HammerFall
Glory to the Brave


4.5
superb

Review

by AJ Bryant USER (4 Reviews)
April 19th, 2010 | 10 replies | 9,501 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Overall, his is some of Hammerfall's strongest material.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Okay, get this from the start. This album is definitely classic power metal. It doesn't have progressive/melodic elements like many power metal bands haves started to do. Just regular old power metal.

1. The Dragon Lies Bleeding (4:22)- This track proves Hammerfall's simplicity from the very beginning. Joacim's voice comes out with a "WE RIIIIIIIIIIIIDE". Pretty simple guitar work from Dronjak and Ljungström, and a simple solo. Before the solo begins, Joacim tells us "Above the glory we carry on, when the time has come to return back home. The setting sun illuminates the dead, the battlefield, it's shining red!" It's my favorite part of the song. The drums are a bit generic, but overall good. As you can tell from the title, the lyrics are super cheesy. A regular happy metal song.
Rating: 9/10
2. The Metal Age (4:28)- A step down from The Dragon Lies Bleeding, but it's an alright song. The lyrics are better in this song, in my opinion. The solos are slow, but really nice, nonetheless.
Rating: 8.5/10
3. Hammerfall (4:47)- Now, if you were beginning to wonder if this album was good, all thoughts of that would be taken away. This song is AMAZING. Lyrics are the best so far. The chorus is just alright, but the rest of the song overrules that. The solos, are a little annoying at parts, but not bad. The song gives us a soft and perfect ending. One of my favorite songs on the album.
Rating: 10/10
4. I Believe (4:53)- You think you can have a corny power metal album WITHOUT a ballad? Psh, try again. Acoustic intro. Nice lyrics involving personal struggle. The chorus is nice and sad. Slow, tear-jerking solo.
Rating: 9/10
5. Child of the Damned (3:42)- I guess the guys at Hammerfall think you're supposed to just get out of the sadness they just put you in with "I Believe". This is a cover from the band "Warlord". It's my favorite song on the album. Surprisingly, Joacim's voice fits perfectly with the song and doesn't sound off-beat at all. This is an up-beat song that can really "get you going" in the morning. Lyrics are quite bold. "I'm a child of the damned, they follow where I go. Rigging to the cross, as holy as a whore." I just don't like the slow ending, personally. It ruins the feel of the rest of the song.
Rating: 10/10
6. Steel Meets Steel (4:02)- Hence the title, this is another cheesy song. But it's not what you're thinking. Actually, it has a meaning to it. It's about the crusades ("Jerusalem was free. We thanked the Lord for our glory!"). Alright song, though it is a bit monotonous, in my opinion.
Rating: 8.0/10
7. Stone Cold (5:43)- Basically everything in this song makes me think it should be in a Rocky Balboa movie or something. I'm not sure why. I think it's the guitars. The lyrics are pretty good for classic power metal. The guitars a step more technical in this song compared to the rest of the album.
Rating: 8.0/10
8. Unchained (5:38)- Cheesiest song on the album. Lyrics involve a king and his servants being taken and stuff like that. Music is really good. Perfect, almost. I really enjoy the chorus ("Brothers in arms, are fighting tonight. The forces of steel meet again. Born in the fire, they look to the sky. The power of metal unchained!")
Rating: 9.5/10
9. Glory to the Brave (7:20)- By far the longest song on the album. This song is enough to reduce a cold-blooded serial killer to crying. It's personally dedicated to Joacim's grandfather (Klas Fors). But the song itself is dedicated to anyone who has died. Keyboards play through the beginning of the song. I personally think the low-tuned guitars take the mood from the song a little bit. But other than that, it's a perfect song.
Rating: 9/10

Overall, this is some of Hammerfall's strongest material.If anyone dislikes Hammerfall, point them to this album. Very strong album, if a bit generic at times.


user ratings (169)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Flut (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
bloozclooz
April 19th 2010



1770 Comments


i'd suggest reading some of the other user's review before posting another review

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010



28389 Comments


in flames cover art ripoff wtf.

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2010



16299 Comments


but this way more power metuhl man

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

TheAJMetal
April 25th 2010



62 Comments


^A ripoff from Colony?

lordworm327
March 15th 2011



37 Comments


I'm really not a fan of track-by-track reviews as it is... but you've given the first track 9/10 for as you put it: simply guitars, monotonous drumming, cheesy lyrics and it being a regular happy metal song!?

Leviathan8937
April 13th 2011



264 Comments


glory for the brave in my opinion deserves 11/10


Whiskers
February 11th 2012



39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What a debut album this was. Just incredible!

Eunuch
July 8th 2013



1236 Comments


STEEL MEETS STEEL! WOAHOHWOAHOHOHHHHHH STEEL MEETS STEEL! WOAHOHWOAHOHOHHHHHH

InFlamesWeThrash666
February 9th 2014



1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Child Of The Damned cover is better than the original in my opinion.

Digging: Abigor - Leytmotif Luzifer

Fluttertrank
April 18th 2014



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

title track rules.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy