Killswitch Engage
The End of Heartache


4.0
excellent

Review

by Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) USER (58 Reviews)
September 17th, 2005 | 348 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


Killswitch Engage are yet another metalcore making headways in the world of modern metal. After the departure of original vocalist Jesse Leach and the change from drumming to guitar duties for Adam Dutkiewicz, the band released their third effort entitled 'The End Of Heartache'. So, is it actually any good.

What Is Good About The Album?

There are several strong tracks that feature on the album and the most noteworthy are during the nfirst half of the album. These tracks include 'A Bid Farewell', 'Take This Oath', 'Rose Of Sharyn' and the epic ballad that is the title track. When you consider that I actually prefer the vocal talents of Jesse Leach to new crooner Howard Jones, that is pretty good in my opinion. The production of the album is excellent courtesy of whizzkid Adam Dutkiewicz and his guitar duties are also top notch. In fact, both the drumming and guitar efforts of Joel Strotzel and his partnere exceed expectations and whilst there is only one proper solo on the album, their riffs are as melodic and brutal as a firm fist to the cranium.

What Is Not So Good About The Album?

Well, for the one, the fact that Jesse Leach is no longer the frontman. Although it is definitely a matter of opinion, I belive Howard Jones has not got the edge that his predecessor possessed and he falls short of making the songs truly spectacular on a vocal front. That said, he has a fairly good scream and can vary his voice very well.The band tend to rely on a format of strongly sung verses and anthemic, soaring choruses which canm become a little tiresome yet it is not a particularly bad aspect of the album. Also, it is not hard to notice the sheer lack of solos on the album, with only one fairly decent effort slipping through. It is not as if the band don't have the necessary talent to produce quality lead breaks either and it is a shame that they did not decide to add to the overall quality of the album. On a final note, the second half of the album definitely lacks any form of gusto that the first half presented to you. The filler tracks begin to come through and you find yourself straining for the skip button on several occassions.

Why Buy?

All in all, this album is a worthy addition to any fan of melodic metal music. Their combination of heaviosity, melody and old school metal will really appeal to a wide number of people wanting fresh metal. Plus, you get an added bonus disc (which I won't review or add track ratings for) which is always a bonus.

Hope the review was okay. Enjoy!

Track Ratings

A Bid Farewell 5/5
Take This Oath 5/5
When Darkness Falls 4/5
Rose Of Sharyn 5/5
Inhale 4/5
Breathe Life 4.5/5
The End Of Heartache 5/5
Declaration 4/5
World Ablaze 4/5
And Embers Rise 4/5
Wasted Sacrifice 3.5
Hope Is... 3.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
War From A Harlots Mouth MMXPig Destroyer Terrifyer
War From A Harlots Mouth TransmetropolitanDevil Sold His Soul A Fragile Hope
Coheed and Cambria No World for TomorrowPig Destroyer Painter of Dead Girls
user ratings (2149)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
thesystemisdown (4)
The End-All, Be-All Of Heartache: Forget a 'career,' this is legacy-making stuff....

Giovanni Del Pi (4.5)
...

Drunken Viking (4)
...

Paul Moniuszko (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mambuto_O'Mally
September 17th 2005


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^
Yip. I agree. I think this is one the better CD's I own, and love every track. And embers rise is awesome and I always get that distorted guitar thats really deep in the mix, at the end of the song stuck in my head.

Apathy
September 17th 2005


645 Comments


I like your format, a lot. Keep reviewing.


Shadows
Moderator
September 17th 2005


2530 Comments


I really disagree about the guitar solos, but whatever. Very good review. These guys aren't bad from what I've heard, which isn't much.

tearsofthesoul
January 19th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey man. Ever since you leant me this album i've constantly listened to it. Such a good band. Great review.

BlindGuy1012
October 31st 2006


252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review to a great album

rosesandthegrave
November 1st 2006


1 Comments


I think this album is pretty awesome. I love every single track, and I like that there's not a solo on every single track. I agree with A_H_C that solos are not necessary. The structuring of their songs has gotten better, too.

Tu Se Morta
November 5th 2006


7 Comments


i have been listening to this album alot recently, i think its pretty sweet, adam d is a legend, he's such a good producer, i also love the pinch harmonics in the guitar work. legendary.This Message Edited On 11.05.06

rhys of god has failed
November 12th 2006


1 Comments


yeah adam does kick ass, i cant wait for the new album, its taking ages...

Metal123
November 13th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The way they bind their melodic riffs and yet still keep thier metal style, mad! Definatly worth the money spent on it!

Aaron
November 22nd 2006


652 Comments


I like them. For metallers they have a groove element which I appreciate. The track end of heartache for example.

LifeInABox
March 20th 2007


3709 Comments


i dont understand something. how can you give the 2 interludes 4/5 but great songs like Hope Is.. and Wasted Sacrifice 3/5?

steadyeddie
March 21st 2007


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

man do i love this cd. our band covered "End of Heartache" for a battle of the bands 2
years ago. we would rock out to this album everyday after school in my friends
car on the way to jam - good, good times. my opinion differs though, i prefer howard
jones, that sexy mother, over jesse leach. people seem to like jesse more than
howard. maybe its because i bought this album before AOJB? or maybe i'm just
imagining it.This Message Edited On 03.21.07

Pluh
March 21st 2007


579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh, I also like howards voice better... it's an acquired taste I guess.

Mokatek
March 23rd 2007


1 Comments


Noooo one can beat KILLSWITCH OMFG they are godly....OH YEA!!!

LifeInABox
March 23rd 2007


3709 Comments


^ good point put into gay terms

KingDanroth1
March 23rd 2007


24 Comments


WTF SOLOS.......NOT...........NECESSARY.........WHAT IS THIS WORLD COMING TO.

if solos are not necessary, then life is not worth living.

LifeInABox
March 24th 2007


3709 Comments


and the change from drumming to guitar duties for Adam Dutkiewicz, the band released their third effort entitled 'The End Of Heartache'.
Adam D. Changed to guitar on alive or just breathing when Tom Gomes took over drumming after Adam D. beat skins of the self titled

ninjuice
April 8th 2007


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I love this CD. Although it starts going downhill after the title track, it's completely solid up until then.

ninjuice
April 8th 2007


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Downhill because the music quality of the last five doesn't really match the first seven. They're alright, they just don't really match up

Cravinov13
April 8th 2007


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Howard Jones > Jesse David IMO, but I'm not a KsE fan... anymore.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy