The Tallest Man on Earth
The Wild Hunt


5.0
classic

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
April 11th, 2010 | 42 replies | 5,487 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stunning

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Many folk artists are compared to the greatness that is Bob Dylan, but 99 percent of the time these comparisons lack the depth, and are pretenders that are just not worthy being mentioned in the same sentence as Dylan. But when The Tallest Man On Earth, (Kristian Matsson) released his debut album, Shallow Grave the comparisons came thick and fast. One would think, that once again, it was just another hipster trying to be like their idol, yet The Tallest Man On Earth had that rawness, deep storytelling and amazing musical interplay to back up any comparison to Dylan, making it almost justifiable bar his lack of a catalogue. The problem for Mattson was always going to be the sophomore album, due to all his critical acclaim from Shallow Grave, but The Wild Hunt exceeds all expectations and makes for some of the best listening in folk music for a long time.

Matsson keeps his recordings simple, just like his debut. His amazingly brash voice and fantastic guitar playing lock so well together that they tingle the ears with their unique texture. The opening and title track, “The Wild Hunt” exemplifies this as Matsson croons all over the mellow yet upbeat tune with a sorrowful themed lyrical basis:

“I left my heart to the wild hunt a-comin
I live until the call
And I plan to be forgotten when I'm gone
Yes I'll be leavin' in the fall”


The album is oozing with greatness and perfection as it twists and turns between themes of optimistic hope and the heart wrench of loss and love. The guitar playing is phenomenal, particularly on “Troubles Will Be Gone”, a jazzy and upbeat finger picked tune. In contrast, “Love Is All” is a down tempo, depressing affair which features gentle strumming and some intricate soloing played over the top. It also has some beautiful yet saddening lyrics:

“And now spikes will keep on falling from the heavens to the floor
The future was our skin and now we don't dream anymore
No, we don't dream anymore.
Like a house made from spider webs and the clouds rolling in
I bet this mighty river's both my saviour and my sin
Oh, my saviour and my sin.”


The two – I say this lightly, seeing as every single track is perfection – best or standout songs on the album, “A Lion’s Heart” and “The King of Spain”, could easily be the two best folk songs of the decade. “King of Spain” is flamenco inspired and Matsson plays the part perfectly with his impeccable guitar skills. Simple guitar work and heart wrenching vocals “King of Spain” makes you swoon all over Matsson’s playing and vocal call and response as the track gallops along to the final climax chorus, where Matsson’s vocals really take off. While “A Lion’s Heart” isn’t as crash and bang as “King of Spain”, it definitely makes up for it in its catchy chorus lines and sing a long verses that make the listener yearn for more. Closing track “Kids On The Run” takes a completely different twist on Matsson’s standard folk approach. Starting with ominously resonating sounding piano and vocal melodies that could make a grown man cry, Matsson has created a monster of a song as it embodies every good thing of his music and takes it to a level we have not seen before.

The Wild Hunt is one of those albums that is just unbelievable. When Matsson released Shallow Grave, many were worried that he was not going to back up his sensational work, yet Matsson has proved them wrong and has written the first of the decade's classic albums. Encompassing all that is great about folk music and adding his own twists and unique vocal styling’s, The Tallest Man On Earth’s The Wild Hunt is an album that should be remembered for generations.



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (1200)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
April 11th 2010



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Released today in Aussie Land.

No where near the awesomeness of Cam's but hey, I gave it a crack.
Thanks eclectic for proofing....



maidenpmcc
April 11th 2010



1424 Comments


The 1st 5 rated review since Diamond Eyes. Good review man.

Douglas
April 11th 2010



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Is it really? Well there ya go who reviewed it. Oh and thanks buddy

Jips
April 11th 2010



1129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hmmm nice job...

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010



14986 Comments


"The Tallest Man On Earth (Kristian Matsson) released his debut album, Shallow Grave the comparisons came thick and fast."


comma after album title

"One would think that once again it"

comma after that and again

"The problem for Mattson was always going to be the sophomore album"

i would say you dont really explain what you mean by this well enough. -why?-

"The opening and simultaneous title track, “The Wild Hunt” "

I would switch this to "The opener and title track,"

"with a depressingly themed lyrical basis:"

"depressingly themed lyrical basis" is pretty awkward lol

"a jazzy finger picked tune and very upbeat."

this phrase lacks parallelism, 'a jazzy finger picked tune' is a noun while 'upbeat' is an adjective, so change it to this:

"a jazzy, very upbeat finger-picked tune" or something

" In contrast “Love Is All”"

i think there should be a comma after 'contrast' but not too sure

"down tempo sorrowful"

comma after 'tempo'? i think

"and some intricate soloing played over the top"

"played over the top" sounds a little weird to me although it's your call as to what you would want to change it to...




robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010



14986 Comments


"The two – I say this lightly, seeing as every single track is perfection –"

the thing about this is you introduce 'i say this lightly' before you introduce -what- it is you are saying lightly, so it might be a little confusing. pretty small thing there though, haha.

" “A Lion’s Heart” and “The King of Spain”, could easily be the two best folk songs of the decade."

I think you forgot how fresh the decade is, lol.

"“King of Spain” is flamenco inspired and Matsson plays the part perfectly."

plays what part? expand.

"Simple guitar work and heart wrenching vocals “King of Spain” makes you swoon"

what? something is missing here, either a comma or something, or a "with" at the beginning of the sentence.

"While “A Lion’s Heart” isn’t as crash and bang as “King of Spain” it definitely "

i would suggest a comma after "king of spain"

"Starting with resonating and ominous sounding piano and vocal melodies"

how about "ominously resonating"? a little less cumbersome imo

"Matsson has created a monster of a song as it embodies every good thing of Matssons music and takes it to a level we have not seen before."

use a pronoun the second time; so, "every good thing of -his- music"

"When Matsson released Shallow Grave many were worried that he was not "

comma after album title. i think.

"has written the first of the decades classic albums. "

decade's*

"unique vocal styling’s"

stylings*

"Encompassing all that is great about folk music and adding his own twists and unique vocal styling’s, The Tallest Man On Earth’s The Wild Hunt"

this sentence implies that it's the -album- that is adding the unique vocal stylings and twists, so change that somehow.

good review!

maidenpmcc
April 11th 2010



1424 Comments


Fuck me, you fairly did your homework.................

maidenpmcc
April 11th 2010



1424 Comments


You should of reviewed this album instead.

EVedder27
April 11th 2010



6088 Comments


Album is soo so good. Good review Dougie.

Eclectic
April 11th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review Doug, Pos.

I think I just got shown up REAL bad by Roberstona, lol.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did he say that "sing a long" should be sing along.

Good review though Dougie. Gets your point across well enough. I guess I'll have to give this a listen somewhere along the line.

joshuatree
Emeritus
April 11th 2010



3743 Comments


good review, make sure you take robertsona's suggestions into account

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010



14986 Comments


it should be singalong sing-a-long or sing-along


lol just the fact that there are that many variants makes me think i might be wrong though

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I use sing-along.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010



14986 Comments


yeah the third one looks best to me

Douglas
April 12th 2010



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Holy crap! Yeah I'll fix that shit up, thanks man.

crazyblinddude
April 12th 2010



3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review. ill still pos

Douglas
April 12th 2010



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ha thanks man, fixed pretty much everything I think

crazyblinddude
April 12th 2010



3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol yah he kinda went all out with that one. looks fine now though.

Douglas
April 12th 2010



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ah well as long as improve it's all good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy