D Creation
Silent Echoes


3.0
good

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
March 30th, 2010 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


As I was writing my English paper about global Eco-problems today, I realized I’m a good human being, living in a modest and fairly reserved way. What does this have to do with D Creation? Nothing really, but I felt like praising myself just because I haven’t done that in forever. Well that, and the fact the paper, for whatever reason, inspired me to finally give D Creation a review which I had promised to a friend of mine here already some time ago.

When that said friend gave me a copy of D Creation’s album Silent Echoes last year, I initially had no idea what to think of it. It was decent but that was all, and it wasn't long until I forgot about the cd. At the start of this spring though, when the album at hand was mentioned in a music thread here somewhere, my interest returned and now I am here, listening to the cd, and composing a review for it.

Silent Echoes is a good melodic metal album. And well, that is pretty much all one has to know about this really. This is good melo-metal for easy listening, but not much more. Catchy hooks and good vocals dominate this album, while stretched out keyboard notes are creating the main atmosphere in the background, and guitars are marching on in a relatively steady mid-tempo pace. Nothing terribly substantial is found on Silent Echoes though; the songs all sound nice and the music sounds pleasant to the ears, but, at least for me, Silent Echoes fails to create any distinct feelings or thoughts. Also, while this album certainly is dulcet, it lacks standout riffs. "Asleep", "Fadeaway" and "Killdream" are the only ones with standout riffing. Onwards from "Killdream" the guitarists slip into a comfortable, simple, mid-tempo zone, playing only easy chords and the occasional solo.

D Creation have to be complimented though, as they know how to accentuate their strengths. It’s clear that the only one setting these guys apart from hundreds of other bands like them, is D Creation’s vocalist Olli Vuorinen. Olli has a wide variety of vocal weapons to attack the listener with. Soft croons, raspy shouts, even the occasional, and very intelligible, death growl – this man does it all. The keyboards that are well-prominent in the overall composition are also very well done, not sounding cheesy at all and actually, for once, are of great help in crafting the atmosphere, not vice versa like it so often happens to be in soft-ish metal.

Silent Echoes is a good metal album, even if a bit hollow in its core. Catchy hooks run amok on this album, even though the memorableness of the record is certainly damaged by the lack of standout riffs (the overall riff compositions are decent though, just not terribly monumental). If you're looking for a decent-sounding metal album to listen to, give Silent Echoes a go. If you’re looking for something big that would draw forth ample emotions in you, though, you are better off with something a bit more extravagant.



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (12)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2010


8394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is pretty much for you Trey, as I know you wanted this album to have a review but you didn't have the time to churn one out yourself.

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fuck yeah! --- Now I'll read it.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok, I pos'd but I think you're selling this album short. I would say that this is better described as metalcore with a lot of progressive tendencies (but not necessarily progressive) and the riffs and melodies are really good. My biggest problem with the album is it starts to sound similar about 3/4 of the way through.

Ponton
Emeritus
March 30th 2010


5828 Comments


I need some new metal, ill see if zune has this

good review, laughed at the global eco part haha

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2010


8394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Trey
well my gripe is that this kind of lacked the surprise factor a bit. I liked the melodic notes that were thrown into some of the songs, but the overall guitarwork, which could've been a bit more on the front tbh, failed to impress me as much. It's a good album, but I don't find it to be anything extra-special

@Observer
Thanks man and glad you appreciated the random intro haha

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh. The first time I heard it I was surprised by the combination of metalcore and progressive. I don't think the riffs are extremely special, but the melodies and vocals make up for it (IMO).

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2010


8394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree that the vocals are excellent, but as for melodies - they are good, but didn't strike me in the way they did for you is all I can say

Phantom
March 30th 2010


8930 Comments


You're becoming a really great reviewer, another solid job.

I probably won't check this out though.

bloozclooz
March 30th 2010


1770 Comments


a bit hollow in its core

that just killed any curiosity i had right there. ):

BallsToTheWall
March 30th 2010


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Shit band

bloc
March 30th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I didn't like this either.

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can both suck my ass ;)

BallsToTheWall
March 30th 2010


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is some fruity ass shit Willie. Btw, did you check out my rec?

bloc
March 30th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Seriously, I was expecting some badass Sybreed clone and I got this crud.

bloozclooz
March 30th 2010


1770 Comments


film it

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Balls I met two years ago would have loved this shit.... you're getting jaded ;) No, I haven't listened to it yet. I woke up late today and didn't have much time. Tomorrow or Thursday for sure.

You were hoping for a Sybreed clone? Why would someone intentionally copy them?

bloc
March 30th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

BECAUSE SYBREED RULES

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their first album was cool. The second two have slowly gone down hill.

bloc
March 30th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Second is the greatest thing ever. It's actually the first one I don't like too much. As for the third one, it's got a couple keepers, but overall a disappointment.

Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The second is ok, but they lost too much of the industrial element.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy