Jimmy Eat World
Clarity


4.5
superb

Review

by Andrew H. EMERITUS
September 17th, 2005 | 995 replies | 39,697 views


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist


With their debut, Static Prevails behind them, Jimmy Eat World entered the the studio with a newfound maturity in songwriting. The result was an album full of clever songs with a unique sound.

Jimmy Eat Word
Jim Adkins - Vocals, Guitar
Tom Linton - Guitar, Vocals
Rick Burch - Bass
Zach Lind - Drums

If there is one word that can sum up Clarity, it is 'sensible'. Everything about the album is sensible. The production has a nice clean sound that allows the instruments to come through, but it is dirty enough to not sound too polished. The vocals are emotional but never sound insincere or wimpy. The lyrics are clever and emotive but never stray into "teen angst" territory. There are numerous extra instruments throughout the record (tuned percussion, strings, synthesisers, electronics and drum machines to name a few), but they are never used to make the album sound epic, they simply add to the rest of the music. Vocal harmonies are evenly spread through the record and they are expertly crafted and always in exactly the right spot. The song order is perfect with the tracks always balancing each other out. Nothing is overdone, yet Jimmy Eat World are sensible enough to use whatever resources they have to make the songs as good as they can get. Indeed, even the length is sensible, clocking in at 1 hour, enough music to make the album long and replayable, yet not too long to the point of being a mess. To put it simply, on Clarity, Jimmy Eat World do everything right.

To start off Clarity, Jimmy Eat World do exactly what you would expect them not. Opening the album with one of the most mellow tracks on the album, "Table For Glasses" sets the tone of the rest of the record. After it's last note dies away, we experience one brilliant pop song after another. The album's single, "Lucky Denver Mint" was featured on the Drew Barrymore film "Never Been Kissed", along with numerous college radio stations in the US. The rest of the album, however, was just as worthy. Every song on the album is well thought out and deserves to be there. There is great contrast between all of the songs. Some are soft and mellow and others are hard hitting and aggressive. Most songs are both. Musically, the band are excellent. The drumming is sophisticated and original and the use of two guitars is a great addition to the band. The aforementioned range of added instruments adds immensely to the arrangements of the songs. Not only are the songs well executed, but they are good songs.Jim Adkins' songwriting is incredible, as well as consistant. Amusingly, most of the songs on the album are in the same one or two keys. Clarity is an album full of sensible pop songs, replay value and a diverse range of instruments and sounds. Truly one of the best albums of the 90s.

Pros
Brilliantly written songs, not a single bad track
Great use and range of extra instruments
Perfect production

Cons
Some listeners may not enjoy the long and progressive closing track

Reccomended Tracks
Lucky Denver Mint
A Sunday
Just Watch The Fireworks



Recent reviews by this author
White Suns Waking in the ReservoirPurplene Purplene
Quiet Steps Think AloudGrinderman Grinderman 2
Jakob DominionNorma Jean Meridional
user ratings (817)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Geezer1287
September 17th 2005



18 Comments


Good review, spot on, this was the first Jimmy album i bought, and it is very clever, definitely one of my favourites. For me this is Heaven is my favourite song, a great chill out album that also doesnt forget the more upbeat side of Jimmy. 5/5

Storm In A Teacup
September 17th 2005



12687 Comments


Nice reveiw!

So then is this better than their two mainstream ones?

BringHomeTheBacon
September 17th 2005



248 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice review. I actually like listening all the way through Goodbye Sky Harbor, although it does get very repetitive. And yes, this certainly does deserve the rating Br3ad Man gave it.

Happymeal
September 17th 2005



330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lovely. "Just Watch the Fireworks" is uplifting and I think the highest point in the album. A lot of people dismiss them as a singles band, but this would definitely prove them wrong.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
September 17th 2005



2125 Comments



Are you serious; 4.5? Good review, nonetheless.


Definitely. It's a perfect album but I thought 5/5 would seem too biased.

'Just Watch The Fireworks' is my favourite song on here also.

pixiesfanyo
September 17th 2005



1222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good CD.

4/5.

Myxomatosis129
September 27th 2005



13 Comments


I bought this about a ago and I loved it even though i was kind of disappointed in Bleed American (Which I bought first). This is JEW's most consistent album.This Message Edited On 09.27.05

Two-Headed Boy
August 27th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A Sunday, Just Watch the Fireworks and Goodbye Sky Harbor are intensley brilliant.

Ehhhh review.

foreverendeared
January 4th 2007



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best of the 3 reviews on here, but i still would like some more detail and length.

jimmy eat world are best when they are off the "singles" mode

ThiMan
March 11th 2007



4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Classic

AtavanHalen
March 11th 2007



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Goodbye Sky Harbour is one of my favourite songs of all time.

DrunkenThird
May 27th 2007



20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album yes.

Unique sound? No.

Obviously Jimmy Eat world are very good at crafting songs but there sound is in no way origional. There were bands before this release (1999 i think?) that had a sound like this. I suggest looking up bands such as Texas Is The Reason and Mineral.

Ps Static Prevails is better, song writing doesnt sound as 'rushed' and guitar work is more complex and catchier songs. Its a shame it is overlooked by people who just listen to the singles off of 'Bleed American'

Intransit
May 27th 2007



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This does remind me quite a bit of Texas is the Reason actually. Sososososososososo good this album is.

TheHamburgerman
July 13th 2007



1283 Comments


hehehe.... jew

spoon_of_grimbo
September 18th 2007



2240 Comments


i bought this today, and i'm quite liking it, although i'm seeing where biffy clyro took a lot influence from for their latest album, some of the vocal harmonies and the general feel of some the songs reminds me of "puzzle."

Iai
Emeritus
September 18th 2007



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Except Puzzle is better.

jazza225
February 13th 2008



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love this album, i really do, best 25 bucks i ever spent.only problem i have is why the fuck does jimmy eat world not have tom linton doing the lead vocals in any newer songs? he does an awesome job doing the vocals on blister! this album's a classic, and i'd say my favorite song on it is ten. table for glasses has really grown on me too.

good review too btw.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
January 24th 2009



3760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Song from this came on randomly, reminded me of how much this f'ucking rules.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Gyromania
April 15th 2009



15164 Comments


i can't find this anywhere. someone send me a link?

Gyromania
April 16th 2009



15164 Comments


hmm?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy