Hunter one, it's still a good freakin review. I just like to break balls.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16396 Comments


Breaking balls is the name of the fucking game here at Sputnik. It's everyone's favorite past time.

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


I know, I tell ya what, I'll love you forever if you rate Periphery a 5 ;)

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


16396 Comments


Your offer is tempting....

I'm going to review 'Through the Eyes' next... it needs a review that isnt a TBT

Go for it, you're right it does need a decent review.

LG
April 20th 2010


3049 Comments


I'm diggin the other review for this album, no offence Maniac, but that guy has got a way with words.

Inveigh
April 20th 2010


24968 Comments


wow, that's weird, even when I click on this from your profile page it takes me to the spam review. take a pos man, I'm not a fan of these guys (never was) but your review's good.

PayneTiger777
April 20th 2010


4392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I loved these guys back in the day. Decide and Worlds Divide are some of their best songs.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010


31173 Comments


Album is terrible, review isn't though
Pos'd

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

JulesWin
April 21st 2010


993 Comments


"Nu Metal is one of those genres that Sputnik loves to hate"

sputnik and everyone else!
good job, pos

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2010


8357 Comments


nice review (sorry for the late response)

Flaw are one of those nu metal bands I never checked out, but when I find the time, I'll give this a go as it sounds like it could be pretty good.

Willie
Moderator
April 22nd 2010


15979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Album is terrible
Say it isn't so! It's not as good as the one before it, but it's still good.

Digging: Necropoli - I

Sciroccu
December 25th 2010


764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not bad even if i prefer Through the eyes to this. it's catchier.

Shuyin
February 27th 2012


11642 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good but through the eyes rules harder

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

MudIdol
May 20th 2012


581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is awesome. The lyrics make me feel really inspired and optimistic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy