Triptykon
Eparistera Daimones


4.0
excellent

Review

by EvilChuck USER (1 Reviews)
March 29th, 2010 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


Tryptikon is the newest band from Thomas Gabriel Warrior, who was the founding member for legendary bands Celtic Frost and Hellhammer.

"Triptykon will sound as close to Celtic Frost as is humanly possible, and the album I am working on will feature all the material I envisioned for the successor to Celtic Frost's Monotheist. I desire the album to be a darker, heavier, and slightly more experimental development of Monotheist." - Thomas Gabriel Warrior

It certainly is a dark album. The intro on opening track 'Goetia' lasts upwards of 2 minutes, and are 2 of the most haunting, atmospheric minutes that you are likely to hear this year. The album continues in this trend, featuring crunching guitar riffs thats sound like they have come from the depths of hell, and vocals that wouldnt be out of place in a horror film, such is the anguish and pain portrayed throughout.

The lyrical themes deal with mostly inward thinking and soul searching. There definitely feels like alot of pain about the way he left Celtic Frost has been witten and recorded for us, which just goes to further improve the style of album that Tryptikon were aiming for

The album comes in a hard, book cover style case, and the liner notes not only detail the lyrics for each song, but detail the inspiration and thinking behind each song. A small thing some will say, but a nice insight into the thought process that went on throughout the making of the album, and not something that I can recall seeing anywhere else. It all enhances the experience in my opinion.

The songs are a good length, the shortest clocking in at 5 minutes and 20 seconds (excluding 'Shrine' which is an interlude that is less than 2 minutes). Some may feel the songs are too long though, and might not be interested by the time they reach the final 20 minute epic 'The Prolonging'

Overall, this is a good album, it certainly delivers what Warrior had envisioned it to be. A definite purchase this year, and I am sure one that will feature in several 'best of 2010' lists come December.


user ratings (206)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Darkvoid67 (4.5)
Simple, effective gloomy metal at its best...

related reviews

Melana Chasmata

Comments:Add a Comment 
EvilChuck
March 29th 2010


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First ever review, so be gentle with me.

FeralMemories
March 29th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is better than monotheist.

Zoo
March 29th 2010


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid album. This is the first thing I've ever liked that he's done.

The review's pretty short and paragraphs should consist of three sentences, at the very least. Other than that, it could use some proofreading but it's not bad for a first.

bloozclooz
March 29th 2010


1770 Comments


Tryptikon is the newest band from Thomas Gabriel Warrior, who was the founding member for legendary bands Celtic Frost and Hellhammer.

move this to the summary box

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2010


6222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Decent review.

i worship "Monotheist".

I will definately check this out as well.

The album title is in greek and it means

"The demons are moving all the way to the left"



Courtesy of the Greek Contact for Sputnik Music :P

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

sleepyhead
March 29th 2010


593 Comments


no, i'm pretty sure "Eparistera Daimones" means:

"demons coming/moving from the left"

although it's also an anagram for:

"i am a senior pederast"

BallsToTheWall
March 29th 2010


44714 Comments


Honestly, you really don't talk enough about the music.

Digging: Reverend Bizarre - Return to the Rectory

sleepyhead
March 29th 2010


593 Comments


lol actually voivod may be right...i really need to look it up

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2010


6222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

no, i'm pretty sure "Eparistera Daimones" means:

"demons coming/moving from the left"


Hey i'm from Hellas. Hellenic is my native language.

You're misinforming the fair citizens of Sputnik.

Leave the Greek for the Greek :p

sleepyhead
March 29th 2010


593 Comments


i'm greek too but my ancient greek aint up to scratch... i then thought of "epae" which means "here where i stand" but can also mean "here where i'm pointing" so "eparistera" could mean both "towards the left" or "from the left"...right?




no, it means "towards" (i just asked my mum) haha


and yeah, the album is impressive upon first listen

Wizard
March 29th 2010


19556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is better than monotheist.

AHHH YEP! Awesome album.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

sleepyhead
March 30th 2010


593 Comments


i may actually agree with wizard, although i was never really a MASSIVE fan of monotheist

Wizard
March 30th 2010


19556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It was a change of pace from their thrash to a more doomy sound which worked well in my mind. I refuse to listen to their middle catalogue because I fear I might hate Celtic Frost forever hahahaha.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2010


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent review. Excellent album.

Phantom
April 4th 2010


8930 Comments


Considered buying this the other day but didn't and then couldn't remember the name of the band when I came on here to check out what people thought.

Probably should have got it.

TheSpirit
April 4th 2010


17944 Comments


i'm hesitant to check this out

Zoo
April 4th 2010


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't be, it's good.

TheSpirit
April 4th 2010


17944 Comments


tbh i was never much of a Celtic Frost fan, so that's why i'm very iffy about this

Zoo
April 4th 2010


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hate Celtic Frost, and this doesn't sound overly different, but somehow it's way better. Just get it dude.

Wizard
April 4th 2010


19556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But Celtic Frost rules so fucking hard?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy