Enter Shikari
Common Dreads


4.0
excellent

Review

by munchman92 USER (1 Reviews)
March 24th, 2010 | 226 replies | 25,939 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A hard-hitting fantastic Sophomore album from the British Quartet.

9 of 10 thought this review was well written

I was sceptical of this release before it was announced by the band. Most bands struggle with their sophomore album but i think Enter Shikari nailed this album right on the head. I initially thought that this album wouldn't bring anything fresh to a genre that lasted about as long as my mum's homemade lasagne.

Impression
The album starts with an introduction that reveals to the listener that this album will be politically motivated, aggressive and idiosyncratic to the persona you associate with Enter Shikari. The album is very much free-flowing which i find is essential to the Enter Shikari 'sound'. With that said any one of these tracks can be grabbed, placed in a playlist and won't become obscure and unlistenable.

The album itself is broken down with three with 3 dance-influenced interlude tracks which create a bigger build up for some of the harder hitting tracks such as 'No Sleep Tonight', 'Antwerpen' and 'Hectic'. It should be noted the way this album is constructed with these interlude tracks has been done with considerable care, which is incredibly unusual for an album that has such a thumping impact.

Lyrics
Lyrically this album is superb. Confrontational and emotionally charged lyricism gives the listener an outlet for their probable teen angst. Chanted breakdowns like in 'Fanfare for the Conscious Man' create sure-fire crowd pleasers for the festivals and gigs yet cleverly woven lyrics around an onslaught of sound like in 'Zzzonked' gives the album a diverse yet consistent language to accompany the music.

However one of the album's strongest points can also be considered one of their weakest. New fans may not warm to lengthy-worded and opinionated verses and if the album were any longer i think complex lyrics like 'ethno-centric' would probably lose all affect and simply become washed over by the sound.
Sound
Upon first listen not much sounds different to their debut 'Take to the Skies'. But once its grown on you and you know the tracts, you can tell there is an obvious diversity in their sound and style. An animosity is clearly shown with the many breakdowns which seem to be overpopulating the heavier music genres these days. This i believe is something that Enter Shikari rely to heavily on as if it's their Achilles Heel.

Pros
Solidarity
Zzzonked
No Sleep Tonight

Cons
Wall
Gap In The Fence

Enter Shikari are
Roughton 'Rou' Reynolds
Liam 'Rory' Clewlow
Chris Batten
Chris Rolfe


user ratings (685)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slobo
March 24th 2010



140 Comments


I've got to say I hated the lyrics, it just came off as pseudo-political.
"Something's got to change but I'm not really sure what".

DiceMan
March 24th 2010



7068 Comments


A friend had me listen to a song off of this once. It was awful, they tried some weird choral thing then they did this obnoxious electronic riff that any guitar player could have done and it would make them seem more talented then they just brokedown for a few hours. Seriously like a more techno Emmure. I'll read the review in a bit.

You spelled skeptical wrong.

DiceMan
March 24th 2010



7068 Comments


To begin with, the intro is a little personal. For example, comparing the genre to your mother's lasagne is an awful simile because nobody knows what your mother's lasagne is like. We'd have to assume, which only makes an ass out of u and me. Also, you don't need the headers for your paragraphs. We assume that you'll be talking about lyrics already because "Lyrically" is the first word in the paragraph.

I might also add that you talk about what genre they are and what they sound like just for someone completely unfamiliar with the band. You compare them to an earlier sound, but someone who just clicks on this and skims it has no idea what you're talking about. All I know from your review is that they use electronics, instead of learning about what the guitar sound is and how well the drummer utilizes the trap set. Or, for that matter, what genre they play.

Just clean some stuff up and it's better, but it still isn't a very quality review. Sorry bud.

sniper
March 24th 2010



19001 Comments


Band is kinda fun, but also really generic/poopty. The review is a little short and doesn't go into much depth, but I won't neg you because its your first. But keep at it anyway (reviewing), it wasn't awful.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

NeutralThunder12
March 24th 2010



8742 Comments


haha bad band aint worth anyones time.

porch
March 25th 2010



8452 Comments


Awful band

Comatorium.
March 25th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

review is alright, not too great. the rating is correct though. i'll pos.

BigHans
March 25th 2010



26455 Comments


Solidarity rocks.

OhAliceMonster
March 25th 2010



1455 Comments


solidarity ftw on this album

thetree
May 11th 2010



141 Comments


Just got this album. So far it's pretty cool but nothing too special

AbyssalCreation
May 15th 2010



2041 Comments


friend of mine showed me this, I liked it a lot more than I thought I would.The Jester rules.

Comatorium.
May 15th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

its amazing that when people actually listen to this they see it doesnt suck.

Thakey91
May 31st 2010



31 Comments


Couple of good songs, the rest is utter rubbish.
Such is Enter Shikari!

Spec
June 14th 2010



27062 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's cool to hate this band, too bad. I think the album is superb and they put on a great live show. Though, I didn't like them much until seeing them.

Beatskins
June 24th 2010



40 Comments


The spoken word part in "Juggernauts" sounds like The Streets

ps this band are terrible

Bozzysacreddemise
July 22nd 2010



11 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

i just cant understand the love for this band, the singer cant sing worth shit and all instruments are annoying to stay the least, real rating - 0/5

DaveGiant
August 9th 2010



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. Band gets way to much hate. I agree with much of what the album about.

Main issue against this album is the strength of the feeling. Watching them live, the chants of "shut down war machine (all this killing is obscene)" and "we'll be together against this, we'll be forever against this" sometimes feels more like a political rally than a live gig.

Good band though and strong album to boot.

Acanthus
September 27th 2010



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have to be in the right mood for this album, but "Zzzonked" was the sole reason I purchased the album

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

mechatanner
November 23rd 2010



269 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Still lovin this. The album is pretty weird, but shit so is Enter Shikari.
They are one of those bands that you either love or hate, no inbetween.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2010



7970 Comments


shitty shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy