The Radio Dept.
Clinging to a Scheme


3.5
great

Review

by Kiran EMERITUS
April 13th, 2010 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Radio Dept return, as dreamy and frustratingly unassuming as ever.

Two things happened on September 10th 2008: The Radio Dept. didn’t release their third record, Clinging to a Scheme, and the Large Hadron Collider was put into motion in Switzerland, a machine that may as well have lived up to popular myth and ripped some sort of microscopic, cartoonish black hole out of thin air, to suck the disappointment right out of every fan wondering what the *** was happening with that album. With promises of recording in late 2006, and September 10th 2008 set as a firm release date, it was more than a little underwhelming that by June 2009, all we’d gotten was a single from the album. Now, almost four years on from those recording sessions, Clinging to a Scheme is finally seeing the light of day. If anything, it’s a decade clear of Chinese Democracy.

Hype would be the wrong word to describe the build-up to its release but Clinging to a Scheme does bear the brunt of prolonged anticipation and it’s a trait that works against it when you come down to the bare bones of what's in stock here; this is really just another Radio Dept. record, no more, no less. It’s the same Radio Dept. that sings to you from behind some distant, hushed curtain, and it’s the same Radio Dept. that engulfs listeners in hamster-balls of dreamy shoegaze anti-gravity, begging you to float in the airy space between each note and chord. That’s The Radio Dept. now and how they’ve always been and it’s a fact that’s bound to disappoint some and just as well delight others.

But oh, how songs like “Heaven’s on Fire” more than make up for their perpetual lack of ingenuity. It’s the sort of half-lustful, half-heartbroken, tin-can synth, jangle pop glory that almost single-handedly makes this worth getting into, and goes some way in representing the best qualities The Radio Dept. have to offer, with its relentlessly catchy hooks and playful horn outro. Closer “You Stopped Making Sense” is everything the single isn’t, with its steady hi-hat tapping about as slow-burning as the band get, and the longing “I wanna come closer” breaking emotionally free of the otherwise far-removed vocals Johan Duncanson utilizes for the majority of the record.

I think we should destroy the bogus capitalist process that is destroying youth culture, Thurston Moore fumbles in the soundbyte leading into “Heaven’s on Fire” and it’s everything Clinging to a Scheme doesn’t want to be; disagreeable. No, The Radio Dept. are comfortable in their safety, the masters of indie pop/shoegaze fence-sitting, neither here nor there in message or meaning. It’s a stance they’ve refined with each release and Clinging to a Scheme rocks back and forth cautiously over a safety net of the softest cotton, never in any danger of losing its footing in the first place. Should they ever wish to reroute their path around the stagnancy they look all but headed for, a shake up is desperately required, but for now with Clinging to a Scheme, they’re doing just alright.



Recent reviews by this author
Unknown Mortal Orchestra IIBeirut The Rip Tide
Alex Turner Submarine OSTClive Tanaka y Su Orquesta Jet Set Siempre No. 1
Robyn Body TalkThe Concretes WYWH
user ratings (137)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Rationalist (4)
"Fuzz-pop" never sounded so good....

related reviews

Lesser Matters

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
April 13th 2010


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

glad to get this done because i got a buuuuuuusy week ahead of me

robin
Emeritus
April 13th 2010


4249 Comments


really fun read kiran, still dont want to check this out tbh.

Romulus
April 13th 2010


8443 Comments


Great review, I was interested in giving this a look but I probably won't bother now

Enotron
April 13th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening. Sounds rather gay. Album cover reminds me of teenagers who make their facebook profile picture of them releasing pot smoke.

My thoughts.

CompanionCube
April 13th 2010


977 Comments


pic is from soldiers smokin in veitnam through shot guns i think

PuddlesPuddles
April 13th 2010


4786 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well thanks for putting a damper on my day

Lesser Matters was really great

thebhoy
Emeritus
April 13th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, this is boring tbh

lobby
April 14th 2010


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring?

this album is really enjoyable, just can't keep it up for 40 mins. Loving Domestic Scene, Heaven's on Fire, and Never Follow Suit.

Kiran
Emeritus
April 14th 2010


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah 123 lobby basically, its good in the way i couldnt pick out a bad song, but its just not inherently good enough to get a higher rating.

and yes, companioncube is right, and puddles you should listen anyway, its good

thebhoy
Emeritus
April 14th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nah, it's mostly enjoyable, but it's so harmless I can't listen past the first few songs.

Kiran
Emeritus
April 14th 2010


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if you stopped that sentence after harmless, that is exactly what i'm saying

thebhoy
Emeritus
April 14th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm thinking of changing my rating to a 2.5 so that the distribution chart looks like a penis.

lobby
April 14th 2010


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dick

PuddlesPuddles
April 14th 2010


4786 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is Sputnik! anything below 4- excellent means bad : (

lobby
April 15th 2010


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha true. take a look at some of the comments for Strung Out's "Agents Of The Underground". There were all these people rating it 3.5-4.5 saying, "yeah, its good but it gets boring after a while." pissed me off so much...3 = good. Therefore, the album is a good album, people should look into it.

Zion
April 17th 2010


812 Comments


Really digging "Heaven's On Fire"... that is one sweet tune.

Kiran
Emeritus
April 17th 2010


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, i love it, one of the best songs they've ever written

Zion
April 17th 2010


812 Comments


"It’s the same Radio Dept. that sings to you from behind some distant, hushed curtain, and it’s the same Radio Dept. that engulfs listeners in hamster-balls of dreamy shoegaze anti-gravity, begging you to float in the airy space between each note and chord." - This is the kind of stuff that sets the staff apart. Great review.

taylormemer
April 19th 2010


4917 Comments


C'mon LHC! Make my display pic worth something already.
Also, what idiot potsed a 1260 square album image. Ugh.

acorncheese
April 19th 2010


7119 Comments


This album sounds and LOOKS like it'd piss me off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy