Coheed and Cambria
Year of the Black Rainbow


4.0
excellent

Review

by sba4life USER (2 Reviews)
April 13th, 2010 | 56 replies | 5,068 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Coheed honor colorblind people who admire rainbows with an excellent record!

4 of 16 thought this review was well written

2000 was the year of the dragon for many people, especially those of Asian decent. This year might be the year that all rainbows are black because the world ends in 2012 and everyone with no money will die in a great flood. I hope I can listen to this record when that day comes!

This record is like Christmas for Jewish people. This record combines elements of previous efforts and combines them to form a trifecta of awesomeness that is Coheed And Cambria.There are very dark moments that are full of melancholy while at the same time we get the normal prescribed dosage of the poppier hooks and choruses. Chris Pennie also introduced new ideas with his new band Coheed And Cambria. There is some killer drumming. Especially the drumming on the song "Guns Of Summer". There are also techno beats on one song.

Claudio's voice sounds as hot as Jason Bieber's pants! The harmony vocals on "Here We Are, Juggernaut" are amazing! His range is at full display! I love everything about this record. My only huge complaint is the bass is not heard in many cases but we always have Chris Pennies rocking beats to cover up!

One thing that I can't stand about this album is the last song. It truly reeks of a GY!BE rip off! They try to make an epic buildup and climax but it is about as exciting as the last time Bill Clinton popped a woody.

I am steering clear from track by tracks forever. Please give me some feedback and some tips!

SUMMARY: This is Coheed's best record since 2004 for me. Great mix of styles!


user ratings (1183)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
iwrestledabigmaconce
April 13th 2010



251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha

americanmusicmachine
April 13th 2010



3953 Comments


think 'jewish' should be capitalized. otherwise fine effort.

sba4life
April 13th 2010



364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fixed! Thanks man!

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 13th 2010



14511 Comments


im honestly disappointed with this album. id say its no better or worse than their last album

Acre
April 13th 2010



847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Um, no offense sir, but the title track sounds nothing like GY!BE. Building up to a climax is not exclusively the thing of post-rock, as much as it might surprise you.

Also, don't use exclamation marks when talking about elements of an album, it makes you sound fanboy-ish. The line "The harmony vocals on "Here We Are, Juggernaut" are amazing! His range is at full display!" could easily be changed to something like "The harmony vocals on "Here We Are, Juggernaut" are amazing, with Claudio's range at full display." and would make the review seem much more professional.

Similarily, you mostly skim by most of the aspects of the album, only mentioning two tracks and never even discussing the instrumental work beside the drums. Try to be a bit more thorough to give the reader a better sense of what exactly makes the album so excellent

Just some constructive advice for improving your writing.

PayneTiger777
April 13th 2010



4366 Comments


Coheed is either hit or miss, and they are a big fricken miss for me.

Willie
Moderator
April 13th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The first paragraph is asinine babbling. Who cares what 2000 was? It doesn't even relate in the least to this album. Also, it's "descent".

This record is like Christmas for Jewish people.
What does that even mean? Last time I checked, Jewish people don't celebrate Christmas and couldn't care less about it. So, this record is…. easily dismissible…. something I should totally ignore…. what could you possibly mean?
This record combines elements of previous efforts and combines them to form a trifecta of awesomeness that is Coheed And Cambria.
You're aware that this doesn't make sense either….
Chris Pennie also introduced new ideas with his new band Coheed And Cambria.
Really? Is that his new band? I wouldn't have guessed from the fact that this is a Coheed review…

I'll stop there… needless to say, one of those negs are mine.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

sba4life
April 13th 2010



364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for the criticism. Ill use these pointers on my next review!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2010



30295 Comments


This record combines elements of previous efforts and combines them to form a trifecta of awesomeness that is Coheed And Cambria.

Sounds like someone just finished watching Pineapple Express. And now you've annoyed Willie, do you know how long it takes to get him out of that state? Thanks a lot man

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

bloc
April 13th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WILLIE SMASH

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 13th 2010



10553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I pos'd this....because, well, idk why, but it made me lol

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

sba4life
April 13th 2010



364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is it that bad?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2010



30295 Comments


Its pretty terrible, honestly

sba4life
April 13th 2010



364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn :/

bloc
April 13th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It seems like you just reviewed the album just for the sake of reviewing. I suggest sit down with this album and really write a review.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2010



17117 Comments


if you put the same effort into actually describing things as you did into making quippy remarks you'd come out with something good.

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

sba4life
April 13th 2010



364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I might review a record that doesn't have any reviews yet!

bloc
April 13th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's always a good decision

Emim
April 13th 2010



26195 Comments


You might also stop using so damn many exclamation points!

Oceanus
April 13th 2010



877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Something else to keep in mind is that your review should defend your rating. I honestly can't dig up a purpose to this review, and I think that if you write with a purpose or an idea-oriented mentality (instead of a "let's just write about YOTBR" mentality), your reviews will turn out better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy