Upon a Burning Body
The World Is Ours


3.5
great

Review

by promiseswept USER (14 Reviews)
April 14th, 2010 | 96 replies | 24,606 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Extremely fast, non-repetitive deathcore that shines from the start but lacks replay value after repeated listens.

5 of 7 thought this review was well written

Upon A Burning Body came across to me from this website actually. The very first song I heard from UABB was "Scarface," and I wasn't impressed. It was short, full of breakdowns (they were good however), and had a long, boring acoustic guitar solo to end it. I gave UABB another chance, listening to "Devil's Advocate" and "Donnie Brasco." The three songs from "The World Is Ours" on their myspace get better in descending order (shouldn't that be the opposite?) and legitimately got me excited that I had found a new deathcore band to get into.

UABB is:
Danny: Vocals
CJ: Guitar
Sal: Guitar, clean vocals
Ruben: Bass
Ramon: Drums

This band knows what they are doing with their instruments. The drumming on this CD is fast, full of creative cymbal usage, and extremely clean on the blast beat side of things. Ramon really shows potential, and being a drummer myself, he really keeps me interested and into the music when everything else may be stale. Some of the more impressive songs on the drumming side of things are "Heat," "Intermission," and "Carlito's Way." Danny's vocals are well executed and do not get old. He utilizes three different styles of screaming: a high, scratchy tone, a hardcore-stylized mid, and an absolutely sublime low tone (better than most deathcore vocalists). Danny also has pretty good enunciation, which most vocalists seem to be lacking these days. Sal (guitar) also contributes outstanding clean vocals on "Heat" and "City Hall." I would like to see some more singing from UABB if they make another record as well. My only complaint with the singing is that his lines aren't long and will leave you wanting more. Ruben's bass guitar is completely inaudible in the mix, which continues the disappointing trend in heavy music.

Yes, there are breakdowns. Some are more original than others. However, UABB keeps them short, sweet, and usually implying a backing riff behind them to keep them from getting old (Emmure and Oceano, please take notes). The transitions from breakdowns into new riffs are well done, and there is evidence of serious thought in the writing aspect of the music. This band isn't all blast beats, all breakdowns, or all riffs. There are a few guitar solos throughout the CD which really add to the flavor of the tracks. "Heat" features a nifty, melodic guitar solo that really compliments the song nicely, and proves that this band isn't just a one-trick pony. "Devil's Advocate" starts off with a good, jumpy breakdown with some spoken vocals behind it. Tracks like "Devil's Advocate" and "Donnie Brasco" walk the thin line of fast and heavy without missing a beat. One second, the band could be playing a good 2-step part, then the next they could be riffing away with Ramon blasting your ears off.

Ramon can be a little much on the drums (he always has to be hitting something new) however, and to the non-drummers out there, you may become annoyed. The songs seem to run together at some points as well. Danny's lyrics are nothing to write home about and are extremely weak for the most part. Swear words run rampant throughout the CD and corrupt any real meaning behind the words. His enunciation is above-average like I said, but pronouncing "fuck" well isn't really something to be proud of.

For the most part, The World Is Ours is an extremely good album from the San Antonian outfit. Sing-a-longs are aplenty, the vocals are above-average, and the musicianship is definitely a bright spot in heavy music these days. For people who aren't impressed, give the album another shot, it might grow on you. This is a good debut, and one can only hope they continue to grow as musicians and produce an outstanding follow up!

Pros:
Extremely good drumming
Breakdowns are not boring
Great vocals

Cons:
Lyrics
The solos are good, but there aren't many!
Inaudible bass (what else is new)

Recommended tracks:
Heat
Intermission
Devil's Advocate



Recent reviews by this author
Call Us Forgotten A Hope Remains EPBleeding Through Declaration
Salt The Wound Kill the CrownFurther Seems Forever The Moon Is Down
The Red Shore The Avarice Of ManKing Conquer America's Most Haunted
user ratings (221)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Devin Earl (4)
A Deathcore album that has the ability to be enjoyable for those who dislike most of what the genre ...

Dakotah182prada (5)
What people wanted to hear, whether you like it or not...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Plutonio
April 15th 2010



474 Comments


By now, you should realize what makes a review lolbad.

promiseswept
April 15th 2010



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

in your opinion! i like my reviews

promiseswept
April 15th 2010



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and whats your reason for negging

AbyssalCreation
April 15th 2010



2023 Comments


I dislike this band, because they only play this kind of music cause it's popular and they want money.That being said Scarface is awesome.

IN A MOMENT YOU'LL ALL BE DEAD MY ONLY WISH WAS TO SAY GOODBYE!

I'll listen to the full cd before judging it though.



promiseswept
April 15th 2010



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh man deathcore bands get so little money it's ridiculous..
so i kind of have to disagree with you there. even bands like suicide silence barely make enough to pay the bills

Nikkolae
April 15th 2010



4394 Comments


well they certainly ruined carlitos way for me now bleh

Digging: Corrupted - Paso Inferior

AbyssalCreation
April 15th 2010



2023 Comments


Okay well maybe not for money, but to get popular no doubt.They told the band I sell merch for, that and I quote "We play 2 steps and breakdowns, because it's what popular in this town."They used to be straight up Deathcore, but when Sumerian showed interest in them they changed their sound to fit the roster.I just hate bands that play music for the wrong reasons.

asdemonsburn
April 15th 2010



793 Comments


"pretty beefy mids"

zuzek
April 15th 2010



748 Comments


Review is extremely.

All lulz aside, review could be better. Lack of description, surplus of repetitive vocab and it doesn't read like a 3.5 but a 2.5 to 3 at best.

Plutonio
April 15th 2010



474 Comments


Upon A Burning Body came across to me from this website actually. I consistently look at the "metal" and "hardcore" sections of this website to search for new and up-coming bands. Upon A Burning Body had a generic name (like 99.9% of metal), but I decided "what the hell" and searched for them on myspace. The very first song I heard was "Scarface," and I wasn't impressed. It was short, full of breakdowns (they were good however), and had a long, boring guitar solo to end it. I gave UABB another chance, listening to "Devil's Advocate." Steadily, this band and record really hit me hard. Before I start, go to www.myspace.com/uponaburningbody and laugh at the 3 members wearing suspenders. LYKE TOTALLY BROOTAL.

I don't care, and neither should you. It's a band with a myspace. LYKE TOTALLY OBSKUR!

This band knows what they are doing with their instruments. The drumming on this CD is fast, full of creative cymbal usage, and extremely clean on the blast beat side of things. Ramon really shows potential, and being a drummer myself, he really keeps me interested and into the music when everything else may be stale. Danny's vocals are extremely brutal and do not get old. He utilizes three different styles of screaming: a high, scratchy tone, a pretty beefy mid, and an absolutely nuts low tone (better than most deathcore vocalists). Sal (guitar) also contributes outstanding clean vocals on "Heat" and "City Hall." My only complaint is that his lines aren't long and make you wanting more.


That's got potential, but the first-person parts should be omitted, as should the jumpiness of subject matter.

[



Plutonio
April 15th 2010



474 Comments


There's way too much repetition and very little detail as well.

Carnifex
April 15th 2010



1918 Comments


I'm writing a review for this album and it'll slay this, jus sayin.

Phantom
April 15th 2010



8930 Comments


Using great movie as your song titles does not make you a good band. Plus Bury Your Dead already did
it.


But, it's deathcore, so no real suprise at the lack of originality on show.

promiseswept
April 15th 2010



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for constructive criticism, i reviewed this because i was tired of seeing nothing for this album

sspedding
April 15th 2010



4715 Comments


not one of your best, please change 'implying' to employing and don't use 'brutal' as an adjective. safe

bloc
April 15th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think I'll check this out

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

bloozclooz
April 15th 2010



1770 Comments


the music video is the only song by these guys that keeps my attetion. if you've heard more tha 2 sumeriancore bands, you know what this will sound like.

it's not bad, it's just not good

ThePalestMexican
April 15th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I personally know the guys, and the music they make is top notch.
Pretty okay review to be honest, spend more time talking about the album and it'll be all good.

Carnifex
April 15th 2010



1918 Comments



Using great movie as your song titles does not make you a good band. Plus Bury Your Dead already did
it.


But, it's deathcore, so no real suprise at the lack of originality on show.

It's a concept album about a group of mobsters, the reviewer completely left this absent from his review and it makes the song titles seem like cheap gimmicks.

asaf
April 15th 2010



873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

is intermission the name of a pacino movie? it's in the middle of the album but it's not an intermission, but rather an actual song. i couldnt find anything by pacino in imdb under that title.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy