Blood Red Shoes
Fire Like This


4.0
excellent

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
April 19th, 2010 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: British indie at its very best.

An indie rock band consisting of one male and one female member: both singing, one drumming, and one playing guitar, have just released a new album. Does it ring any bells? Jack and Meg White surely haven’t put down a new effort without informing everyone about it? No, this band is not The White Stripes.

This band is Blood Red Shoes.

A new and fresh duo has arisen: Brighton gave birth to the dual creativity of Steven Ansell and Laura-Mary Carter, about some 5 years ago. After their respective former bands broke up and the two decided ‘to have a jam’, Blood Red Shoes was there. It is, of course, impossible not compare these two young and willing Brits to their American inspirers. Lucky for them though, this band is not a clone by any means. The White Stripes have drawn their influences from the blues and punk scenes, where Blood Red Shoes make a fresh mix of 90’s alt rock with modern British indie. This was already shown on their 2008 debut, Box of Secrets, and they have slightly expanded it for Fire Like This.

A follow-up to a debut as always meant trouble, and the still heavily blooming indie scene in England is no exception. Favourite Worst Nightmare and A Weekend in the City, just to name two, were both disappointments after excellent debuts. Fire Like This is just so lucky not to fall into this category, and wisely does not attempt to make a shift in sound that is too sudden. It’s an excellent step two for Blood Red Shoes, a group that we can expect things of in the future. Their power lies in their easy-going charm: Carter and Ansell freely trade off or harmonize vocals, which complements their thin instrumental sound completely. Drums and guitar are often too little to carry a sound this proves not an issue either. While Carter’s voice is stronger and her edgy guitar lines often provide the main appeal to a song, Ansell’s vocal and percussion support is not at all a bore to listen to.

These two have got excellent chemistry; a force a duo logically lives or dies by, and they keep supplying it in more than sufficient amounts. Fire Like This is very, very consistent indeed, and probably even an improvement from Box of Secrets. It has that typical British wit everyone loves (or not), and sets itself apart from its contemporaries by proving a sparse instrumentation can still provide a full sound. By no means, this band or is extraordinary in the scene, and neither is it trying to be. Blood Red Shoes is a band that plays just because it’s all good fun and they enjoy it. And you can hear that.

Choice Cuts:

Don't Ask
When We Wake
Keeping It Close
Count Me Out
Colours Fade




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (68)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Ali CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
A tasty follow-up, but one which still leaves plenty of space in your stomach waiting to be filled....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
April 19th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I urge Sputnik to listen to this.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2010


8371 Comments


nice review, not my thing

Ponton
Emeritus
April 19th 2010


5804 Comments


Saw a stream of this a while back, but never looked into it.

Good review, nag.

Nagrarok
April 19th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not my thing


Haha, I am so surprised.

Saw a stream of this a while back, but never looked into it.


Well, you could always still do it, couldn't you? It's definitely worth the time.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2010


8371 Comments


oh for sure, I'm full of surprises this week ;)

Ponton
Emeritus
April 19th 2010


5804 Comments


i guess I could, though female vocals have always been really hit and miss with me, usually the latter. I will stream at some point though

Nagrarok
April 19th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I find her very easy to listen to, don't know what kind of vocals you might stumble over though.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2010


7363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was gonna review this but I pretty much agree so there's no point really.

Great review, great band, great album, about on par with their first imo

TheStarclassicTreatment
April 19th 2010


2910 Comments


Nice review, I saw these live and was disgusted, won't be checking this out.

EVedder27
April 19th 2010


6088 Comments


I may check out, although female vocals always shy me away as well. Great review as always.

Nagrarok
April 20th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was gonna review this but I pretty much agree so there's no point really.

Great review, great band, great album, about on par with their first imo


I think this is definitely a step up. I like how Carter shows more of herself whereas Box of Secrets featured her mainly on backing vocals. They clearly developed their sound since then. I saw you had done that already, otherwise I would have probably done that one as well.

Thanks all.



DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 8th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just heard 'Light It Up' and really liked it... And yet, that dodn't even make it into the 'Choice Cuts' section!

Nagrarok
May 10th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well Davey, then that means you should give this a listen. As far as I know your tastes, you're the kind of guy for this kind of thing.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, definitely will do Nag.

tombits
July 18th 2010


3470 Comments


Yep, heard "Light It Up" on JJJ too. It was fun, but what I really enjoyed was the simple, quirky little bridge with that guitar riff... might check this out.

GulliKyro
August 24th 2010


357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably my favourite album of the year after The Blood of Heroes collaboration. Quite how it only takes 2 people to make such a glorious racket I'll never know, but I'm pretty thankful.

TheLetter4
January 16th 2011


61 Comments


Great band, good review...but dude...calling "Favourite Worst Nightmare" a disappointment is pure opinion. Some of the British mags ripped on it, but alot of the others thought it was genius...prolly cuz it is.

Nagrarok
January 17th 2011


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aren't all reviews based on opinion? I didn't think it was bad, mind you, I just found it was a step down.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It was always going to be interesting to see how English duo Blood Red Shoes progressed from their impressive - if a little samey - debut album... And for the most part, they do just fine on 2nd LP 'Fire Like This'. Filled with more raw, energetic & catchy alt-rock that is highlighted by its boy-girl vocals, there is a little more experimentation with their quiet-loud dynamic & tempos here, making this release less immediate than its predecessor, but almost as good. Whilst nothing ground-breaking, 'Fire Like This' is still a satisfying LP from a young band who continue to mature. Recommended Tracks: Light It Up, Heartsink, Don't Ask & It Is Happening Again.

Tyrael
March 23rd 2012


20901 Comments


Wait what how is this band alt & indie like at all



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy