Deftones
White Pony


5.0
classic

Review

by HeavyB USER (4 Reviews)
April 9th, 2010 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Deftones most fully realized artistic statement too date.

White Pony is the point at which the Deftones seemed to find their sweet spot. Their first two albums were both uniformly excellent releases that garnered much deserved acclaim however in retrospect they both appeared to be building towards White Pony. The addition of Frank Delgado on the wheels of steel and the much more common fluctuations in tempo resulted in White Pony being their most eclectic release musically up to that point.

The album retained the intensity of their first two releases with tracks like Elite, Street Carp, and Korea but it also demonstrated an increased focus on melody. Digital Bath shimmers majestically while Change may well be their single greatest song. These songs like most Deftones songs maintain an ominous tone that is quite foreboding as Chino continually walks the line between sexual topics and sadistic ones lyrically often blurring the two together. His eloquence with these themes demonstrates just how similar these moods can be at times and his lyrical ambiguity allows the listener to come to his own conclusions and relate the songs to their life in which ever fashion they see fit. The addition of Delgado and the increased atmospherics he brought with him also heightened this tone with his tasteful fluorishes adorning an already rock solid musical foundation. Perhaps spurred by the success of Be Quiet and Drive the band were more than up to some more experimentation with slower songs. This resulted in bold moves like Chino using a poem he had written at age fifteen and coupling it with the sparsest instrumentation in the Deftones catalogue on Teenager. The uncluttered arrangement meshes perfectly with the simplicity inherent in the lyrics. Passenger also continued their tradition of collaborating with outside vocalists that began with Max Cavalera on Headup off Around the Fur and continued with Serj Tankian and Ann Hardy on Saturday Night Wrist tracks Mein and Pink Cellphone repectively. Maynard James Keenan of Tool works so well with/off Chino on Passenger that it is a crime that they have yet to collaborate again. Knife Party and RX Queen are also songs with big choruses that are easy on the ears and instantly ingratiating. Chino shows his increased comfort in his vocal range throughout the album going from screams to sighs effortlessly. The album takes the progressions of Around The Fur and expands further upon them displaying the Deftones career long refusal to stagnate creatively.

However, and rather unfortunately at that, this album would prove to be the commercial high water mark for the Deftones. Change and Back To School (which I still maintain was an idead hatched by Maverick ) were hits at modern rock radio sitting alongside the usual spit polished turds predominant on modern rock radio. Over time it has also seemed as though this was the last time the Deftones even attempted to expand their commercial prospects as from this point on they were content to continue doing their own thing with little disregard for singles or unit shifting. Their decision to take that route instead of the one most often travelled has no doubt resulted in their longevity while other bands of their era like Korn continually attempted to appease the masses by working with big name pop producers like Atticus Ross as their significance diminished with each subsequent release. Deftones are sittting much more comfortably at this point and their stock hasn't wavered after over twenty years of service.

There is a reason that a good portion of the Deftones audience believe White Pony to be their best album because quite simply it is.


user ratings (3725)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Only took twenty minutes so yes I realize it is not extremely well thought out or composed however I just wanted to get one up on the board.

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks my friend. I also have Around the Fur at a five. Maybe a bit of a fanboy but with the Deftones I just can't help it.

bloozclooz
April 9th 2010


1770 Comments


pony

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


16144 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

great album

Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

ohnoestehmusik
April 9th 2010


380 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good rating, not so good review. You pretty much just sum up the thoughts and feelings the general public has already known and asserted about this record without including any new tidbits or personal touches to make the review at all worth it.


Generic and bland, meh.

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like I said I did it in twenty minutes just to get a review up.

ohnoestehmusik
April 9th 2010


380 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well if you're gonna rush it just to get a review up, why even write it?

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just to have one up. The first one you do takes a while to get posted so I just wanted to get that first one out of the way. You don't have to read it. I will be sure to run my next one by you before I submit it.

porch
April 9th 2010


8460 Comments


Thats silly. You can still edit it though. Good album

Willie
Moderator
April 9th 2010


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How long did it take to get posted? It couldn't have been too long.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Five hours maybe. I just wanted to get that first one knocked off. I had done a longer one for Diamond Eyes not knowing the policy on unreleased albums so I wasn't really in the mood to dick around with this one. I banged this thing out as quickly as I could after the first one was taken down and didn't pre plan or anything. I realize its not great which I pointed out.


Inveigh
April 9th 2010


25010 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

five hours!? jam son. my first one took like 30 minutes, tops.

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man. I will make sure my next one is planned out better and has some more depth to it. Badass Cape Fear avatar too. Its nice to be reminded of De Niro's greatness before he began taking roles based strictly on their financial aspects.

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It took five hours too post I wrote it in fifteen to twenty. Still not great but I will step my game up next time.

Inveigh
April 9th 2010


25010 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

no, i meant to get it posted. haha, i assumed you didn't spend five hours writing it, that'd be ridiculous even for the most epic of reviews. i don't think the review is all that bad, you could certainly flesh it out some though -- maybe add some more descriptions of the mood/atmosphere or something. i dunno. good first review though.

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks a lot for the encouragement man I appreciate it. I will definitely beef it up a bit like you and Mr. Porchular suggested and I willl check out that Doomtree album for good measure. If it is half as good as P.O.S. I will undoubtedly enjoy it. Hip hop can't be completely dead when guys are making records like that cat.

Inveigh
April 9th 2010


25010 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

absolutely man, P.O.S. is great. If you like him you should definitely like Doomtree, he's in the crew. Let me know what you think.

HeavyB
April 9th 2010


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I will for sure Inveigh. Also is there a concrete release date yet for the new P.O.S. or do you think it will be closer to fall before it comes out?

KebertXela
April 9th 2010


367 Comments


Review wasn't bad, album is just something I shake my head at though. But seriously, good first review.

Mordecai.
April 9th 2010


8279 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really don't like this review. Agree with your rating though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy