Murs
Fornever


2.0
poor

Review

by Joe Schmoh USER (17 Reviews)
April 15th, 2010 | 28 replies | 7,564 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Packed to the brim with filler and utter laziness on part of 9th Wonder, Fornever is not worth your ears.

0 of 1 thought this review was well written

Murs and 9th Wonder are from opposite areas of America, and yet they’re so similar. They both prefer being conscious and realistic instead of bragging or fun, and they’ve both tried to feel the soul of music and tried to make hip hop a lighter place. What also Murs and 9th wonder have discovered in common is that they are both are revered in hip hop, and as a result of these commonalities, MURS and 9th wonder have collaborated once again, and usually sound incredibly comfortable. The problem is, MURS this year is going through a rush job over this year to put out as many albums as possible, and 9th Wonder is far from his prime, and as a result, we get the dullness that constantly ravages Fornever.

Ever since MURS major label debut, it seems as if he can’t go a single album without making excessive filler tracks, and this unfortunately effects this record. This wouldn’t be too much of were a long album, but because of MURS rushing of projects in order to put out albums, there is a lot of filler amongst ten tracks of material. “I Used To Love Her (Again)” is embarrassing, seeing MURS swipe Common lyrics over slippery soul beats, while “Asian Girl” is one of those utterly embarrassing dance tracks that neither party will keep on their resumes. The few tracks that MURS shows his lyrical potential (“Cigarettes and Liquor” and “Let Me Talk”) sound like it’s too little to late, as he’s lazily pushing his same message over the same tracks, and with these filler tracks, it’s getting harder and harder to really believe him and feel with him.

It doesn’t really help that whenever 9th Wonder isn’t making hot garbage guitar tracks like “Asian Girl”, he’s making the same beat he’s been doing for years. Intertwining a soul sample within a beat is a classic method, but it’s done and most of the producers who do it have moved on. Nostalgic it maybe, it puts the listener into a lull at this point, when MURS is aiming to make the listeners jump for revolution. In fact, if Fornever proves anything, it’s that MURS and 9th Wonder are more stuck on stupid than most mainstream rappers are. They’re sucked in on the same ‘conscious’ material and they constantly pushed in the exact same way. There’s only so many ways you can do the same thing, and there’s only so many times someone will be influenced by it. MURS and 9th Wonder, other than a couple of highlights, have become stale and shadows of their former selves.



Recent reviews by this author
Big Boi Sir Lucious Left FootLootpack Soundpieces: Da Antidote!
Sun Ra LanquidityHigh on Fire Surrounded By Thieves
Common ResurrectionYoung Jeezy Trap Or Die 2: Reloaded (Mixtape)
user ratings (26)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
O.J. Simpson
April 15th 2010



408 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

and isn't it a wonder when Kurupt outshines MURS on the title track?

erasedcitizen
April 16th 2010



716 Comments


Kurupt is twice as good as MURS all the time.

O.J. Simpson
April 16th 2010



408 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

dude Kurupt is stepping up his game recently, I am seriously looking forward to his album coming soon.

MUNGOLOID
April 16th 2010



4290 Comments


murs was always average to me.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010



17204 Comments


oh snap a bastard review

VersaMinor
April 16th 2010



4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Huge disappointment, this really is a lazy effort and they both can do much better.Btw Murs is not average he just raps straightforward and is a good storyteller. Listen to his early stuff if you want to hear more thought out rap. And no fucking way Kurupt is better than Murs, his verse from "Live from Roscoes" is weak and doesn't do that beat any justice whatsoever. Kurupt will never be better than Murs, anyone that knows their hip hop knows that. Regardless, I hope Murs will bounce back from this, unless he truly doesn't care about bringing something new to the table anymore.

Inveigh
April 16th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I disagree completely. Yeah, the beats are nothing new, but they're definitely not bad. Plus, I don't know what Murs you've been listening to over the last decade, but the only time he ever tried "conscious" rap was on Murs For President, and utterly failed. The rest of his albums are nothing but story-telling, fun rhymes and general bragging about him being "better than your favorite rapper."

I Used to Love H.E.R. (Again) is also awesome, he only uses select Common lines (on purpose), and actually rips both Common and Kanye new assholes. I thoroughly enjoy this, it's nothing groundbreaking like 3:16, but it's a really fun record.

Other than I Used To Love H.E.R., where is this "conscious" rapping you speak of?

Also, what keeps this record from a 4 is all of the features, they suck for the most part. Title track is almost unlistenable until Murs comes in.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

AggravatedYeti
April 16th 2010



7684 Comments


this album sounds like everything I would have expected it to be.

Haven't listened yet but uuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Murs is always 50/50 with me.

Bulldog
April 16th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

murs and 9th wonder are both so overrated imo

Inveigh
April 16th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it's just different tastes man. I find Cam'ron, T.I., Gucci Mane and Three 6 Mafia to be really overrated, but it's more likely that they're just not my style. They're much harder for a white boy like me to relate to, even if I do live in Chicago.

SlyJak
April 16th 2010



68 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In complete agreement with Inveigh. Im sorry, but this reviewer is WAY off.

The statement "They both prefer being conscious and realistic instead of bragging or fun" proves to me that this reviewer has had little experience with MURS. MURS does conscious, but his lyrics are usually down-to-earth, every day stories, and are usually fun and lighthearted; and any rapper that calls himself "better than your favorite rapper", is no stranger to braggadocio. Terrible misfire from the get go.

Then it gets worse "Intertwining a soul sample within a beat is a classic method, but it’s done and most of the producers who do it have moved on" - really!? WOW. I noticed there seems to be a stigma on this site towards this type of production - too derivitive, as Sobhi once said (much better reviewer, btw; would of loved to hear his thoughts on this [shameless challenge]) - but some of the best producers continue in this vein: exile, illmind, oddisee, jake one, damu, madlib, oh no - good thing they've moved on! You guys can keep your electro-heavy crap, thanks.

Then, the Coup de grâce: "In fact, if Fornever proves anything, it’s that MURS and 9th Wonder are more stuck on stupid than most mainstream rappers are. They’re sucked in on the same ‘conscious’ material and they constantly pushed in the exact same way." Unfathomably horrid. Someone who rates T.I.'s King a 4, then says this................. wheres my man Soby when i need him? At least he has Legitimate reasoning.

As far as this album, I think its the worst of the four collabs; but still, as Inveigh said, this is a fun record. Its no 3:16, but good stuff. And yes, I used to love her has derivative lyrics; welcome to hip hop, rookies.

SlyJak
April 16th 2010



68 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And one last thing: "but because of MURS rushing of projects in order to put out albums, there is a lot of filler amongst ten tracks of material" is simply conjecture. The dude was signed to a major, so he couldnt put out the stuff he was making over the last couple years while on Warner. Do some damn research people.

VersaMinor
April 17th 2010



4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

SlyJak you are spot on.
According to the reviewer all of T.I.'s cds and even a g unit cd is better than this. ???

EasternLight
April 17th 2010



2700 Comments


crap i liked murs for president...sounds like a disappointment

Inveigh
April 17th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn SlyJak, you speak the truth! very well put. I know that kingsoby1 is not a fan of Murs, and I doubt he'll review this, but maybe I will this afternoon. All the features definitely take this album down a notch or two though.

EasterLight: Murs for President was ok, I think this is at least as good

somberlain
April 18th 2010



2121 Comments


I think SlyJak is my new favorite user.
I might be the biggest Murs fanboy on this site but ever since "Murray's Revenge" he's been going downhill

Inveigh
April 18th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree that this, Sweet Lord and Murs For President have nothing on Murray's Revenge, 3:16 and The End of the Begninning, but they're all at least 3's in my book.

and yeah, you might be somberlain, but if you had asked me like 3 or 4 years ago, I was a huge Murs junkie. TEotB, 3:16, Felt 1 & 2, Living Legends, Murray's Revenge... those were my jams.

haha, and SlyJak should definintely stick around. Maybe the best first-impression I've ever experienced from a new user.

somberlain
April 18th 2010



2121 Comments


"but if you had asked me like 3 or 4 years ago, I was a huge Murs junkie"

that's when I was a huge fan, around the time I discovered TEotB, I still love that album

Inveigh
April 18th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha, me too. was just bumping it yesterday. Risky Business is so fun, that whole albums's great.

somberlain
April 18th 2010



2121 Comments


'Happy Pillz' is so funny!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy